We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hussar Grill Waterfall Corner

Is this your business?
Corner of Woodmead and Maxwell Drive | Shop 5, Waterfall Corner, Midrand 1682, South Africa
+27 10 594 5556
Website
Share
Save
All photos (16)
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good28%
  • Average11%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible25%
Travellers talk about
“chateaubriand” (2 reviews)
“beluga” (2 reviews)
“olives” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Steakhouse
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
Corner of Woodmead and Maxwell Drive | Shop 5, Waterfall Corner, Midrand 1682, South Africa
All Details
Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here
Sponsored by: The Hussar Grill Waterfall Corner
1. Premium Quality!
"The steak was unbelievably good, melt in your mouth tender"
westcoastcat
See reviews that mention Premium Quality!
2. No Corkage!
"take your own wine if you want to and the do not charge a corkage fee"
tg0vender
See reviews that mention Wine
3. 50 Years of Excellence!
"The Hussar Grill was a fantastic experience"
Dane C
See reviews that mention Wine
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

A lot of confusion with the descriptions of the style of preparing your steaks. Unfortunately having been there on a number of occasions they have not been successful in hitting the mark. Ultimately left disappointed.More

Thank Beans H
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Waterfall Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Beans H, Thank you for taking the time to review our Waterfall Corner steakhouse. Your feedback is very much appreciated. We are disappointed to hear that your food was not consistent with the high standards we pride ourselves on. Please, could you kindly take...More

Reviewed 11 March 2018

It would surprise me if this restaurant survives at Waterfall. The steaks are tasteless, the ribs were dry and awful and the mash were like gelatine. Actually, words fail me to describe the experience. Bland, tasteless and expensive pretty much sums it up.More

Thank Mari P
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Waterfall Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear Mari, Thank you for taking the time to review our Waterfall Corner steakhouse. Your feedback is very much appreciated. We are extremely disappointed to hear that the food wasn't of the highest quality and would appreciate an opportunity to contact you. Please, could you...More

Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

This restaurant never fails to deliver. Only the best meat, great atmosphere and Sandra is our absolute favourite waiter and super star! Ask for her and you can't go wrong. Best of all is you can bring your own wine and you don't pay corkage....More

Thank eneveling
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Waterfall Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dear eneveling, Thank you for your review of our Waterfall Corner steakhouse. Great ambiance, food and service are what we strive for - glad you experienced just that. We look forward to many more excellent experiences with you. Warm regards, The Hussar Grill

Reviewed 2 February 2018

Since opening this restaurant has failed to deliver consistent service or food quality. yesterday was another example. The service was disorganised, the food arrived incorrectly with sauces muddled and then when sent back a shouting match ensued from the (open) kitchen. Christmas music was playing...More

Thank Jenny F
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Waterfall Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear Jenny, Thank you for taking the time to review our Waterfall Corner steakhouse. Your feedback is very much appreciated. We are disappointed that the service was not consistent with the high standard we pride ourselves on. Please could you kindly take a moment to...More

Reviewed 6 January 2018

Dirty Table cloths, terribly hot red wines, the manager totally indifferent and couldn't care less. only tried to make excuses about the sitation. this has happend now for three times. needless to say they will never see us again.More

Thank nock2018
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Waterfall Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear nock2018, Thank you for taking the time to review our Waterfall Corner steakhouse. Your feedback is very much appreciated. We are extremely disappointed to hear that this was your experience and would appreciate an opportunity to contact you. Please, could you kindly take a...More

Reviewed 31 December 2017

We went for dinner with friends. The restaurant has a nice ambiance and decor. Everyone's food was well prepared and tasty. The service was good and friendly. A big bonus is no corkage fees which makes up for the bit pricey food. But the food...More

Thank PretoriaTravelfreak
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Waterfall Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear PretoriaTravelfreak, Thank you for your kind words and wonderful review of our Waterfall Corner grill room. We are thrilled to hear that you chose us to host your dinner and that everyone had a great time. We look forward to welcoming you all back...More

Reviewed 17 December 2017

We have been to the Hussar Grill in Pretoria more than once & never been disappointed. However, the same can't be said about this one. Ordered a medium rare steak and get it well done, tough like rubber, so was my wife's pork belly, completely...More

Thank Francois d
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Waterfall Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Dear Francois, Thank you for taking the time to review our Waterfall Corner steakhouse. Your feedback is very much appreciated. We are very disappointed that both you and your wife's meals were not consistent with the high standard we pride ourselves on. Please, could you...More

Reviewed 14 December 2017

We went to Hussar Grill yesterday for a work Christmas party and had to wait over 2hours for our meals! The waiters were unprofessional and untrained. The manager did not even come to our table to address our concerns and left the waiters to handle...More

Thank maishibe n
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Waterfall Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Dear Maishibe, Thank you for taking the time to review our Waterfall Corner steakhouse. Your feedback is very much appreciated. We are very disappointed to hear that your dining experience was not consistent with the high standard we pride ourselves on. Please, could you kindly...More

Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

Written in my personal capacity.... Very poor service followed by poor quality meals in most instances and lack of accountability by management with only excuses....we will not be back soon... Johan van Rooyen vrooyenj@hotmail.comMore

Thank Traveller302
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Waterfall Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Dear Traveller302, Thank you for taking the time to review our Waterfall Corner steakhouse. Your feedback is very much appreciated. We are very disappointed to hear that your dining experience was not consistent with the high standard we pride ourselves on. Please, could you kindly...More

Reviewed 6 December 2017

From the moment you walk in and are seated you get this warm feeling that tonights gona be a good night, then they spoil you some more with fleshy olives deep fried onions to wet the appetite. The mains are showy and simply classy, but...More

Thank Mary Anne W
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Waterfall Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Mary Anne W, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Our Hussar Grill Waterfall Corner strives to provide the best dining experience and it gives us great encouragement...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 hotels in Midrand
Riboville
111 reviews
.63 km away
City Lodge Hotel Waterfall City
73 reviews
2.52 km away
Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead
170 reviews
2.54 km away
Melleney's Exclusive Guest House
26 reviews
3.67 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Aurelie's
15 reviews
.48 km away
Life Grand Cafe
123 reviews
.12 km away
The Raj
29 reviews
.04 km away
Remo's Maximilliano
115 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Liliesleaf Farm & Museum
233 reviews
4.19 km away
The Barnyard Theatre Rivonia
36 reviews
3.29 km away
Nizamiye Mosque
74 reviews
3.42 km away
Riversands Farm Village
15 reviews
3.93 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jeann D
16 May 2018|
Answer
Response from Mary Anne W | Reviewed this property |
sorry I dnt know
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$4 - US$12
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 17:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Corner of Woodmead and Maxwell Drive | Shop 5, Waterfall Corner, Midrand 1682, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Midrand
  • Phone Number: +27 10 594 5556
  • E-mail
Description
The Hussar Grill at Waterfall Corner is regarded as one of South Africa's premier restaurants, serving only the best steak available
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;