We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Piccolo Mondo

Is this your business?
135 West Street | Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton 2196, South Africa
+27 11 282 7000
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good22%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“creme brulee” (12 reviews)
“pasta” (16 reviews)
Open Now
18:30 - 22:30 Hours
CUISINES
Italian, International, European, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RRRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
135 West Street | Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton 2196, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I met a friend from Cape Town for dinner at this restaurant. We really enjoyed their interesting cocktails and loving gin both went for a cocktail that included gin. It was worth the steep price. The food was also very good except that the waitress...More

Thank Lucette B
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Lucette B, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor & for all the praise. As a 5 star establishment we are continuously striving to provide only the best service possible to ensure that our guests return home with fond...More

Reviewed 14 March 2018

I am a firm believer in giving credit where it is due and this is definitely on of those times. I have been to a couple of the Gourmet dinner evenings at Piccolo Mondo and have never been disappointed. This is definitely one of those...More

Thank angeliquefonline
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Dear angeliquefonline, Thank you for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your visit. We are happy to hear you had a wonderful experience with us and hope to welcome you back again very soon to...More

Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

We were quite excited for the occasion. Reservations were made for six people at the restaurant. On arrival we had found that Ellen had cancelled our booking without informing us, this was quite disappointing and not expected from a prestigious hotel. The staff at the...More

Thank Wanderlust T
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear Wanderlust T, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. As a 5 star establishment we are continuously striving to provide only the best service possible to ensure that our guests return home with fond memories of the Michelangelo Hotel...More

Reviewed 5 February 2018

The restaurant has a great choice on the menu - the seafood in particular is of a very high standard. the service is first rate - all in all very worth a visitMore

Thank march117
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Dear march117, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. As a 5 star establishment we are continuously striving to provide only the best service possible to ensure that our guests return home with fond memories of the Michelangelo Hotel and...More

Reviewed 9 December 2017

Ideal location and a very busy restaurant but I felt that the service was cold, and the food was a disappointmentMore

Thank Suren P
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Dear Suren P, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. As a 5 star establishment we are continuously striving to provide only the best service possible to ensure that our guests return home with fond memories of the Michelangelo Hotel...More

Reviewed 8 December 2017

This upscale, traditionally decorated restaurant is located in the deservedly 5-star Michelangelo Hotel. As noted by other reviewers, it is apparently not a local favorite, since the night I dined there (Thursday) at 7:30 I was the only guest. Nevertheless, the food was outstanding! The...More

Thank PilotBocaRaton_FL
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Dear by PilotBocaRaton_FL, We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such an inspiring and positive review. Feedback like yours is what continuously motivates our staff to exceed and continuously provide an excellent service to our guests. We are very happy...More

Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

The restaurant was empty, exept for 3 large and noisy tables of big groups. Ordred 2 course meal with cheese. The plates were too large and we decided not to have the cheese when the second course came, but the maneger told us that he...More

Thank Guilherme S
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Dear Guilherme S, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. As a 5 star establishment we are continuously striving to provide only the best service possible to ensure that our guests return home with fond memories of the Michelangelo Hotel...More

Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Very friendly staff ( almost too polite ) but excellent service. The food was wonderful and in the perfect "size"... not too much and not too little. The price is fair. I went for dinner and was not necessary do a reservation. The restaurant belongs...More

Thank Fernanda F
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Fernanda F, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. As a 5 star establishment we are continuously striving to provide only the best service possible to ensure that our guests return home with fond memories of the Michelangelo Hotel...More

Reviewed 10 November 2017

I am residing at Michelangelo hotel and this place never ceases to amaze me in terms of the level of service being provided. Food is great and tables are impeccably laid out.More

Thank Naresh G
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Naresh G, Thank you for taking the time to review Piccolo Mondo Restaurant. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your experience with us and thank you for all your lovely compliments! We would love to have you join us here us at The...More

Reviewed 3 November 2017

The restaurant was quiet. We booked for 6:30pm only to be told to wait at the bar because they open at 7pm. Anyway, the restaurant is outdated. The furniture could do with a change. The food though... It was great. The service was good, the...More

Thank Refilwe K
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Refilwe K, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. As a 5 star establishment we are continuously striving to provide only the best service possible to ensure that our guests return home with fond memories of the Michelangelo Hotel...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 48 hotels in Sandton
Signature Lux Hotels
178 reviews
.04 km away
Raphael Penthouse Suites
5 reviews
.05 km away
Michelangelo Hotel
1 029 reviews
.08 km away
Michelangelo Towers
94 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Pigalle Sandton
284 reviews
.13 km away
The Butcher Shop & Grill
2 810 reviews
.01 km away
Trumps Grillhouse and Butchery
1 010 reviews
.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
Sandton Convention Centre
283 reviews
.18 km away
Sandton City
86 reviews
.48 km away
Sandton Taxi Cabs (Pty) Ltd (Johannesburg Shuttle Services), South Africa
37 reviews
.60 km away
Macit Tours - Day Tours
19 reviews
1.56 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mark M
9 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Dean E | Property representative |
Dear Mark M, The Dress Code is smart casual
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
06:30 - 10:30
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 22:30
Monday
06:30 - 10:30
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 22:30
Tuesday
06:30 - 10:30
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 22:30
Wednesday
06:30 - 10:30
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 22:30
Thursday
06:30 - 10:30
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 22:30
Friday
06:30 - 10:30
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 22:30
Saturday
06:30 - 10:30
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 135 West Street | Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton 2196, South Africa (Formerly Michelangelo's Piccolo Mondo)
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Sandton
  • Phone Number: +27 11 282 7000
  • E-mail
Description
True to its name, the Piccolo Mondo really is “a world in one”, combined with superb food, excellent wine and a sophisticated ambience. The Piccolo Mondo instantly turns your visit into a distinctive culinary experience.Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served seven days a week in this magnificent restaurant, which overlooks the Nelson Mandela Square.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing