We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Potato Shed

Corner Carr St and Miriam Makeba Street | Newtown Juntion, Johannesburg 2113, South Africa
+27 76 723 1030
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good39%
  • Average15%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“pulled pork” (10 reviews)
“potatoes” (27 reviews)
“bunny chow” (4 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
Corner Carr St and Miriam Makeba Street | Newtown Juntion, Johannesburg 2113, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

Definitely the place to be around Johannesburg, great ambience, you can come with friends or as a couple to unwind. Great selection of food. I enjoyed their Gatsby Burger a lot. I had to order a second one. Please give my compliment to the chef....More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Mahlaba_Themba
Bonny S, Manager at The Potato Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Hi Mahlaba, Thank you for your rating and feedback We look forward to your next visit. Regards Bonny

Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

A diabolical lunch at this establishment . The overall feel was dirty and unkept. My pork chops were drowned in oil and tasted very strange . My wife’s salad was missing a key ingredient and we waited 45 minutes for the order . The tables...More

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank RickMelvill
Bonny S, Manager at The Potato Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Hi Rick, Firstly allow me to apologise for the disappointing dining experience you had at the Potato Shed. As a restaurant group we pride ourselves in fresh tasty food, and exceptional service. Unfortunately we did not meet those standards on this particular occasion. I am...More

Reviewed 19 August 2017

Whether you think the concept of the Potato Shed is a high one or a low one, it is unarguably well-executed. The concept? Good food, and potato in every course. There is nothing on the menu that isn't competently executed, and many of the dishes...More

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank djs7777
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Hubby and I popped in for an early lunch some weeks back. Very good service from the moment we stepped-in till we left. We shared a portion of sweet potato fries - absolutely divine! Love the sauce/mayo that accompanied it. For mains, I had a...More

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank TravelLife_Jhb
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

What a fantastic experience! Excellent service, excellent food, excellent ambience. Highly recommended. The corn bread was especially a treat.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank jleone435
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Ambience: 10/10 Food: 9/10 Service: 9/10 We wen't for a cocktail and nibbles before our dinner, and we were not dissapointed. The whisky cocktails were outstanding, with great presentation and value for money. We ordered a board to share and we were surprised by every...More

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank ViajandoConChongo
Reviewed 19 June 2017

Situated in the old JHB Potato distribution shed for the Market. The food is very ordinary and lacks flavor, the menu although is very different but flavors do not match the menu. Service is very slow and expect to wait for your meals and drinks....More

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank luckyluke715
Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

Went there for a team lunch. Service was good and we were placed at a good table. Service was decent. I had the pulled pork which was good. I am a meat and potato eater so didn't have an issue with the menu but some...More

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank justingI1664UA
Reviewed 22 May 2017

Having visited The Potato Shed twice, the food has been fine, nothing spectacular. Fish and chips and fried calamari were both too greasy and should have been hot, rather than lukewarm. Salad presentation in a box, though inventive, was difficult to actually consume. Service was...More

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank fishfan1234
Reviewed 7 May 2017

We tried The Potato Shed for lunch recently. It was good, but nothing unusual. The menu offered a good variety of foods at decent prices. The highlight of our lunches was the purple box salad - which was EXCELLENT! Purple cabbage, cooked beetroot, gorgonzola cheese,...More

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank africanaddict
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 70 hotels in Johannesburg
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
26 reviews
.67 km away
The Bannister Hotel
204 reviews
.81 km away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
243 reviews
.96 km away
Protea Hotel Johannesburg Parktonian All-Suite
243 reviews
1.13 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Smokehouse and Grill
61 reviews
.80 km away
The Wing Republic
6 reviews
.77 km away
Urbanologi
174 reviews
.69 km away
Lattelicious Nelson Mandela Square
68 reviews
.46 km away
Nearby Attractions
Neighbour Goods Market
44 reviews
.80 km away
The Orbit
23 reviews
.91 km away
Neighbourgoods Market
293 reviews
.81 km away
Sci-Bono Discovery Centre
217 reviews
.36 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Potato Shed staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$4 - US$17
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Corner Carr St and Miriam Makeba Street | Newtown Juntion, Johannesburg 2113, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Johannesburg
  • Phone Number: +27 76 723 1030
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing