We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bull Run Restaurant

20 Maude Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
+27 11 884 1400
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good36%
  • Average12%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (200 reviews)
“malva pudding” (10 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 22:30All hours
CUISINES
Steakhouse, European, International, Grill, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
20 Maude Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 50 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

After about 10 years I returned to this restaurant. The food is still really excellent, the fillet is as tender as it can be and the staff is very friendly.More

Thank Okyay Bozkurt Ö
Jörg Z, General Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Dear ‘Okyay Bozkurt Ö ’. Your positive feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ is greatly appreciated. It is always wonderful to read about guests that have returned after so many years and still enjoy our fillet in particular. Thank you for you kind words, We look forward to...More

Reviewed 20 January 2017

Have eaten here with friends twice in the last 3 days. Great steak and kingclip. Wine is reasonably priced. Much to recommend. One slight minus is the construction work ongoing next door which means that dining outside on the terrace is not as peaceful as...More

Thank Andrew H
Jörg Z, General Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Dear ‘Andrew H’. Your positive feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ is greatly appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to do so. We look forward in welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM

Reviewed 18 January 2017

Brilliant food, excellent service and good menu - you can always find what you like on the menu, even as a vegetarian in a meat restaurant - meat of course is a standard - I usually take several starters for dinner since a large piece...More

1  Thank Rotopal
Jörg Z, General Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Dear ‘Rotopal’. Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’. Your feedback is much appreciated and we look forward in spoiling you again soon. Kind regards, Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM

Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

The Bull is still Running and will, certainly, win the race. Amazing food, superb service and friendly staff and management. Thank you guys.

Thank Kool2bbop
Jörg Z, General Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Dear ‘Kool2bbop’. How wonderful to read that you enjoyed your Bull Run evening with us again and thank you for writing it on ‘tripadvisor’. Your praise is very much appreciated! We look forward in welcoming you back again. Kind regards, Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM

Reviewed 8 January 2017

Good wine list, excellent service with some of the best food we have ever been served in a hotel restaurant. Highly recommended

Thank panamamike2016
Jörg Z, General Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Dear ‘’. Your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ is much appreciated. We are delighted to read that your all round experience was such a great one. We look forward in welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM

Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

the Butchers Shop which I went to the previous day. The meal the the Bull Run was very good and a different (in a good way!) menu but it just missed out on some minor things. The waiter was great in asking how long I...More

Thank Mark E
Jörg Z, General Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Dear ‘mark E’. Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’. We are delighted to read that your all round experience was such a positive one. We look forward in welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM

Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

In a typical steakhouse atmosphere, the dish chosen was the fillet. The quality of meat is excellent at Bull Run and preparation just like we asked. Perfect. I recommend.

Thank JmaElias
Jörg Z, General Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Dear ‘JmaElias’. Your positive feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ is greatly appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to do so. We look forward in welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM

A TripAdvisor Member
214
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

I went to Bull Run after many years and was expecting a nice experience. Everything was fine though: the dinner, restaurant, music, etc. however, the waiter was behaving weird from the beginning of the evening. We were a big group of people, hosted by a...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Jörg Z, General Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Dear ‘TripAdvisor Member’. Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’. It is of a great concern to hear of such 'weird' behaviour of one of our waiters. Did you speak to a manager that was working that evening? Please could you e-mail...More

Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

This is my third, and most likely last, visit to The Bull Run. The last time I was here, almost 2 years ago, I complained that my medium rare steak was delivered well done. Unfortunately, once again tonight, the same thing has happened. Not a...More

Thank twicked
Jörg Z, General Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Dear ‘twicked’. Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’. It is concerning to read that you were disappointed every time you came to the restaurant. We definitely take your review serious and apologise for your dissatisfying evenings with us. May we ask...More

Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

In the begining I was reading not too good reviews from people from JoBurg. It's normal to expect more in a restaurant by your city. However I know plenty of steakhouses in Sao Paulo and Buenos Aires and I can tell I had a great...More

Thank Bruno A
Jörg Z, General Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Dear ‘Bruno A’. Your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ is much appreciated. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed the food and good service. When ever you are in the area, we hope to welcome you back for a delicious meal. We look forward to your...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Butcher Shop & Grill
2 489 reviews
.53 km away
Hard Rock Cafe Johannesburg
777 reviews
.53 km away
Pigalle Sandton
262 reviews
.46 km away
Nearby Attractions
Nelson Mandela Square
1 953 reviews
.54 km away
Sandton Convention Centre
258 reviews
.63 km away
Sandton City
77 reviews
1.00 km away
Johannesburg Taxi Cabs
33 reviews
1.11 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Bull Run Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$15 - US$30
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 22:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:30
Thursday
12:00 - 22:30
Friday
12:00 - 22:30
Saturday
12:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 20 Maude Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Sandton
  • Phone Number: +27 11 884 1400
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing