We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

moyo Melrose Arch

The High Street | Shop 5, Melrose Arch, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
+27 11 684 1477
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good36%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“tagine” (14 reviews)
“pie” (16 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
African, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The High Street | Shop 5, Melrose Arch, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1 326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1 093 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

The staff is very friendly and go out of their way to provide good service. Also they give good advice on different dishes. We felt at ease and well looked after and always come back for excellent service. I will recommend it to everyone looking...More

Thank Elelwang D
Reviewed 1 week ago

With one free night during a stopover in Johannesburg, we chose to dine at a restaurant that features traditional African dishes. Yes, Moyo is a chain, with one or two locations in three South African cities, but it is nevertheless an excellent introduction to African...More

1  Thank Dubi S
Lovemoyo, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there, thank you for the great 5 star review. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Warm Regards, The moyo team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

An enjoyable experience but not worth paying a premium. My prawns weren't fresh, but the lamb tagine was good. Nice extra with the face paint but wouldn't go back soon.More

1  Thank Lorraine J
Lovemoyo, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear guest, We are very sorry to see that your visit was not up to the expected moyo standard. Please can you email us your contact details info@moyo.com, our management team can contact you about your visit. We look forward to hearing from you soon!...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A chilly and wet autumn evening had us hungry for good wine and hearty traditional African cuisine. Entertaining UK business partners, Moyo offered an all in one experience. We tried it all! Mopani worms, crocodile cakes, springbok carpaccio, kudu and ostrich meats, Maputo peri peri...More

1  Thank Anthea C
Lovemoyo, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Anthea, Thank you for the great review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Warm Regards, The moyo team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

With so many restaurants to choose from in Melrose Arch it can difficult to pick one if you don't know them, but you should definitely give Moyo a try. You get to experience a taste of Africa in the heart of the city with fires...More

1  Thank Dewald R
Lovemoyo, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Dewald, Thank you for the awesome feedback. We look forward to seeing you again son. Warm Regards, The moyo team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our first meal in Jonhannesburg and Moyo's was recommended by our hotel. The service was good and the food was alright but the restaurant was too dim and our meat platter was smothered in barbecue sauce which was a shame. For the adventurous...More

1  Thank darrencerasi
Lovemoyo, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there, Thank you for the feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Warm Regards, The moyo team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The crocodile tarts and carpaccio were very flavourful and nicely presented. The lamb curry was terrific, making me wish I had ordered it instead of the ostrich, which was tough. I've had much better in other restaurants. Service is friendly though not the most prompt....More

1  Thank albert z
Lovemoyo, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Albert, Thank you for the feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Warm Regards, The moyo team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had the best Fathers Day at Melrose Arch - Moyos. Our waiter Zuko painted our faces and there was a live Regae Band. Beautiful Sunday spent with family.

1  Thank F3686KHannes
Lovemoyo, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there, Thank you for the valuable review. We hope to see you again soon. Warm Regards, The moyo team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I love to go there to do my monthly shopping and just relax from all the hassle and bussle of every day after the shopping

1  Thank 1977gerrie
Lovemoyo, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there, Thank you for the valuable review. We hope to see you again soon. Warm Regards, The moyo team

Reviewed 6 June 2018

In Johannesburg one night. Family of four. Advised by travel agent to try Moyos. Great ambiance, entertainment, food choices and quality. Overall a great experience.

3  Thank alanrB5020LU
Lovemoyo, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there, Thank you for the great feedback. We hope o see you again soon. Warm Regards, The moyo team

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 68 hotels in Johannesburg
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection
774 reviews
.09 km away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Johannesburg Melrose Arch
1 082 reviews
.25 km away
Premiere Classe Suites
193 reviews
.70 km away
The Peech Hotel
639 reviews
.97 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Mezepoli Meze and Wine Bar
261 reviews
.29 km away
Pigalle Melrose Arch
258 reviews
.29 km away
JB's Corner
355 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bidvest Wanderers Stadium
40 reviews
1.60 km away
Johannesburg Zoo
1 049 reviews
.60 km away
Goliath Comedy Club
19 reviews
.09 km away
Wildside Tours and Safaris - Day Tours
186 reviews
1.49 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lisa C
24 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Madelaine G | Reviewed this property |
generally cold in october although at melrose arch moyo does have outside fires and blankets provided
1
Vote
Danielle F
6 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from marilek | Reviewed this property |
Ideally yes. especially if its a group. but I haven't been turn away the times I went without booking.
0
Votes
nickyherbst
18 December 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from DanMoyane | Reviewed this property |
Yes. Moyo Melrose Arch is now under new management. Great African music and food. You can still paint your face.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$37
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The High Street | Shop 5, Melrose Arch, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Johannesburg
  • Phone Number: +27 11 684 1477
  • E-mail
Description
In the heart of Johannesburg, the 350-seater, multi-level modern restaurant - clad in copper with pressed pebble walls - embodies Africa's finest music and urban cuisine offerings.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing