We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
R 100 - R 500
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Grill
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
50
45
23
13
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
50
45
23
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chateaubriand filet piece of meat blue cheese sauce great steak cuts stake meats eatery
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Has a very unimpressive meal at Hassar Grill Morningside. To start with our cocktails were made without half the ingredients and although we sent them back and exchanged them for a more simple cocktail, we were charged for the original undrinkable cocktails. Our steaks then...arrived which were very fatty and tiny and the rare steak ordered was overcooked. On checking the bill when we returned home we discover charges for food not ordered or delivered. We won’t be returning.More

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 May 2024

Went there for my friends birthday and we had an awesome time Samuel was such a great host. Excellent service and very friendly too.The food was divine. This was the Morningside branch..More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hussar Grill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Morningside, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2024

Dear Tourist52647625963, Thank you for your kind words and wonderful review of The Hussar Grill Morningside grill room. We're thrilled to read that the food and service you received from Samuel ensured an amazing birthday celebration at our restaurant. We appreciate your support and look...More

Reviewed 31 August 2023

We got there early so restaurant was empty. During 2 hour stay service was atrocious. 34ordered the lunch special. 3 were happy. 1 medium to rare steak was well done. That's sort od acceptable. Service was eorst we've ever experienced there or at any other...restaurant for that matter. Our wsiter was Michael eho knows me from previous visits but i doubt I'll ever go back again. Thundergun is 100% better than ouf experience today. Wine prices are off the chart. Welldrink gold dust next time. Malcolm Wsrner 0836535641More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hussar Grill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Morningside, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2023

Dear Wander57461535108, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are extremely disappointed to hear that the service wasn't of the highest quality. We would like an opportunity to contact you and address your concerns with management. Could you kindly follow...More

Reviewed 25 February 2023

Great sirloin on the bone, delicious blue cheese sauce and great service! A pleasant and enjoyable lunch with friends!More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HussarGrill, Agency / Consultant at The Hussar Grill Morningside, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2023

Dear Travelling_31427, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our The Hussar Grill Morningside grill room. We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely time at our restaurant with superb food and service. Looking forward to having...More

Reviewed 8 November 2022

Mixed reviews for this one. Great ambiance with all the different wine bottles around the place. The waitress was friendly and served us well. The starters were disappointing. We had to send the calamari starter back as it didn’t have any of the squid heads...in and when it came back it was cold and chewy. My wife thoroughly enjoyed Fillet Chateaubriand. My mother had the Pork belly which she said was mediocre. My daughters 200g rump was on the tough side for a 28 day aged piece of meat, it also had no fat cap on it. I ordered the house special Picanha which was a total disaster. There was almost no fat cap and the piece of meat had been sliced multiple times so it was not well presented at all. Again for a 28 day aged piece of meat it was very tough and not worth the money I had to pay for it. Ordered medium rare and got well done on the sliced fat cap side side and raw on the bottom.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HussarGrill, Agency / Consultant at The Hussar Grill Morningside, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2022

Good day Phin M, Thank you for taking the time to visit and review our steakhouse. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the level of service received from your waitron, however, it disappoints us to read that your food was not...More

Reviewed 26 March 2022 via mobile

We were at Sandton City for some shopping and decided to eat on the square. The Restuarant that we went to we immediately felt ‘as if they were doing us a favour’ to be able to eat there. We left. My wife suggested we go...to this Restuarant, which meant a drive away from the CBD where we were staying. It was all worth it. We have been here a couple of times, but the waiter we had was friendly, extremely attentive and went all out to make sure we had a great dinner. The steak was great. I eat Botswana beef (world class beef) often and fussy about the quality my meat. This was great quality steak. Sauces, as always, well rounded and good quality. Everyone enjoyed their food and the experience. Firstly, we felt appreciated, secondly great service, great food and great value. I have eaten at all the Restuarants on the NM Square, but well worth the short trip to this Morningside eatery.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Morningside, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2022

Good day, Gr1970Gr, Thank you for your kind words and wonderful review of our The Hussar Grill Morningside grill room. We are so happy to hear that our commitment to quality food and service is truly appreciated by our customers. Looking forward to having you...More

Reviewed 11 March 2022 via mobile

From the moment you walked in and was assigned a waitress nothing is a problem. I’ve eaten at many of this branded restaurants areound SA and all have been first class. The choice of meats and cuts, and the explanation from the server was dish...class. When the food came it was cooked as we requested, and rheee was 9 of us. The bone in fillet flambé with brandy was my choice, and was to die for. Cooked rare as it should be it was side and succulent with good flavour. The Theater of flambé the stake was excellent. The choice of wine was extensive and incredibly cheap compared to the UK. Fabulous evening with great food and drink, well worth visiting.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Morningside, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2022

Good day, Stuartr975, Thank you for your review of our grill room; your recommendation of us is very much appreciated. We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful time with us at The Hussar Grill Morningside, as well as delighted to read...More

Reviewed 10 March 2021

First time here for dinner. Wife and I went for the Tuesday Date special currently on promotion. Great value, food and service. Starter, Main course, Chocolate Vodka Martine dessert and a bottle of Hussar Grill Red wine, all for R350 per couple. We calamari and...chicken livers for starters, rump and sirloin steak for mains. It's a limited menu selection but well worth it.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Morningside, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2021

