We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chief's Boma Restaurant

Indaba Hotel - William Nicol Drive | Fourways, Johannesburg 2055, South Africa
+27 11 840 6600
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good48%
  • Average12%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“stews” (5 reviews)
“game meat” (4 reviews)
“venison” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
African, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Indaba Hotel - William Nicol Drive | Fourways, Johannesburg 2055, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Situated right inside Indaba Hotel, this should be your next go to restaurant for buffet. I was looking for a restaurant to celebrate my birthday with a couple of friends and I don’t regret choosing chiefs boma for that. From the moment you enter the...More

Thank levy s
Reviewed 18 May 2018

Staying at hotel, but lots of locals also in restaurant. A huge buffet is presented with all sort of meat (crocodile, kudu, ostrich, springbok etc), salads and stews.. Drinks very reasonable.More

Thank SuffolkCarol
Sharon H, Manager at Chief's Boma Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you for the wonderful review- we are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent Indaba experience and will certainly pass your kind comments on to the team Hope your SA trip met with all your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back soon Yours...More

Reviewed 29 April 2018

What a pleasant surprise, fresh good and a wide variety on a buffet - everything I had was excellent, be it the beef, game or pork stew, oxtail, simple pap or exotic game steaks. I stopped doing buffets, but this one rates at 'I will...More

Thank japoti
Sharon H, Manager at Chief's Boma Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you for the wonderful review- we are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us and will certainly pass your kind comments on to the team Looking forward to welcoming you back soon Yours Sincerely Sharon Hunink Group Marketing & Sales Manager

Reviewed 18 April 2018 via mobile

Excellent service and very friendly service ambassadors. Food was great. Unlike our experience from last night, the wine was brought to our table very quickly and there was a big variety of food to choose from at the buffet. I am not a big fan...More

Thank owen37
Sharon H, Manager at Chief's Boma Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Thank you for the wonderful review - we are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us and will certainly pass your kind comments on to the team. Look forward to welcoming you back soon Yours Sincerely Sharon Hunink Group Marketing & Sales Manager

Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

Back home again with a small group only 6 guests Our Waitress Esther was Amazing Looked after my group with amazing passion competence and empathy!! One of my guests Birthday She Arranged the band to do an African HAPPY BIRTHDAY. What an amazing night. You...More

Thank Stephen M
Sharon H, Manager at Chief's Boma Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Thank you for the wonderful review - we are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent Boma experience and will certainly recognize Esther for the excellent service which she delivered Look forward to welcoming you back soon Yours Sincerely Sharon Hunink Group Marketing & Sales Manager

Reviewed 7 December 2017

Buffet style restaurant with mind-boggling variety, African, and more specifically South African, dishes and ambiance that will blow every food-lover over!!! From venison to steak, chops, boerewors, chicken, fish and potjies, you can even select your own raw portions and the chef will braai it...More

1  Thank Johan G
Sharon H, Public Relations Manager at Chief's Boma Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review- we are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience and will certainly pass your kind comments on to the team Looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future Yours sincerely Sharon Hunink...More

Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

The venue is nice. The buffet is huge and the only attractive food on it are the meat cuts The salad buffet is poor and low quality. The desert buffet not diversified and the ice cream was an ice cream and became a soup!More

1  Thank Albertcorcos
Sharon H, Director of Sales at Chief's Boma Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review as we appreciate all guest feedback - we are sad that you didn't love your recent Boma experience and will address your concerns noted with our Boma Chef and do hope you will note a...More

Reviewed 24 October 2017

We had a great African experience.We enjoyed a great buffet with a great variety of food.Also exotic dishes like crocodile and buck .The staff were most helpful and the band and singers were top class .The buffet cost R215 which is well worth it .Would...More

1  Thank Michael R
Sharon H, Director of Sales at Chief's Boma Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thank you for the wonderful review - we are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent Chiefs Noma experience and will certainly pass your kind comments on to the team - look forward to welcome you back soon Yours in hospitality Sharon Hunink Group Marketing &...More

Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Great buffet style restaurant with super African look inside and lovely outside area too with the mini lake and water feature. Enthusiastic and friendly staff plus some live instrumentalists to add to the ambience. Masses of meat to choose from and super sides, fish and...More

1  Thank goodguyjas
Sharon H, Guest Relations Manager at Chief's Boma Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thank you for the awesome review - we are thrilled that you enjoyed your Boma African Dining Experience with us and will certainly pass your kind comments on to the team. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon Yours Sincerely Sharon Hunink Group Marketing &...More

Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

Invite from my Lovely Wife for a Father's Day weekend,went to this restaurant for Dinner,if you can't find something to eat here,you won't find anything anywhere. Beautiful place,Lovely atmosphere,Beautiful music,Stunning food,whatever you want,whatever you eat,Divine. Thank you for really going the xtra ten miles.Kathlego you...More

Thank coen_12
Sharon H, Guest Relations Manager at Chief's Boma Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Thank you for your wonderful Review - we are thrilled that you enjoyed your African Dining Experience with us at our Chiefs Boma and will certainly recognise Katlego for the WOW service delivered. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon Yours Sincerely Sharon Hunink Marketing...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 67 hotels in Johannesburg
Indaba Hotel
659 reviews
.17 km away
Talana Riverside Boutique Hotel
1 review
.60 km away
SunSquare Montecasino
1 109 reviews
2.68 km away
The Palazzo Montecasino
1 291 reviews
2.70 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Humble Harry's
54 reviews
1.16 km away
Johnny's Place
25 reviews
.72 km away
Agni by Vikrams
22 reviews
.79 km away
Conversations
23 reviews
.80 km away
Nearby Attractions
Phirrel Art Boutique
5 reviews
3.30 km away
Wild Eye
32 reviews
3.45 km away
Montecasino
1 525 reviews
2.99 km away
Ten Pin Bowling - Montecasino
42 reviews
1.85 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
he11sgypsy
7 January 2017|
Answer
Response from Sharon H | Property representative |
Restaurant open 7 nights a weeks for dinner from 18:30 to 22:00 and also for Sunday lunch from 12:00 to 15:00 Mon-Thursday R235 pp Fri-Sunday R215 pp Kid friendly venue Children 0-5 years eat free Children 6-12 years pay... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Indaba Hotel - William Nicol Drive | Fourways, Johannesburg 2055, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Johannesburg
  • Phone Number: +27 11 840 6600
  • E-mail
Description
Chiefs Boma is an award winning African Buffet Restaurant boasting over 120 dishes from across our continent including a Durban Curry Bar and a Shisa Nyama Grill station where our chefs will prepare your selected cut of meat to your specification. Specializing in Venison and Game Meats, this restaurant is popular with local and international guests alike and the beat of the African Marimbas and giant Boma Fires adds to the ambiance of this proudly African Restaurant. Chiefs Boma is family friendly and also offers a kiddies playground - open for Dinner 7 nights a week and also open for Sunday lunch - bookings essential
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing