We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Piccolo Mondo Restaurant

135 West Street | Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton 2196, South Africa
+27 11 282 7000
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good22%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“sorbet” (7 reviews)
“eggs benedict” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
European, International, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
RRRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
135 West Street | Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton 2196, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a dinner for two and had the wine pairing set menu. The food was beautiful and very delicious. The service from the waiters was really someone special. They treat you like old friends.More

Thank Pieter K
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Pieter K, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. As a 5 star establishment we are continuously striving to provide only the best service possible to ensure that our guests return home with fond memories of the Michelangelo Hotel...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A great venue and food is good and fancy. great to treat an important client or business associate. fine dinning at its bestMore

Thank Len D
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Len D, Thank you for taking the time to review Piccolo Mondo Restaurant. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your experience with us and thank you for all your lovely compliments! We would love to have you join us here us at The...More

Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

A very old style beautiful venue with no atmosphere almost nobody there last night (Saturday). We asked for the line fish which was the only fresh ( not frozen) fish but they wouldn't do it with their standard menu. So we left. Then we walked...More

Thank Jeremy J
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear Jeremy J, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. As a 5 star establishment we are continuously striving to provide only the best service possible to ensure that our guests return home with fond memories of the Michelangelo Hotel...More

Reviewed 4 September 2017

We had dinner at the Piccolo Mondo on Saturday night, as a special treat from my husband to me. We were impressed by the new menu with the option for two or three course dinner with wine pairing or not. We opted for the other...More

Thank 61Riana
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear 61Riana, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, we welcome all feedback. Please accept our sincerest apologies for Piccolo Mondo not living up to your expectations on the evening. This is certainly not the standard we adhere to and usually strive for faultless...More

Reviewed 29 August 2017

... yes, they play live piano music every now and then and their fish pond is an absolutely great thing. However, the service for a leading hotel of the world is by far not there yet and the place, especially in the evening can be...More

Thank Urs W
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Urs W, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, we welcome all feedback. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the IL Ritrovo Lounge not living up to your expectations on the day. This is certainly not the standard we adhere to and usually...More

Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

We we're off for a family day in Michelangelo and decided to try piccolo mondo. Overall result was impressive. They have menu suggestions that already come marching with chief wine suggestion (each dish one specific wine) and that was great. Positive highlight: #1 service was...More

Thank CORTE777
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear CORTE777, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. As a 5 star establishment we are continuously striving to provide only the best service possible to ensure that our guests return home with fond memories of the Michelangelo Hotel and...More

Reviewed 9 August 2017

Excellent food and excellent staff! In the midst of Michelangelo hotel is this excellent restaurant. I had the searlion and a bottle of red "Buitenverwachting"; it was simply the best! So, strongly recommended.More

Thank AlexisDeVliegher
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Dear AlexisDeVliegher, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. As a 5 star establishment we are continuously striving to provide only the best service possible to ensure that our guests return home with fond memories of the Michelangelo Hotel and...More

Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

The food here is lovely! When visiting I always choose the specials menu. The food is cooked very well and I have never been disappointed. The staff are very attentive and due to the service and decoration the restaurant offers old school charm - a...More

Thank Helen W
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Dear by Helen W, We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such an inspiring and positive review. Feedback like yours is what continuously motivates our staff to exceed and continuously provide an excellent service to our guests. We are very...More

Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

We decided to try out one of the upmarket restaurants in sandton and picked this one. Firstly, the food is far from great! We had steaks, but it was as dry as they could come. And note that we ordered medium steaks. Even with the...More

Thank Gary A
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Dear Gary A, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, we welcome all feedback. Please accept our sincerest apologies for Piccolo Mondo not living up to your expectations on the day. This is certainly not the standard we adhere to and usually strive for...More

Reviewed 29 July 2017

this is the restaurant inside the Michelangelo hotel. its is luxurious and we had a lovely breakfast here. staff were friendlyMore

Thank samawimaui
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Dear samawimaui, Thank you for taking the time to review Piccolo Mondo Restaurant. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your experience with us and thank you for all your lovely compliments! We would love to have you join us here us at The Michelangelo...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Butcher Shop & Grill
2 606 reviews
.01 km away
Pappas on the Square
474 reviews
.02 km away
Trumps Grillhouse and Butchery
849 reviews
.01 km away
Hard Rock Cafe Johannesburg
833 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
Nelson Mandela Square
2 075 reviews
.00 km away
Sandton Convention Centre
271 reviews
.32 km away
Sandton City
82 reviews
.48 km away
Sandton Taxi Cabs (Pty) Ltd (Johannesburg Shuttle Services), South Africa
33 reviews
.60 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mark M
9 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Dean E | Property representative |
Dear Mark M, The Dress Code is smart casual
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
6:30 AM - 10:30 AM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
6:30 AM - 10:30 AM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Tuesday
6:30 AM - 10:30 AM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Wednesday
6:30 AM - 10:30 AM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Thursday
6:30 AM - 10:30 AM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Friday
6:30 AM - 10:30 AM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Saturday
6:30 AM - 10:30 AM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 135 West Street | Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton 2196, South Africa (Formerly Michelangelo's Piccolo Mondo)
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Sandton
  • Phone Number: +27 11 282 7000
  • E-mail
Description
True to its name, the Piccolo Mondo really is “a world in one”, combined with superb food, excellent wine and a sophisticated ambience. The Piccolo Mondo instantly turns your visit into a distinctive culinary experience.Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served seven days a week in this magnificent restaurant, which overlooks the Nelson Mandela Square.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing