We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

AtholPlace Restaurant

90 Pretoria Avenue | Johannesburg, Sandton 2196, South Africa
+27 11 783 3410
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good19%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“kingklip” (2 reviews)
“fillet” (3 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 2:30 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Fusion, European, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
RRRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
90 Pretoria Avenue | Johannesburg, Sandton 2196, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2017

We started with pre-drinks in their bar/library area to get ready for a foodie adventure like no other. The first gem was the Greens and Garlic Soup with Kimchi. The Executive Chef, Willie Malherbe really knows how to execute exciting and unusual dishes with Asian...More

Thank TwoTastyTummies
Allan_J0NES, General Manager at AtholPlace Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear Two Tasty Tummies, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at AtholPlace Restaurant and providing our future diners a detailed account of your time with us. We value the support we receive from our Foodie Followers, in that you provide guests...More

Reviewed 27 November 2017

We went there for our 3 year anniversary dinner. It was pouring outside and when we arrived someone was there with an umbrella which was great. The hotel seems very nice and the decor as well. The restaurant feels like a restaurant for a hotel......More

Thank debruinmarno
Allan_J0NES, General Manager at AtholPlace Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Marno, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at AtholPlace Restaurant. We appreciate your feedback on the service received at welcoming and the food that you enjoyed. We do try and make special occasions a little more special and appreciate the...More

Reviewed 13 November 2017

We were the lucky winners of a R1,100.00 voucher for two to eat at AtholPlace Restaurant. It was our first time there. The setting and décor is beautiful. The service was impeccable. The food was both a delight to look at, as well as absolutely...More

Thank Roberto L
Allan_J0NES, General Manager at AtholPlace Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Roberto, Thank you for the wonderful review and once again, congratulations on the prize! We are delighted to hear that the evening was enjoyed by you and that the food, offering and service was, to use your own words, impecable. The Chef and his...More

Reviewed 15 September 2017

Service was slightly better than average. The people are friendly and try real hard. The food was at best just okay. The Wine suggestions and knowledge were completely. The place is extremely clean and everybody tries real hard. Unfortunately the food and selection could best...More

Thank Bigfish725
Rinse W, Guest Relations Manager at AtholPlace Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear BigFish725, Thank you for taking the time to review your dining experience with us. We are obviously very sorry to read your comments about the service. We would like to hear from you when you dined with us exactly, as well as some more...More

Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

My mentor and I went for dinner at Atholplace. Everything about the restaurant exudes exclusivity. Tucked away in a boutique hotel in Atholl it really is quite nice. The restaurant itself is small, with seating place for probably 20people. The decor is elegant and beautiful....More

Thank Sunshine0789
Rinse W, Guest Relations Manager at AtholPlace Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Sunshine0789, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with regards to your recent dinner at AtholPlace Restaurant. The team is very happy with the nice comments and we look forward to welcoming you back anytime! Warmest regards on behalf...More

Reviewed 18 August 2017

We enjoyed a 5 course degustation with paired wines. It was hard to fault. The chef prepared some exquisite courses and the guest wine maker, Creation from Hermanus, presented some wonderful wines from their Reserve and Art series to complement the food. All in all,...More

Thank ianh65
Rinse W, Guest Relations Manager at AtholPlace Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear ianh65, Thank you so much for your wonderful review of AtholPlace Restaurant! We are very happy to read that you enjoyed the special wine pairing dinner, which we hosted together with Creation Wines. We look forward to welcoming you back! Warmest regards on behalf...More

Reviewed 11 August 2017

I was let down by this Hotel before I even arrived. Three months ago I organised to celebrate my 50th Birthday at AtholPlace by booking a meal for 16 people. I had made plans to fly in from London for the event. However a few...More

Thank Helen L
Rinse W, Guest Relations Manager at AtholPlace Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear Helen L We are very sorry to read your review and we would like to clarify a few things with regards to your feedback. In May you made a dinner reservation for 17 August and we forwarded you the dinner menu at that time...More

Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

On travel for business in Johannesburg, I've decided to come for dinner at AtholPlace and all of us, 9 guests in total, have been extremely happy with our choice. First of all, what we loved is that AtholPlace is not one of these busy restaurants...More

Thank RCBLHKG
Rinse W, Guest Relations Manager at AtholPlace Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear RCBLHKG, First of all we would like to thank you so much for selecting AtholPlace Restaurant as the venue for your dinner. We also really and truly appreciate the very nice and detailed review, which includes pretty much every aspect of a nice evening...More

Reviewed 23 July 2017

Maybe I had too high expectations after everything I have heard about that restaurant but I was really disappointed by the food. Yes, the set-up is charming - we had a drink at the bar in a very cosy atmosphere and the restaurant room is...More

Thank Ollo52
Rinse W, Guest Relations Manager at AtholPlace Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear Ollo52, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. We are happy to read that you appreciated the location and the setting. Of course we are very sorry to read that you were not happy with...More

Reviewed 22 June 2017

We were staying at the AtholPlace so dinner was an easy decision. It is late, so just eat at the hotel. We were SO LUCKY! Dinner was so good -- from the springbok steak to the vegetarian pasta! The meal was so good that we...More

1  Thank LVBaustin
Rinse W, Guest Relations Manager at AtholPlace Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear LVBaustin, Thank you so much for this nice review. We are very happy to read that you decided to come back for dinner during your second stay with us. And during the winter months we do indeed provide nice warm blankets for the tables...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 47 hotels in Sandton
AtholPlace Hotel & Villa
188 reviews
.01 km away
The Westford Hotel, Sandton
82 reviews
.43 km away
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton
361 reviews
.62 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
1 244 reviews
.70 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Butcher Shop & Grill
2 706 reviews
1.03 km away
Hard Rock Cafe Johannesburg
863 reviews
1.02 km away
Trumps Grillhouse and Butchery
922 reviews
1.02 km away
The Grillhouse Sandton
317 reviews
.63 km away
Nearby Attractions
Nelson Mandela Square
2 178 reviews
1.04 km away
Sandton Convention Centre
277 reviews
1.13 km away
Sandton City
85 reviews
1.12 km away
Sandton Taxi Cabs (Pty) Ltd (Johannesburg Shuttle Services), South Africa
34 reviews
1.48 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
pietuys
2 February 2015|
Answer
Response from Rinse W | Property representative |
Dear Pietuys, thank you for your message! Could you please get in touch with AtholPlace Restaurant via our email address or via telephone number 011-783-3410 and we will make a restaurant booking for your for your preferred... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$37 - US$49
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 90 Pretoria Avenue | Johannesburg, Sandton 2196, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Sandton
  • Phone Number: +27 11 783 3410
  • E-mail
Description
AtholPlace Restaurant re-opened in December 2014 with a totally fresh new look. We have added a large covered outside dining area (verandah) with a view of our garden and pool area. You can start by getting your taste buds tingling in our intimate bar and library where delicious canapes await you. Choose one of the wines from our extensive wine cellar to suit all tastes, or try a popular craft beer, brewed locally. Your waiter will then escort you to the restaurant with it's relaxing ambiance. Here timeless elegance and classic contemporary design set the mood for the culinary joys that await. Once seated, the Chef will take you on a culinary journey by presenting an a-la-carte three course dining menu. The carefully crafted menu changes frequently, making every experience at AtholPlace Restaurant exciting and unique. Chef Willie Malherbe utilises his experience and his passion for food to create dishes of varied influence and a true expression of flavour. Adopting Relais & Chateaux ethics in sustainability, AtholPlace Restaurant sources local fresh produce where possible. AtholPlace Restaurant also has a wonderful breakfast and lunch menu.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing