We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
R 45 - R 150
CUISINES
African, Bar, Cafe, Pub, Beer restaurants
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast
View all details
features, about
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
11
15
5
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
11
15
5
1
5
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 April 2024 via mobile

We enjoyed this experience of being taken back to our childhood memories of Afrikaner food. The food was tasty and creatively presented. Friendly service and a table under the old trees rounded off a very pleasant afternoon with good friends.

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2024 via mobile

Had a super tasty meal that was enough to feed an army the garden seating is exellent and very relaxing HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bergbron Plaaskombuis, Owner at Bergbron Plaaskombuis, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2024

Thanks so much 😁

Reviewed 7 January 2024

It is a lovely setting, with lush garden and outside seating. However the breakfast was very disappointing, with an unedible sausage. Our complaint fell on deaf ears. The flies were a big problem with no candles or any deterrant. The ladies toilet had no toilet...paper. Looked very inviting but we won't go there again.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 November 2023

Had the most amazing experience at Bergbron Plaaskombuis. Went for breakfast with my family. The staff were awesome, the manager/owner was so helpful and friendly. Recommend this restaurant to everyone

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bergbron Plaaskombuis, Owner at Bergbron Plaaskombuis, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2024

Thanks for the great review. We are really happy you enjoyed your visit with us. Will make sure to tell our stoep Family.

Reviewed 27 November 2023

We have ordered breakfast as take-away for 4 people. We wanted extra cheese on the roosterkoek which the waitress said that is R30 extra, I laughed and said there is no way I'm paying R30 extra per roosterkoek just for cheese. Never was I rude...to the waitress, it is not her rules. The owner and his 2 lady friends were sitting at a table nearby (the one lady who were smoking liking a steam train making it very unpleasant for us). I said to my friend can you believe it, R30 per roosterkoek! When the food arrived I've asked for a plastic bag (there were 6 take-away holders), next thing Johan the owner jumps up and said "I AM THE OWNER AND I MAKE THE RULES" and that I've been treating his staff in an ill manner way, waiving his hand dramatically and laughable to say the least. I said no, it is because I've complained about the R30 for cheese that you are having a wobble now. He also said "does Spur give plastic bags!, does Spur give plastic bags! (yes twice and in a very disrespectful tone of voice). Haha, sir, please go visit Spur, they actually do. I asked the waitress where was I rude to her, she could not answer me and just said she does not want to get involved. I said to my friend, what rude people! The steam train smoker also tried to jump in on this, shame. Comment on the food: previously I've ordered chicken mayo vetkoek which was fresh and really nice. Today's roosterkoek was awful, the dough as thick as a brick and hard, could be from the previous day. Your melktert is divine, I am going to miss it as I will never return to your place, never ever. Dear owner, contain your rude friend and if you are frustrated, don't take it out on customers.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bergbron Plaaskombuis, Owner at Bergbron Plaaskombuis, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2023

Hi Anita Thank you for your review we appreciate all feedback we receive. However myself (Johan the owner) and my staff feel the accusations were harsh as well as the fact that a packet for a take away was the point of contention as we...More

Reviewed 22 May 2022 via mobile

Was always our favorite restaurant to visit but It has really gone backwards, looks and feels dirty. Even when we were the only people at lunch time we had to wait for the waitress and call her to assist three times. The chicken mayo baffle...was cold and when we raised the issue they took it to the kitchen put it in the microwave to heat up and brought it back. We were told that’s how they serve it cold. If we wanted it hot we should have asked. Then the manager blamed the waitress for not asking us. Definitely not on our list of must do when we visit Joburg again.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2022

We loved the tranquility of the new premises. Moerse koffie didn't leave much room for boebpens. Great company awesome premises.

