We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clico Restaurant

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Read more
Updated 21/01/07 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 21/01/07 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
The exciting addition to Clico was the new restaurant opened in October 2015. Off-street parking accessible from Jellicoe Avenue allows for easy access to Clico Restaurant. Clico has become renowned for being an intimate establishment, offering personalised service, and Clico Restaurant retains this theme. The space is a unique architectural design – a metal structure, triple volume ceilings and a flooding of natural light through the glass stack doors. This refined food restaurant has in a short space of time become a refreshing and welcome addition to the Johannesburg dining scene.
PRICE RANGE
US$75 - US$255
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
European, International, Contemporary
FEATURES
Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Gift Cards Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free off-street parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Street Parking, Wine and Beer, Digital Payments
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
191
52
21
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
191
52
21
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews trout three course meal lamb sea bass soup bread the security guard restaurant week fine dining experience great sunday lunch special occasion birthday dinner amazing food our waiter chef saxophone courses
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 25 April 2021 via mobile

Fun-filled lunch with fantastic wine, great food and lots of laughs. Wonderful location, great staff and fantastic service. Add in the new wines tasted... perfect lunch.

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Martin Louw, General Manager at Clico Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2021

Thank you so much James, I am so very glad you had a great time! We look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed 21 April 2021 via mobile

We had the most fabulous evening. Exceptional food and most professional service from our waiter Sibusiso. A memorable experience and highly recommended.

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Martin Louw, General Manager at Clico Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2021

Dear KatelW5760YG, Thank you very much for your review, we look forward to seeing you very soon! Kind regards

Reviewed 14 April 2021

I’ve wanted to visit Clico for a very long time! I was so impressed by the beauty of the establishment when I arrived. However....The service from the entire staff was poor. The waiter, chef and manager refused to accommodate us when we asked for small...changes on our orders. We had a three course meal but not once did the manager come to check up on us the entire night. Even a burger joint has better care for their customers.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Martin Louw, General Manager at Clico Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2021

Good morning XSidiX, Thank you for your review. I am very saddened to find out about your experience and would like to do a more thorough investigation. Would you mind to contact me at the hotel as I cannot find what name your reservation was...More

Reviewed 12 April 2021 via mobile

Food and ambiance were amazing. However, the chef and manager were unwilling to accommodate dietary requirements which is very sad for a “5 star” establishment. Way to go ruin a birthday dinner. Very slow service with only 2 other tables. Standard has dropped. Won’t be...visiting again.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Martin Louw, General Manager at Clico Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2021

Dear Fifi_Mothei, Thank you very much for you review. After digging I found that you were in fact at the restaurant as part of the restaurant week promotion. For Restaurant Week XXL this year, we have gone above and beyond in terms of menus, with...More

Reviewed 7 March 2021

Service extremely slow and unprofessional. Food medoicre and not worth the prices. Best part of the dinner was the wine :D.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?1  
Martin Louw, General Manager at Clico Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2021

Dear Mamtha, My apologies for the delay in responding to your comment. While very disappointed in your experience, we have subsequently made a few changes, changed restaurant manager and increased training. We will also be launching a new menu in the next week or so,...More

Reviewed 18 February 2021 via mobile

I also a regular at this amazing restaurant. The have changed their menu and it was absolutely stunning, in spite of the fact that they had run out of my first choice dish.

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?1  
Martin Louw, General Manager at Clico Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2021

Dear TZoroTravel1, I am so very glad you had a fantastic experience. We will be launching a new menu soon! Hopefully we see you again soon! Kind regards,

Reviewed 29 January 2021 via mobile

Very disappointed. The food portion and presentation was not up to standard. After eating a R250 meal...I still went out to buy a cheese burger... The restaurant seems not maintained up to standards Not enough parking bays. Only 3 in fact.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Martin Louw, General Manager at Clico Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2021

Dear AngeliqueFP, Thank you very much for your review, we always strive to do better, but I am not entirely sure where you ate. If we had messed up with the food I would gladly invite you back for a meal, but we have 17...More

Reviewed 3 January 2021

Amazing food. I had the opportunity to eat food that usually are not of my taste and love them: I loved the association of different flavours. The staff was also very nice and polite. Elegant and chic. Thank you for the lovely fine dining experience.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Martin Louw, General Manager at Clico Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2021

Dear clemzEye, Thank you for your wonderful review, I will be sure to pass on your compliments to Chef Neo. Kind regards, Martin Louw

Reviewed 14 December 2020

Food was amazing, we had a good evening there. Our CEO who slept there could not stop talking about hospitality of the staff.

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Martin Louw, General Manager at Clico Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2021

Dear Guest, Thank you for your high praise, I will be sure to share it with the rest of the team. Kind regards, Martin

Reviewed 13 December 2020 via mobile

Our dinner started well. The restaurant is airy and opens onto a courtyard, so we felt socially distant from the other diners. Our starters were all delicious. Then we waited and waited for our mains. When they arrived the fish and beef were dry and...overcooked. We sent back one, but the others didn’t want to complain. Apparently it was a new menu and hence the kitchen problems. We got a fairly scant apology for the food and delays. Perhaps we were unlucky? But the service wasn’t great and I am not sure I would try it again.More

Helpful?1  
Martin Louw, General Manager at Clico Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2021

Dear SusieG99, Let me try again, it seems the moderators at TA didn't like me inviting you back to the restaurant and rejected my previous response. We would like to invite you back to come and try the menu again. Kind regards, Martin

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Clico Boutique Hotel
333 reviews
.02 km away
The Capital on Bath
264 reviews
.22 km away
Southern Sun Rosebank
853 reviews
.25 km away
The Jack Rose
16 reviews
.36 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
54 On Bath
34 reviews
.41 km away
The Grillhouse Rosebank
2 032 reviews
.47 km away
Level Four
262 reviews
.40 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Escape Room South Africa
31 reviews
1.36 km away
Bidvest Wanderers Stadium
54 reviews
1.36 km away
AYothaya Thai Spa
10 reviews
1.14 km away
African Craft Market of Rosebank
448 reviews
.57 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Voyager14139827278
8 October 2020|
Answer
Response from GMClicoHotel | Property representative |
Good day, We do allow cakes to be brought in as part of a group booking with us. On the condition that at least a 2 course menu is chosen chosen with 1 course being a dessert then the surcharge is R15 per person to bring... More
0
Votes
_jkiguru2006
21 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from GMClicoHotel | Property representative |
Please feel free to email us (see details on our website) and advise if you are wanting to arrange a function or a normal / standard dinner reservation. If you indicate how many guests you are looking to book for, our... More
0
Votes
ZamaK9
21 May 2018|
Answer
Response from GMClicoHotel | Property representative |
Hi Zama, Of course you may. Please call us on 011 252 3300 with more details or you can visit our website and make an online booking for the restaurant directly. We look forward to welcoming you to Clico!
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Clico Restaurant

Yes, Clico Restaurant is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Clico Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4