We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
African, Barbecue
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
View all details
features, about
Reviews (700)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveller rating
200
153
77
29
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
200
153
77
29
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beef salad bread cheesecake ice cream meat lovers love meat meats kudu crocodiles waiters nairobi vegetarian feast
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 20 February 2021

This place is a mere shadow of what it was a few years ago. No quality control whatsoever. All the meat were dried out and tasteless and hopelessly overcooked. Just awful. And the service is near non existent. And the servers have zero Covid guidelines....Touch your cutlery every time they put something on the table, reach over you, masks are below mouths- noses and mouths exposed after asking them several times to pull up their masks. They didn’t bring a third of the dishes on the menu around to our table. Not worth half the money they charge. This establishment’s time has passed and it needs to be locked and closed forever.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?2  
RecreationAfrica, General Manager at Carnivore, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2021

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about Carnivore. We make every effort to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable time and we apologise for not meeting all your expectations

Reviewed 16 December 2020

They are not open through the week. Only from Thursdays to Sunday. Big Disappointment. Wanted to book my 50th birthday celebration for 14 people. We will go somewhere else to company who advertises with integrity.

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?2  
RecreationAfrica, General Manager at Carnivore, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2021

We apologies for any inconvenience caused, due to the pandemic we have had to change our offerings.

Reviewed 25 October 2020

Visited Carnivore yesterday. The lack of service was disappointing - unsure if they even had waiters. We checked the menu, to find out what we could expect to be getting, but unfortunately, we never received any of the starters or entrées as per their menu....They lack a variety of meat and most of the meat was cooked until it was impossible to chew, making it inedible. Also, this place was incredibly warm, will little to no ventilation. Also, there was absolutely no social distancing. No value for money here. Best to give this place a skip.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
RecreationAfrica, General Manager at Carnivore, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2021

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about Carnivore. We make every effort to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable time and we apologise for not meeting all your expectations

Reviewed 6 September 2020 via mobile

My business partners and i made reservations to eat here and we were happy with the food and the service given well , the meats were plenty and the vegetarian food was a good standard as we have two vegetarians too , especially loved the...starter soup as wellMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
RecreationAfrica, General Manager at Carnivore, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2021

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Carnivore! We are delighted you took the time to visit and that you had such a positive experience. We look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Reviewed 9 March 2020

If you love meat, this is the place for you. Options vary each night but can include varieties of lamb, chicken, pork ribs, zebra, crocodile, kudu, rump steak, or venison which are augmented with salads and sides. Dessert options include Malva Pudding, Ice Cream, Chocolate...Mousse, Cheesecake and Fruit salad. Vegetartions meals are available upon request. Servers come to the table with meat on spits and slice them according to your desired preference. At some point during the evening the staff will sing a couple of songs. In addition, there is amazing indigenous art througout the property, all commissionned by the owners. Definitely a wonderful experience.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?2  
RecreationAfrica, General Manager at Carnivore, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2021

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Carnivore! We are delighted you took the time to visit and that you had such a positive experience. We look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Reviewed 2 February 2020 via mobile

Wonderful restaurant for all meet lovers - Variety and good choice of venison/meats complimented by homemade bread awesome butter nut soup. Definitely worth a visit for meat lovers

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
RecreationAfrica, General Manager at Carnivore, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2021

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Carnivore! We are delighted you took the time to visit and that you had such a positive experience. We look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Reviewed 23 January 2020 via mobile

Super host service from all the staff, delicious food and a super different concept, have a lot of different meat experience

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?2  
RecreationAfrica, General Manager at Carnivore, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2021

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Carnivore! We are delighted you took the time to visit and that you had such a positive experience. We look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Reviewed 17 January 2020

The menu at the Carnivore might say many different venison meats, but the cheap soup and bread are fed to the customers first and thereafter the beef and only lastly does the venison arrive, if all of it is served. Disappointing. And the service is...slow. The atmosphere and the venue is overbearing.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
RecreationAfrica, General Manager at Carnivore, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2021

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about Carnivore. We make every effort to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable time and we apologise for not meeting all your expectations

Reviewed 19 December 2019

Highly recommended. The place, the simpathy of the staff, the quality of the food! A place to visit if you stay in Nairobi

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 18 December 2019

Visited with a group of friends had a delicious meal love the layout huge indeed meats were all excellent in taste very relaxed atmosphere highly recommend this place 👍

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?2  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Misty Hills Country Hotel
602 reviews
.42 km away
Avianto
302 reviews
1.62 km away
Southern Sun Silverstar Hotel
304 reviews
5.05 km away
Riverview Spa
96 reviews
5.50 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Casalinga Ristorante Italiano
520 reviews
2.52 km away
Gilroy’s Brewery, Pub & Restaurant
224 reviews
1.56 km away
Doppio Zero
119 reviews
4.00 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Walter Sisulu National Botanical Gardens
608 reviews
6.54 km away
The Cradle of Humankind
463 reviews
5.26 km away
Silverstar Casino, Krugersdorp
175 reviews
4.14 km away
Honeydew Mazes
96 reviews
5.52 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
vbirje
9 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from RecreationAfrica | Property representative |
Carnivore is 47 min (82,1 km) via R21 and N14 from OR Thambo
0
Votes
Mike H
22 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from RecreationAfrica | Property representative |
Hi Mike, Adults are R250 per person, children under 12 pay R125 unfortunately no special price for a birthday.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Carnivore

Carnivore is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4