We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
African, Barbecue
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
View all details
features, about
Reviews (712)
Filter reviews
500 results
Traveller rating
205
155
77
29
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
205
155
77
29
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beef meatballs soup biryani misty hills all you can eat south africa kudu meats crocodiles flag waiters samoosas vegetarian guests singing
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 31 March 2022

We went for dinner for my brother's birthday and oh my word did they make this a special evening! The Chiefs Chair was brought out for him and the singing was out of this world. To Chef Colman, you Sir are an amazing person, the...food was absolutely wonderful. Thank you to all the staff for your great service, we will be back soon. I cannot urge you enough to visit Carnivores, you will be receiving a true African experience and that is what South Africa is all about!!!More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RecreationAfrica, General Manager at Carnivore, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2022

Thank you for choosing Carnivore! We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable time. Is was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 23 February 2022

I visited here as part of a school volunteering trip to Lesotho. This was the perfect way to end 3 weeks of hard work and travel supporting those who needed it most. The food was great and the choices were amazing, including warthog and zebra...which I had never tried before. This is 100% worth going to when nearby!More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RecreationAfrica, General Manager at Carnivore, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2022

We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal at The Carnivore – and that you agree that it really is ‘Africa’s greatest eating experience’! Thank you for your lovely comments – we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 28 January 2022

a warm welcome, fantastic food and memorable experience. this is a concept restaurant that has been going for almost 30 years. great for international tourists or even just to entertain the family.

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RecreationAfrica, General Manager at Carnivore, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2022

Thank you for choosing Carnivore! We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable time. Is was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 23 January 2022

Great food, Great atmosphere, Great service. Thank you, Mr Welcome Zondi and the rest of your team! See you soon!

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RecreationAfrica, General Manager at Carnivore, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2022

We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal at The Carnivore – and that you agree that it really is ‘Africa’s greatest eating experience’! Thank you for your lovely comments – we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 9 January 2022

Overally the food and drinks were good. I enjoyed the crocodile and the zebra and the kudu meatballs, venison briyani and venison samoosas and pork sausages We managed to get about 2 rounds of everything on the menu except the beef, pork. I was looking...forward to having a good big share of pork ribs but they came round once with the ribs and was told I could only get three small ones then I had to ask the waiters a couple of times later that we wanted more ribs which they only brought a second time then that was that. That's my only negative. The waiters were nice so overall a nice experienceMore

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RecreationAfrica, General Manager at Carnivore, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2022

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable meal at The Carnivore! Is was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope you will join us again soon for another ‘Beast of a Feast’!

Reviewed 8 January 2022 via mobile

My sister booked a table for 15 at Carnivore to celebrate my nephew's 21st birthday. We had an unpleasant experience with regards to the service we received. Bad, bad attitude. I have never experienced such. The waiters serving the meat were in a huge hurry...and were outright rude. One of the guests gave a thumbs up sign when offered meat and was rudely told that meant she doesn't want the meat served and was confusing the waiter. Needless to say she was dumbfounded as no one had explained the required etiquette. I suspect we became invisible because at some point the waiters decided to ignore our table. Although our table was the first when they entered the dining room, they skipped it and served the other tables. We went for almost an hour without service. Our table didn't have a flag. We thought this was the problem and asked our waitress to bring one half way through the meal. However, having the flag up didn't make any difference. "All you can eat" is a lie. Portions and what you are offered, is tightly controlled by the waiters. When we asked for whatever meat was being served at other tables, we were either told the waiter was coming or whatever was being served was finished. We were not offered the venison biryani, beef and pork, let alone second helpings of the other meats. We only got these after raising our displeasure with our waitress. In the end she served us with meat. She tried to make up for her colleagues' behavior. Apart from the soup, no explanations were given as to the courses being served. As a result, we were surprised when desert was offered while some in our group were still hungry. Some dishes on the menu were not served and no explanation was given. My niece asked for the vegetarian option. See attached pics of what she got. Really!!!!!! Not anywhere close to what was on the vegetarian menu. I am writing this in the hope that no one will be treated like this ever again.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RecreationAfrica, General Manager at Carnivore, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2022

We do apologize for the experience you had at Carnivore. We will investigate the Carvers attitude because this is not the norm at Carnivore. Our Carnivore feed backs from Guest usually compliments our staff, as were the case on Saturday with other tables. We noticed...More

Reviewed 8 January 2022

False advertising. It's not all you can eat. They restrict you by taking forever to bring you food, then they tell you that the food is finished when you ask for it. If you're going for supposed bottomless ribs, don't waste your time. They strategically...restrict those. The vegetarian menu was incomplete. No fish. No chicken livers. No eland.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RecreationAfrica, General Manager at Carnivore, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2022

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about Carnivore. We make every effort to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable time and we apologise for not meeting all your expectations

Reviewed 8 January 2022

I never get tired of visiting this place. Excellent service by Jeremy. Can't wait to visit again for a family lunch

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RecreationAfrica, General Manager at Carnivore, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2022

We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable meal at The Carnivore! Is was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope you will join us again soon for another ‘Beast of a Feast’!

Reviewed 28 September 2021

We stayed at Misty Hills and had dinner at Carnivore. The food was really good as always and the staff were great. The only negative is that it was a very very cold night and we had to have dinner in a closed off area...that was freezing. They made a fire, but used only big stumps, so they struggled to burn and didn't make the temperature any more bearable. The worst was the people who were allowed to smoke where we were eating while they had a perfectly closed off smoking room literally 3 meters away from where the people were smoking. Most of the staff completely ignored them until one waiter decided after he passed them the fourth time to ask them not to smoke in the restaurant.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RecreationAfrica, General Manager at Carnivore, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2021

Firstly we would like to start by apologising for delay in responding to your review. We could have responded much earlier however we had some minor issues that lead to this delay. Thank you for bringing to our attention the issue with regards to the...More

Reviewed 20 February 2021

This place is a mere shadow of what it was a few years ago. No quality control whatsoever. All the meat were dried out and tasteless and hopelessly overcooked. Just awful. And the service is near non existent. And the servers have zero Covid guidelines....Touch your cutlery every time they put something on the table, reach over you, masks are below mouths- noses and mouths exposed after asking them several times to pull up their masks. They didn’t bring a third of the dishes on the menu around to our table. Not worth half the money they charge. This establishment’s time has passed and it needs to be locked and closed forever.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?4  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RecreationAfrica, General Manager at Carnivore, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2021

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about Carnivore. We make every effort to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable time and we apologise for not meeting all your expectations

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Misty Hills Country Hotel
612 reviews
.42 km away
Avianto
320 reviews
1.62 km away
Vivari Hotel and Spa
11 reviews
4.79 km away
Southern Sun Silverstar Hotel
305 reviews
5.05 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Casalinga Ristorante Italiano
525 reviews
2.52 km away
Gilroy’s Brewery, Pub & Restaurant
226 reviews
1.56 km away
Doppio Zero
121 reviews
4.00 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Walter Sisulu National Botanical Gardens
611 reviews
6.54 km away
The Cradle of Humankind
471 reviews
5.26 km away
Silverstar Casino, Krugersdorp
175 reviews
4.14 km away
Honeydew Mazes
97 reviews
5.52 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Nomad64188418081
14 February 2022|
Answer
Response from Nomad64188418081 |
Can we book for a two nights stay at the canivor
0
Votes
vbirje
9 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from RecreationAfrica | Property representative |
Carnivore is 47 min (82,1 km) via R21 and N14 from OR Thambo
0
Votes
Mike H
22 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from RecreationAfrica | Property representative |
Hi Mike, Adults are R250 per person, children under 12 pay R125 unfortunately no special price for a birthday.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Carnivore

Carnivore is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4