We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Piccolo Mondo

135 West Street | Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton 2196, South Africa
+27 11 282 7000
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good22%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“creme brulee” (13 reviews)
“eggs benedict” (5 reviews)
Open Now
6:30 PM - 10:30 PMAll hours
CUISINES
European, International, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
RRRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
135 West Street | Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton 2196, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Ideal location and a very busy restaurant but I felt that the service was cold, and the food was a disappointment

Thank Suren P
Reviewed 5 days ago

This upscale, traditionally decorated restaurant is located in the deservedly 5-star Michelangelo Hotel. As noted by other reviewers, it is apparently not a local favorite, since the night I dined there (Thursday) at 7:30 I was the only guest. Nevertheless, the food was outstanding! The...More

Thank PilotBocaRaton_FL
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The restaurant was empty, exept for 3 large and noisy tables of big groups. Ordred 2 course meal with cheese. The plates were too large and we decided not to have the cheese when the second course came, but the maneger told us that he...More

Thank Guilherme S
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very friendly staff ( almost too polite ) but excellent service. The food was wonderful and in the perfect "size"... not too much and not too little. The price is fair. I went for dinner and was not necessary do a reservation. The restaurant belongs...More

Thank Fernanda F
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Fernanda F, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. As a 5 star establishment we are continuously striving to provide only the best service possible to ensure that our guests return home with fond memories of the Michelangelo Hotel...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I am residing at Michelangelo hotel and this place never ceases to amaze me in terms of the level of service being provided. Food is great and tables are impeccably laid out.More

Thank Naresh G
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Naresh G, Thank you for taking the time to review Piccolo Mondo Restaurant. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your experience with us and thank you for all your lovely compliments! We would love to have you join us here us at The...More

Reviewed 3 November 2017

The restaurant was quiet. We booked for 6:30pm only to be told to wait at the bar because they open at 7pm. Anyway, the restaurant is outdated. The furniture could do with a change. The food though... It was great. The service was good, the...More

Thank Refilwe K
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Refilwe K, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. As a 5 star establishment we are continuously striving to provide only the best service possible to ensure that our guests return home with fond memories of the Michelangelo Hotel...More

Reviewed 8 October 2017

Had a dinner for two and had the wine pairing set menu. The food was beautiful and very delicious. The service from the waiters was really someone special. They treat you like old friends.More

Thank Pieter K
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Pieter K, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. As a 5 star establishment we are continuously striving to provide only the best service possible to ensure that our guests return home with fond memories of the Michelangelo Hotel...More

Reviewed 23 September 2017

A great venue and food is good and fancy. great to treat an important client or business associate. fine dinning at its bestMore

Thank Len D
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear Len D, Thank you for taking the time to review Piccolo Mondo Restaurant. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your experience with us and thank you for all your lovely compliments! We would love to have you join us here us at The...More

Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

A very old style beautiful venue with no atmosphere almost nobody there last night (Saturday). We asked for the line fish which was the only fresh ( not frozen) fish but they wouldn't do it with their standard menu. So we left. Then we walked...More

Thank Jeremy J
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear Jeremy J, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. As a 5 star establishment we are continuously striving to provide only the best service possible to ensure that our guests return home with fond memories of the Michelangelo Hotel...More

Reviewed 4 September 2017

We had dinner at the Piccolo Mondo on Saturday night, as a special treat from my husband to me. We were impressed by the new menu with the option for two or three course dinner with wine pairing or not. We opted for the other...More

Thank 61Riana
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear 61Riana, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, we welcome all feedback. Please accept our sincerest apologies for Piccolo Mondo not living up to your expectations on the evening. This is certainly not the standard we adhere to and usually strive for faultless...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Butcher Shop & Grill
2 668 reviews
.01 km away
Pappas on the Square
488 reviews
.02 km away
Trumps Grillhouse and Butchery
887 reviews
.01 km away
Hard Rock Cafe Johannesburg
848 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
Nelson Mandela Square
2 132 reviews
.00 km away
Sandton Convention Centre
275 reviews
.32 km away
Sandton City
83 reviews
.48 km away
Sandton Taxi Cabs (Pty) Ltd (Johannesburg Shuttle Services), South Africa
34 reviews
.60 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mark M
9 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Dean E | Property representative |
Dear Mark M, The Dress Code is smart casual
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
6:30 AM - 10:30 AM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
6:30 AM - 10:30 AM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Tuesday
6:30 AM - 10:30 AM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Wednesday
6:30 AM - 10:30 AM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Thursday
6:30 AM - 10:30 AM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Friday
6:30 AM - 10:30 AM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Saturday
6:30 AM - 10:30 AM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 135 West Street | Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton 2196, South Africa (Formerly Michelangelo's Piccolo Mondo)
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Sandton
  • Phone Number: +27 11 282 7000
  • E-mail
Description
True to its name, the Piccolo Mondo really is “a world in one”, combined with superb food, excellent wine and a sophisticated ambience. The Piccolo Mondo instantly turns your visit into a distinctive culinary experience.Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served seven days a week in this magnificent restaurant, which overlooks the Nelson Mandela Square.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing