We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ubuntu Buffet Restaurant

RR - RRR
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
777 Frikkie Meyer Boulevard | Emerald Resort & Casino, Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
+27 16 982 8005
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

25 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 25: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I previously had a nasty experience and was invited to re-visit the facility on the 14-01-2017. I was amazed by the service rendered and the special treatment from Monica, a waitress at Ubuntu. Well done and I will see you soon. The trip was worth the effort and I was surprisingly impressed with the entire afternoon. The atmosphere in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank theom238
Vereeniging, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2016

First of all we booked a table two days in advance only to get there and have to stand around looking all pitiful as there weren't tables available as the place was packed to the rafters, and we were eventually given seating at some dark corner next to the meat buffet. talking about the buffet there is a reason its... More 

Helpful?
Thank MakLove
Laurent P, Manager at Ubuntu Buffet Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello MakLove Thank you for your review. Your comments and feedback are appreciated. I apologise that your experience did not match your expectations and that your table was not ready. This is certainly not the usual service and buffet normally on offer. Ubuntu Buffet prides itself on offering a wide selection of food that caters to everyone's taste. I'm disappointed... More 

Vereeniging, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

The whole experience started when we made the booking, the lady on the phone was not really interested in our booking not taking any of our details, then we get to the restaurant, the music was far too loud, had to wait at least 15min for a waiter to take our drinks orders, then after that we maybe saw our... More 

Helpful?
Thank SJsmith27
Laurent P, Manager at Ubuntu Buffet Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello SJsmith27 Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback and apologise that your experience did not match your expectations. This is certainly not the usual service and buffet normally on offer. May I ask that you make contact with me the next time that you visit so that we may discuss this further? More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2016

Hi, for the second time we have been extremely disappointed in this restaurant we went again this week the dishes was so oily had to try and clean them with serviettes but not much help ( do you not have very hot water) again the food was ice cold all of it the carvery the vegetables all was ice cold... More 

Helpful?
Thank Drienie V
Laurent P, Manager at Ubuntu Buffet Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Drienie V Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback and apologise that your experience did not match your expectations. As cleanliness is a priority across the entire Resort, your review concerns me and I will immediately address this with the staff. If I may ask, should you experience anything at the Resort that is not up to... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2016

The buffet did not cater for someone who does not eat beef or pork.The chicken at the carvery was finished by 07:15pm.More chicken was prepared that was deep fried in oil and undercooked and was served at 08:30pm. The head chef's comment to the lack of variety was the crowd was unexpected. The dessert display was poor and misleading.

Helpful?
Thank ashinasarawan
Laurent P, Manager at Ubuntu Buffet Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello ashinasarawan Thank you for your review. Your comments and feedback are appreciated. Please accept our apologies. Ubuntu Buffet does indeed cater for all dietary requirements so I’m disappointed that you were not provided with other alternatives sooner. I will discuss the poor quality of food and timelines of replacing finished dishes with the chef and management. More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

This place doesn't know how to manage bookings and queues. By the time you sit to eat you are so bloated from fighting to go in and get a table!

Helpful?
Thank L_Zul
Laurent P, Manager at Ubuntu Buffet Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello L_Zul Please accept our apologies for your poor experience at Ubuntu Buffet. We will investigate internally to see where the delays in service were and see where the process can be more streamlined. It is certainly not the experience we like our customers to have and hope that you will try the restaurant again as the food is certainly... More 

Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2016

The variety of food on offer is mind-blowing. The atmosphere is very relaxing, and offers a true dining experience. Have enough time available, sample as much as you can, and go hungry!

Helpful?
Thank CharlesV78
Laurent P, Manager at Ubuntu Buffet Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello CharlesV78 Thank you for your compliments. As you have mentioned, make sure that you are hungry and have enough time to try this unique food experience. It certainly is heaven for those that love a wide variety of food. I am pleased that you had a relaxing dining experience and look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2016

It was my fiancee's birthday,12 August 2016.I took her to dine at ubuntu and we really enjoyed the food.Daddy the chef at the carvery section was a very friendly and helpful guy and he knows his food because I asked him all kinds of questions about meat types.It was unfortunate that there were no pork ribs in the braai section... More 

Helpful?
Thank phakamani446
Laurent P, Manager at Ubuntu Buffet Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello phakamani446 Thank you for your review and rating Ubuntu Buffet so highly on TripAdvisor. Congratulations on your fiancé's birthday and thank you for choosing Ubuntu Buffet as the restaurant to celebrate at, it was our pleasure to host. I am pleased that you both enjoyed the Ubuntu experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

South Africa
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

The place looks really nice, we arrived as a group of 12 and welcomed by the lovely hostess at the front, all seemed well, we opted to buy drinks instead of getting the bottomless option, we waited over 20 minutes for a waiter until we got up and found one, we probably only order 1 set of drinks cos after... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bongie K
Laurent P, Manager at Ubuntu Buffet Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Bongie K Please accept our apologies for your lacklustre experience at Ubuntu. Our reviews are usually very positive about this restaurant with guests enjoying the variety and quality of foods available. I will certainly take up your points with the relevant managers and hope that on your next visit you notice a marked improvement. More 

Springs Gauteng
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

The starters section great. The chinese food ok. The beef ppotjie very nice . The carvery section not to good seemed like it was the leftovers from afternoon not enoug vegetables.

Helpful?
Thank hannesswiegers
Laurent P, Manager at Ubuntu Buffet Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello hannesswiegers Thank you for your feedback. I'm pleased that you found the starters section and the beef potjie enjoyable. Thank you for your comments on the carvery section, we will take it up with the chef and managers on duty. I do hope that you visit us again and that your next visit is a marked improvement. More 

Travellers who viewed Ubuntu Buffet Restaurant also viewed

Vanderbijlpark, Gauteng
Vanderbijlpark, Gauteng
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Midrand, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Ubuntu Buffet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3,5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3,5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3,5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
African, Mediterranean, Grill
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Buffet, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 777 Frikkie Meyer Boulevard | Emerald Resort & Casino, Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Vanderbijlpark
  • Phone Number: +27 16 982 8005
Description
Ubuntu Buffet Restaurant is designed to offer visitors a unique food experience. The restaurant boasts a private dining area, ideal for parties or corporate lunches. Families are welcome. A separate bar lounge is available to people over 18. The restaurant can seat 350 people. With a scrumptious menu, sure to satisfy all tastes, comprises of salads, entrees, homemade breads, hot dishes, roasts, vegetable dishes, sauces, a la minute section, traditional section and dessert station.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Ubuntu Buffet Restaurant and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Ubuntu Buffet Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?