Dear Stuart P, Thank you for taking the time to visit and review our The Hussar Grill Morningside grill room. We're so happy to hear that our Tuesday Date Night special impressed you so much. Looking forward to having you back for another five-star Hussar...More

Reviewed 4 March 2020 via mobile

Waiter was awesome, sirloin was disappointing (lots of sinew) and tough, seemed to have changed blue cheese sauce, coffee was terrible. Cheese cake was amazing. Something has changed at Hussar Morningside.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Morningside, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2020

Dear Bastiaan S, Thank you for taking the time to visit and review our The Hussar Grill Morningside grill room. We are very disappointed to see that your steak was not consistent with the high standard we pride ourselves on. If you could kindly forward...More

Reviewed 21 January 2020 via mobile

We loved the Hussar in Cape Town so thought to duplicate our enjoyment a fortnight later in Morningside, Johannesburg. Beautiful piece of meat, 300gm of rump, was placed before my hungry tummy - but when I cut a slice it was cold. Cold 🥶. Huh?...No way to run a steakhouse. Sent it back to be warmed and was then okay, but naturally now a bit too done for me. My partner who drooled over their pork ribs in CT said Morningside’s were ‘dry, tasteless, juiceless, cardboard.’ Two stars she said. I agree.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Morningside, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2020

Dear Petersulli, Thank you for your review of our The Hussar Grill Morningside steakhouse. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. We would like an opportunity to contact you. Could you kindly take a moment to follow...More

Reviewed 20 January 2020 via mobile

Superb steak! Had an amazing peper crusted fillet. Perfectly cooked. Ice cold Darling Lager beer. Nice Bar One complimentary hot drink to end the meal. Will be back. Ps Nomsa was our waitress and really fantastic.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Morningside, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2020

Dear E2114Wumarkh, Thank you for your wonderful review of our The Hussar Grill Morningside steakhouse. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your perfectly-aged succulent steak, ice-cold Darling Lager and superb service from Nomsa. We look forward to many more excellent occasions with you....More

Reviewed 24 December 2019 via mobile

Consistently good quality meat selection but somehow lacking a great food experience. I had a 300g rump with veggies and a Madagascan sauce and my wife had a regular burger and chips. It all came as ordered but to me it was a bit clinical....No frills, nothing special and something is missing. It was a quiet Christmas Eve lunch so perhaps that was it but I don’t think so. If you want good quality and reliable meat dishes it’s pretty good.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Morningside, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2019

Good day, Hippoinaction, Thank you for taking the time to visit and review our The Hussar Grill Morningside steakhouse. We are sorry to read that you didn't fully enjoy your time with us. Please, could you kindly forward this review and your contact details to...More

Reviewed 21 December 2019 via mobile

You’ll be hard pressed to find a better prepared and tasting piece of meat! On this occasion, sirloin, ostrich, fillet on bone, and springbuck. I ate the buck, but sampled all :) Would easily give all cuts top marks for taste and prep. I’d give...the sirloin a little extra star as I thought it was especially well prepared. I’d also highlight the Skilpadje starter - calves liver like you’ve never tasted. Excellent service and attentiveness. Desserts ok as well - not as amazing as the meat, but you’re not visiting a steakhouse for dessert, surely? The only odd thing were the complimentary chocolate vodkas served after the meal. Nice gesture, but probably not what I’d choose to round off an awesome meal.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Morningside, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2019

Good day, Baobabjim, Thank you for your kind words and wonderful review of our The Hussar Grill Morningside grill room. We are ecstatic to hear that you had such a wonderful time and that some of our finest quality meats were prepared for you. We...More

Reviewed 22 November 2019 via mobile

Perfect dinner. Service is very attentive and food is great. Prices are okay for European standards. Definitely worth of visitingMore

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Morningside, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2019

Dear Sanjai952, Thank you for taking the time to visit and review our The Hussar Grill Morningside grill room. We are delighted to hear that your time spent with us was wonderful and that you received great food and superb service. We look forward to...More

Reviewed 1 November 2019 via mobile

Great restaurant and part of a small chain. Prides it’s self on a full BYO policy with no corkage ever charged. Lunch specials include two courses for R130, steak, burger, chicken options. Very efficient and polite service, also great quality steaks! Highly recommended.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Morningside, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2019

Dear Des C, Thank you for your review of our The Hussar Grill Morningside grill room. We are delighted to hear that you highly recommend our restaurant, we strive to provide an excellent dining experience and your review gives us great encouragement. We appreciate your...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Hotel Falstaff
190 reviews
.32 km away
Premier Hotel Quatermain
378 reviews
.33 km away
Garden Court Morningside Sandton
570 reviews
.68 km away
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
621 reviews
1.50 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
tashas
53 reviews
.77 km away
STK Grillhouse
6 reviews
.87 km away
Signature Restaurant
489 reviews
.09 km away
Nala Bheema's
8 reviews
.84 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Africology Spa
5 reviews
.70 km away
Orient Spa
10 reviews
.93 km away
Renaissance Spa
92 reviews
1.18 km away
Lavana Beauty Spa
7 reviews
1.40 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
SteveDonaldson
25 March 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from craigws | Reviewed this property |
Running shoes! You get get out faster
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

The Hussar Grill Morningside, Sandton - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Hussar Grill Morningside

The Hussar Grill Morningside is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5