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 December 2021 via mobile

We visited as a couple for a quick lunch. The service was great. Outside and inside seating with a little shop inside. Burgers and Jaffel are MASSIVE. Definitely valued your money. Even had to takeaway. Potatoes are homemade and everything is just fresh and quality...food. Thanks a lot. Definitely coming back next time we are in JohannesburgMore

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 December 2019 via mobile

I am not sure if this is for wveryone.... but i thought it was great. You have to have african / south african knowledge to grasp the decor , food etc. But like an old farmstall from the early 1900's, and food to match, which...are considered " classics " but in the american / european consumerism vibe not readily available. Highly recommended.....More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 November 2019

The Restaurant looked interesting from the outside. Tables under huge old trees welcomes you. Lovely Cape Gabled building. A Gingerbeer taster is placed on the table without a word - no explanation. Menu looks interesting, signs of hearty Plaaskombuis hospitality. Servers were straight faced, no...warmth or enthusiasm. Questions about dishes on the menu were not answered, no excitement. We ordered the Melkkos which was simply placed on the table without a word. I think a real Grandmother from a Plaaskombuis would have been far more generous and kind, maybe my expectation was too high.. No sign of management. The table next to us with tourists from Germany, found it difficult to understand the dishes but was left to their own devices to order. Overall disappointing, however, I will give Plaaskombuis another chance to prove if there is any hearty real Plaaskombuis hospitality on offer. The jury is out on this one.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 July 2019 via mobile

We went to Die Plaaskombuis thinking we'll find some traditional food and ambiance... however we were very disappointed. 1- when we arrived the speakers were blaring rap music as it was tuned to a local radio station. 2- Maybe long ago the kitchen was run...by a boere tannie but no more the staff HAS ZERO boere culture. The menu is impressive but the food was overcooked and more african tradition than Boere tradition. The MOER koffie tasted like tap water extremely poor quality. The pap mince and egg was over cooked. My wife had the skilpadjies and again over cooked and dry. Sad to say all and all a sub standard restaurant in my opinion and I think management needs to take a look at their kitchen staff and how food is prepared. Will not visit again..More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 May 2019 via mobile

The plan was to have a working lunch at the new venue. It's a lovely new venue with more space and some nice touches inside and outside. The menu is still limited if you're looking for healthy options, but it offers unique combinations if you're...interested in farmstall type food. You'll find quirky options like jaffels, pap and more A good option if you're looking for something differentMore

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 May 2019

Good service, boere kos: vetkoek, roosterkoek, sit in a garden setting. They make a very nice home-made ginger beer.

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 March 2019 via mobile

Early breakfast with family. What a surprise. Very good service and awesome traditional ”boerekos”. Most enjoyable morning.

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

Entrance not clearly marked. Walk through a nursery’s entrance to get to the Plaaskombuis. Renovations were undergo and surely if you want to paint floors where staff and patrons have to cross to get to the kitchen and toilets you could ever shut down operations...or do the painting after hours! Not sure how the kitchen functioned with renovations and attempting to deliver orders. Kitchen very cluttered and not clean! Please ask your kitchen staff to wash the lettuce before preparing salad! Staff could look unified with a standardised uniform. Furnish them with clean tea towels every day for a fresh look and feel! Service slow and a long wait for food to be served. If you are okay to eat mainly carbohydrates, there sure are enough “bread” items on the menu. No sign of management insight for the duration of our 1+ hour visit Will I be back? Not in a hurry.More

Date of visit: August 2018
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
1 060 reviews
2.29 km away
Sierra Square Hotel
89 reviews
3.82 km away
All Suite on 14th
80 reviews
3.84 km away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
316 reviews
4.20 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Thundergun Steakhouse
337 reviews
.46 km away
The Silver Spoon Victorian Tea Room
29 reviews
.03 km away
Turn 'n Tender Steakhouse Cresta
35 reviews
.59 km away
Wild Falcon Spur Steak Ranch
12 reviews
.49 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Cresta Shopping Centre
133 reviews
.55 km away
Cradle Moon
50 reviews
1.72 km away
Northcliff Ridge Ecopark
37 reviews
1.19 km away
Northcliff Hill
16 reviews
1.19 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Bergbron Plaaskombuis staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

Bergbron Plaaskombuis, Johannesburg - Restaurant Reviews, Phone Number & Photos - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Bergbron Plaaskombuis

Yes, Bergbron Plaaskombuis offers takeaway services.

Bergbron Plaaskombuis is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 4