We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

moyo Melrose Arch

The High Street | Shop 5, Melrose Arch, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
+27 11 684 1477
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good35%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“tagine” (14 reviews)
“pie” (16 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 22:00 Hours
CUISINES
African, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The High Street | Shop 5, Melrose Arch, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1 368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1 128 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Brought Canadian clients, and we enjoyed the ambiance, the face painting and the worms, truly recommend this place.

Thank Thierry K
Lovemoyo, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Thierry, Thank you for the great review! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Warm Regards, The moyo team

Reviewed 3 days ago

Enjoying a Sunday booking with invited friends, every good expensive wine they ran out of only had one in stock of four we tried other none in stock. Food was below average, Ladies did not eat there meals, rice was hard pompadours were like plastic...More

1  Thank Tommy B
Lovemoyo, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Tommy, Thank you for the valuable feedback. We are terribly sorry that your experience was not up to the moyo standard. Please can you email us at info@moyo.com with your contact details and we will take this matter up with management. Warm Regards, The...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Zoo Lake Moyo has a very nice local spirit. However this one is an ordinary mall fast food restaurant. It has some local architectures but doesn’t have anything special. Especially tourists who want to experience South Africa must go to the Zoo Lake branch of...More

1  Thank Eren G
Lovemoyo, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Eren, Thank you for the valuable feedback. We are terribly sorry that your experience was not up to the moyo standard. Please can you email us at info@moyo.com with your contact details and we will take this matter up with management. Warm Regards, The...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Dinner Lovely African food. Delicious samp and vegetable potjie. Wonderful service. Friendly and memorable. The face painting was fun!!

Thank Andi465
Lovemoyo, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Andi, Thank you fro the great review! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Warm Regards, The moyo team

Reviewed 1 week ago

Really enjoyed our experiences here. We stayed at the hotel across the street so went to this restaurant our first night for dinner as we were tired and did not want to go far. It was just a great experience. Comfortable seating, super friendly and...More

1  Thank HRHQE
Lovemoyo, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there, Thank you for the great review! We look forward to seeing you again soon :) Warm Regards, The moyo team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First trip to South Africa and it couldn't have been better. 16 people sitting outside trying all the local food. The worms were suprisingly spicy and the alligator tail pie was good too. Throw in great wines, good service, face painting and an African drum...More

2  Thank 788Pamela_O_12
Lovemoyo, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there, Thank you for the great review! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Warm Regards, The moyo team

Reviewed 1 week ago

Great food and atmosphere. Fun place to eat. Staff was great. We had a trainee, Iyke, who was brand new and learning. He was friendly and attentive. We gave him a "thumbs up" to his boss. Recommended to others in our tour group, and they...More

2  Thank nancycM1275XR
Lovemoyo, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there, Thank you for the great review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Warm Regards, The moyo team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Atmosphere, food and service were all great. A fun place to while away the evening with a bottle of wine and good food.

2  Thank Dale502
Lovemoyo, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Dale, Thank you for the great review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Warm Regards, The moyo team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to Moyo as we had heard lots of great things about them from various different people however, I was a little bit disappointed after our visit. We were shown to a table downstairs and when we arrived, we were the only guests down...More

2  Thank Waggers74
Lovemoyo, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there, Thank you for the feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Warm Regards, The moyo team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Took some clients for dinner and what a treat - the staff are amazing and the menu a feast. Pre-dinner cocktails was also extraordinary - try the speciality dishes and you need to get your face painted !!

1  Thank Chris B
Lovemoyo, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Chris, Thank you for the great review! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Warm Regards, The moyo team

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 69 hotels in Johannesburg
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection
804 reviews
.09 km away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Johannesburg Melrose Arch
1 115 reviews
.25 km away
Premiere Classe Suites
197 reviews
.70 km away
The Peech Boutique Hotel
651 reviews
.97 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Mezepoli Meze and Wine Bar
272 reviews
.29 km away
Pigalle Melrose Arch
267 reviews
.29 km away
JB's Corner
369 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bidvest Wanderers Stadium
40 reviews
1.60 km away
Goliath Comedy Club
21 reviews
.09 km away
Johannesburg Zoo
1 071 reviews
.60 km away
Melrose Arch
78 reviews
.06 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Marian O
22 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from eddie s | Reviewed this property |
Sit on the patio. Grear wat to experience the restaiarant and all the people in the area. The facepainters will come to your table if you are interested.
2
Votes
Lisa C
24 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Madelaine G | Reviewed this property |
generally cold in october although at melrose arch moyo does have outside fires and blankets provided
1
Vote
Danielle F
6 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from marilek | Reviewed this property |
Ideally yes. especially if its a group. but I haven't been turn away the times I went without booking.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$37
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The High Street | Shop 5, Melrose Arch, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Johannesburg
  • Phone Number: +27 11 684 1477
  • E-mail
Description
In the heart of Johannesburg, the 350-seater, multi-level modern restaurant - clad in copper with pressed pebble walls - embodies Africa's finest music and urban cuisine offerings.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing