We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$4 - US$17
CUISINES
Bar
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
27
29
13
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
27
29
13
7
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 22 October 2019

Had my first date with my fiancee at the place; we arrived after 4pm on a Thursday afternoon; very friendly staff and very beautifully made food. I want to go again for our 2nd year annivesary; but you closed down?!? Nearest branch?

Date of visit: November 2018
Helpful?1  
Bonny S, Manager at The Potato Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2019

Hi, Thank you for your rating and feedback. We will most certainly make it known when we open our new Potato Shed Regards Bonny

Reviewed 2 April 2019

we've been several times to this place, coz my baby girl is really love the place, she really like the staff. food is excellent as well as the service. every meal includes potatoes which we all love. taste, price and service everything is really good....nice place for family night out.More

Date of visit: February 2019
Helpful?
Bonny S, Manager at The Potato Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2019

Hi, Thank you for your rating. Regards Bonny

Reviewed 19 January 2019

Went to the potato shed for a relaxed lunch. On arrival there was only one table occupied. We were the only other table in place, this was at 12:30pm on a Saturday afternoon. The waiters looked tired and disinterested. We sat for a while, my...son even commented that the place was empty. Taking our chances we placed our orders. He ordered chicken wings, my wife ordered pulled pork and I ordered a porterhouse steak. I could see the kitchen at work and they were grilling a T-bone assuming that maybe the other table had placed their orders I watched. Minutes later our order arrived. The pulled pork looked good, the chicken wings were delayed. I was given the “porterhouse steak”, it was a T-bone steak. I politely told the waiter that it was not a porterhouse steak. In reply, he said that is their “porterhouse steak”. Being tired and hungry, I tried the steak. It was not what I wanted. I casually asked to see the manager (Promise), he was out. After some minutes he came back. I pointed Promise to my steak and told him this is not a porterhouse steak but a t-bone. Non-chalantly he laughed and said I know my steaks and it was not a porterhouse steak. However; on their menu he said that the “porterhouse steak” is t-bone. Feeling aminable, I took another cut into the steak, this is not working, I thought to myself. To confirm, I requested to see the menu again. The porterhouse steak has no mention of t-bone. To be honest t-bone is not on the menu. The only steak on the bone on the menu is ribe eye on the bone. Now for the other dishes, the chicken wings looked like they were store bought and dished up. The sauce for wings was store bought as well, my son made these comments not me. The pulled pork was watery but dry, oxymoron; that takes “talent”. We settled our bill and we vowed never to be there again.More

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?
Bonny S, Manager at The Potato Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2019

Hi Thabo, Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to advise us of your recent visit to Potato Shed. It is through feedback such as yours and our own constant quality assessments that we are able to maintain and improve upon...More

Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

Definitely the place to be around Johannesburg, great ambience, you can come with friends or as a couple to unwind. Great selection of food. I enjoyed their Gatsby Burger a lot. I had to order a second one. Please give my compliment to the chef....Keep the excellent service.More

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?
Bonny S, Manager at The Potato Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Hi Mahlaba, Thank you for your rating and feedback We look forward to your next visit. Regards Bonny

Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

A diabolical lunch at this establishment . The overall feel was dirty and unkept. My pork chops were drowned in oil and tasted very strange . My wife’s salad was missing a key ingredient and we waited 45 minutes for the order . The tables...on either side of us both threatened to cancel their orders on account of the wait . I’d definitely not recommend this spot which is otherwise very well located in terms of its proximity to the Market Theatre . A year ago we had a good dinner there but they definitely have lost their way of our experience today is anything to go by .More

Date of visit: January 2018
Helpful?
Bonny S, Manager at The Potato Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Hi Rick, Firstly allow me to apologise for the disappointing dining experience you had at the Potato Shed. As a restaurant group we pride ourselves in fresh tasty food, and exceptional service. Unfortunately we did not meet those standards on this particular occasion. I am...More

Reviewed 19 August 2017

Whether you think the concept of the Potato Shed is a high one or a low one, it is unarguably well-executed. The concept? Good food, and potato in every course. There is nothing on the menu that isn't competently executed, and many of the dishes...are truly delightful. I'd recommend the "Beer Battered Hake," the "Bunny Chow" appetizer, and anything that explicitly mentions potato in its title. A pleasant atmosphere and with delightful. efficient service.More

Date of visit: July 2017
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Hubby and I popped in for an early lunch some weeks back. Very good service from the moment we stepped-in till we left. We shared a portion of sweet potato fries - absolutely divine! Love the sauce/mayo that accompanied it. For mains, I had a...baked potato. Hubby sought an opinion from the waiter on which would be the better lamb dish to order, and was informed he can't go wrong with the 'lamb spit braai' dish. My baked potato was tasty - I wouldn't have minded a bigger spud. Hubby's spit braai serving looked impressive and tasted great. It came with a small salad and some fries. All items on the menu are well priced. However at +-R190 for a serving of their spit-braai, hubby would have preferred to receive a few more pieces of lamb. I'm told they have live music on Sundays. Hope to go back with guests.More

Date of visit: May 2017
Helpful?
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

What a fantastic experience! Excellent service, excellent food, excellent ambience. Highly recommended. The corn bread was especially a treat.

Date of visit: July 2017
Helpful?
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Ambience: 10/10 Food: 9/10 Service: 9/10 We wen't for a cocktail and nibbles before our dinner, and we were not dissapointed. The whisky cocktails were outstanding, with great presentation and value for money. We ordered a board to share and we were surprised by every...single ingredient used. The service was attentive, rather slow but effective and warm. A must if you are in the area!More

Date of visit: May 2017
Helpful?
Reviewed 19 June 2017

Situated in the old JHB Potato distribution shed for the Market. The food is very ordinary and lacks flavor, the menu although is very different but flavors do not match the menu. Service is very slow and expect to wait for your meals and drinks....No children's menu. Presentation is funky and different, pity the flavor is just not there.More

Date of visit: April 2017
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
32 reviews
.67 km away
The Bannister Hotel
247 reviews
.84 km away
Protea Hotel Johannesburg Parktonian All-Suite
272 reviews
1.13 km away
The Reef Hotel
602 reviews
1.23 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Wing Republic
9 reviews
.76 km away
Urbanologi
206 reviews
.69 km away
Lattelicious Nelson Mandela Square
70 reviews
.46 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Neighbour Goods Market
53 reviews
.80 km away
The Orbit
23 reviews
.91 km away
Neighbourgoods Market
328 reviews
.81 km away
BraamByBike
7 reviews
.93 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Potato Shed staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Potato Shed

The Potato Shed is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5