We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
For a better look at the Restaurant, please see our Virtual Tour http://360sa.co.za/pretoria/pachas2/
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Steakhouse, European, International
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (685)
Filter reviews
665 results
Traveller rating
444
166
37
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
444
166
37
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak schnitzel private room mustard sauce excellent food upmarket restaurant attention to detail fine dining romantic dinner great restaurant specials gemsbok venue privacy waiters function hazelwood
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

OK, so if you would very much like to feel like a duck being force fed for the result of Foie Gras, then go to this place on a set menu day. We went here for Mothers day, we barely sat down and was asked...what we want to drink.... the waitress was really lovely though. Then came the owner that was taking the orders for main meals... firstly sir, be friendly... welcome people with some warmth..... he says the words but its very unbelievable. Right so before you can even smile at each other at the table, they want to know your starter and main. Heres a tip for those of you that dont take my advice and go here on set menu day...... dont put down your cutlery when you are in the chewing process... to them it means..."can i take this away?" meanwhile you have a piece of fish on you plate the size of a human liver..... we felt very rushed to eat and minute that plate was removed, the next one was there. It was like having a last meal at a prison. even with the dessert option they wanted to know what we want the minute we were done. The food is terribly overpriced, really not worth paying that kind of money. The establishment might get repeat customers if on the way out, they stop offering a mint and rather a packet of EnoMore

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 6 May 2021 via mobile

Pachas is a great Restaurant with excellent service from Andre the waiter and the Chef Corne . The food is excellent from the starter till the end. The Biltong soup is a must and is one of our favourite dishes. If you are looking for...an Restaurant that tick all the right boxes this will be the one you must go to!!!More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 11 April 2021 via mobile

I can say no more. The shortrib on the special menu was tender but the sticky sauce that was poured over it was to sweet. 2 people, 2 portions, 2 glases of wine, 2 espresso & 1 desert to share, just under R 1000. It...does not make sense.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?2  
Jan Willem P, Owner at Pachas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2021

Dear Pieter. Thank you for your review. We accept that the sauce may have not been to your taste although you made no mention of not enjoying your meal when the Manager checked in on you. Your calculation of the bill total is not a...More

Reviewed 5 March 2021

The traditional Pachas menu still brings warmth to the heart. The quality still is exceptional. Sound nice but boring? No, there are exiting specials and excellent service. Atmosphere is great and attention to detail is tops. Very special!

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 15 January 2021

I've eaten at worse places but I've also dined at much better restaurants. It is overpriced and the food not all that fantastic. Staff are friendly and the service is good. They should definitely learn how to make cream spinach. There was NO cream in...my portion. It was spinach in a very bad made bechamel sauce. All I could taste was raw flour. I won't recommend it to my friends.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?2  
Jan Willem P, Owner at Pachas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2021

Dear DinerC2014, thank you for bringing this aspect to our attention, we are aware of the problem as you were not the only customer complaint. We are looking into the matter, the problem is being dealt with. Hope to see you in the future.

Reviewed 16 December 2020 via mobile

I have been to this restaurant many times. The menu is more or less the same for many years. Food is okay, more bistro than restaurant. The interior and service is that of an upmarket restaurant, but the food and especially the wine list is...not. The biggest issue I had was the poor wine list. Below average wines at very high prices.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?1  
Jan Willem P, Owner at Pachas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2020

Dear Pierre Having said that you have returned here many times as per your own admission, the question arises why return if we are not up to your standard………….

Reviewed 13 November 2020

We celebrated my husband's 70th birthday at Pachas What an occasion!! We could not have chosen a better place anywhere. The food, attention to detail, the professionalism and service gets full marks. Thank you Pachas for a memorable evening.

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 7 October 2020

Myself and my fiancë has been to Pacha's more then 10 times already and every time the food is excellent. Does not matter what we order from their menu, every dish we have ever had is really amazing. The service is brilliant. We have taken...our family and friends to Pachas as well, and they were always impressed with the food and service too. Keep it up and see you soon againMore

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 18 March 2020

Best service, best food. Very friendly and professional service. Owners always present and food always a feast - tops!

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 14 March 2020

Everything about Pachas is great! The food is top notch, the service friendly and professional, atmosphere welcoming, warm and stylish, with choices of privacy nooks and areas for family or business groups to a romantic dinner for two. Thank you Pachas for another fantastic restaurant...experienceMore

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Regency Apartment Hotel Menlyn
125 reviews
1.09 km away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
600 reviews
1.32 km away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Pretoria Menlyn
335 reviews
1.57 km away
AM Milner
89 reviews
1.96 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Hinterland Vleis
187 reviews
.05 km away
Culture Club - Bar De Tapas
155 reviews
.38 km away
Life Grand Cafe
195 reviews
.05 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Hazel Food Market
235 reviews
1.99 km away
Atterbury Theatre
60 reviews
2.56 km away
Menlyn Maine Central Square
67 reviews
2.45 km away
Brooklyn Theatre
17 reviews
1.07 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ReanneP6
3 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from WynaPret | Reviewed this property |
Try their website.
0
Votes
mphelapitsi270
20 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from EddyandGail D | Reviewed this property |
none as far as i know just phone say how many and book
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pachas Restaurant

Yes, Pachas Restaurant offers takeaway services.

Yes, Pachas Restaurant offers delivery services.

Pachas Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4