We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bull Run Restaurant

20 Maude Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
+27 11 884 1400
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good36%
  • Average12%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (212 reviews)
“creamed spinach” (16 reviews)
“ribs” (20 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 22:30All hours
CUISINES
Steakhouse, International, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
20 Maude Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 30 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017

We had lunch here, and probably not the restaurants fault, but we ended up with 3 platters of sasuage rolls, deep fried prawns, deep fried chicken, deep fried spring rolls and 3 individual salads serving 20 people. It tasted old and oily and just not...More

Thank plouwrens
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

I've eaten steaks in some of the finest steakhouses in the UK and the filet mignon I had here would easily compare are top them! The staff were friendly and knowledgeable and the restaurant was comfortable and clean. I would seriously recommend this place, it...More

Thank christopherjhunt18
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear 'christopherjhunt18' Thank you for taking your time to write a review on 'tripadvisor'. I am delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us and looking forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM

Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

The Bull run is an excellent restaurant only 5 mins walk from Nelson Mandela square. Well worth a visit for excellent food and a large wine selection. Staff informative and friendly.

Thank fitterno1
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear 'fitterno1' Thank you for taking your time to write a review on 'tripadvisor'. I am delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us and looking forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM

Reviewed 24 July 2017

The Bull Run has been around for a very long time. The service is always good, the quality of the food is always superb and you can be assured that if you are taking clients or overseas visitors, they will be pleased. We work often...More

Thank mybeautifulworld2017
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear 'mybeautifulworld2017' Thank you for taking your time to write a review on 'tripadvisor'. I am delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us and looking forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM

Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

Went here for dinner on a Friday evening. No reservations were needed and it was not busy. Food was good. I had a steak with prawns and a salad with calamari. The service was good and quick. The only 'bad' thing was that my fries...More

Thank Jufinhk
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear 'Jufinhk' Thank you for taking your time to write a review on 'tripadvisor'. It is regrettable to read that you were not completely satisfied with your meal. Did you raise any of your concerns with our management on duty that evening? Please feel free...More

Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

We have visited this restaurant several times in the past but this time we were disappointed for several reasons but still went there two nights in a row because the food and service is good. The extensive building taking place in the vicinity spoils the...More

Thank Peter H
Jörg Z, General Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear 'Peter H' Thank you for taking your time to write a review on 'tripadvisor'. It is regrettable to read that you were not completely satisfied with your meal. Did you raise any of your concerns with our management on duty that evening? Please feel...More

Reviewed 11 July 2017

We only had the one night at the hotel next door. After looking at a few reviews in the area it became clear that this was the place to be. We had two entrees along with two fillet steaks and a good bottle of red...More

Thank An_Em25
Jörg Z, General Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear 'An_Em25' Thank you for taking your time to write a review on 'tripadvisor'. I am delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us and looking forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM

Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

Very professional management. It's a well decorated place with a historic taste. We tried Ostrich and deer meat which were not great. So go with beef :)More

Thank letmetellyou90
Jörg Z, General Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear 'letmetellyou90' Thank you for taking your time to write a review on 'tripadvisor'. It is regrettable to read that you were not completely satisfied with your ostrich and dear meat. Did you raise any of your concerns with our management on duty that evening?...More

Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

The ambience of the restaurant is lovely especially the fire place for winter. The waiters are super friendly and highly efficient. We also didn't wait forever for our food. The food was well presented and tasty. I was disappointed with the quality of meat though....More

Thank Rulenetjie
Jörg Z, General Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear 'Rulenetjie' Thank you for taking your time to write a review on 'tripadvisor'. It is regrettable to read that you were not completely satisfied with your steak. Did you raise any of your concerns with our management on duty that evening? Please feel free...More

Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

Service was initially slow but we eventually got Petros who looked after us well. I chose ostrich since I've never eaten it before. It was very 'meaty' tasting for a bird. My husband had a Sirloin steak which was tender and delicious. Each dish was...More

Thank Karen R
Jörg Z, General Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dear Karen R Thank you for such a positive review. Customer service is an ongoing practice at The Bull Run and we pride our self in keeping our customer happy. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM

PreviousNext
12345662
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 47 hotels in Sandton
Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
1 050 reviews
.09 km away
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
708 reviews
.17 km away
Courtyard Hotel Sandton
98 reviews
.26 km away
Hilton Sandton
1 430 reviews
.28 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Koi
199 reviews
.23 km away
the baron
84 reviews
.17 km away
Knead Bakery Sandton
90 reviews
.45 km away
Nearby Attractions
Sandton Convention Centre
278 reviews
.26 km away
Sandton City
85 reviews
1.00 km away
Sandton Taxi Cabs (Pty) Ltd (Johannesburg Shuttle Services), South Africa
35 reviews
1.11 km away
Auto & General Theatre On The Square
11 reviews
1.01 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
TriniTraveller69
9 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from christopherjhunt18 | Reviewed this property |
I would try to contact the restaurant as many wont be sure of this.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$15 - US$30
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 22:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:30
Thursday
12:00 - 22:30
Friday
12:00 - 22:30
Saturday
12:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 20 Maude Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Sandton
  • Phone Number: +27 11 884 1400
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing