We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Grillhouse Melrose Arch

Is this your business?
38 Whiteley Road | HL20 & HL21 The Piazza, Melrose Arch, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
+27 10 446 1911
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good32%
  • Average10%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (23 reviews)
“boerewors” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Grill
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
38 Whiteley Road | HL20 & HL21 The Piazza, Melrose Arch, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

I ordered a NY Strip which was not cooked to perfection, but it was good. The side order was a pap with chakalaka. It was quite different. It kind of tasted like grits, but more consistent. The chakalaka was tasty and spicy. My wife ordered...More

Thank Rogerio72
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for dinner here with Brisbane friends on their recommendation and couldn't fault the food or service. Steak was amazing. Wine was good and beers cold, all we need,

Thank TK1956
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the amazing review :)

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

There's hints of good and more bad. Ordered a beef platter medium and it came well well done. The food was dry, chips crispy on the outside and hard on the inside. Ordered a stake for my wife and the presentation of the food is...More

Thank tadiwa t
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review Tadiwa T. We are sad to read that you did not have a great experience. Your review has been forwarded to senior management.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were in Johannesburg for a weekend and decided to visit Melrose Arch on the Sunday afternoon. When we noticed the Grillhouse, we decided to visit it for a late lunch. The Grillhouse have certainly kept up their winning formula, from when we visited it...More

Thank Grant H
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your fabulous review Grant. We look forward to seeing you again soon :)

Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Went here with friends for my husbands birthday. Good service, exceptionally tasty steaks, great portion options- winner all round! Would return

Thank Tallgirl1984
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your fabulous review. Looking forward to seeing you back again.

Reviewed 12 March 2018

Being a chef and a steak lover is not always easy, to find a restaurant that can meet my expectations. The Grillhouse however is the exception, I am never disappointed in my steak. The greatest cuts and always cooked to perfection. Good service too.

Thank Patrick V
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for an amazing review Patrick. We appreciate your support :)

Reviewed 9 March 2018

Friends travelling from overseas suggested The Grillhouse for dinner on their last night. The food was good, but not memorable and the staff was efficient. What made the dinner less enjoyable is that the restaurant closes at 22:30 and we were promptly asked to pay...More

Thank lisakG3778XB
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Thank you for your review lisakG3778XB We apologise for the experience you had at closing time. Your review has been forwarded to senior management, who take all adverse experiences at the venues very seriously.

Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

Very impressed with the food and the service. Shepherd, our waiter was very attentive and knowledgable about the menu. He help guide our table to some great choices of meat. Generous portions. Highly recommended.

Thank Dr P
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you very much for your wonderful review Dr P. We love knowing you had a great experience dining with us.

Reviewed 6 March 2018

We decided spontaneously to try this Grillhouse out after having enjoyed the restaurant in Rosebank so much. All in all, the experience was decidedly underwhelming. The service was amazing (perhaps even uncomfortably so), but it was the food that was so unimpressive. We’re not entirely...More

Thank KendallPetersen
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Thank you for your review Kendall. We are sad to read that you did not have a good dining experience with us, and we would like to know more. We have sent you a direct message in this regard. Please respond with your contact details.

Reviewed 28 February 2018 via mobile

Arrived without booking. Staff efficient and friendly. Grillhouse platter was superb.....meat cooked perfectly.

Thank GaryvE
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you very much for an awesome review Gary :)

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 68 hotels in Johannesburg
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Johannesburg Melrose Arch
1 049 reviews
.14 km away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
758 reviews
.25 km away
Premiere Classe Suites
190 reviews
.69 km away
The Peech Hotel
615 reviews
1.11 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Mezepoli Meze and Wine Bar
254 reviews
.01 km away
Pigalle Melrose Arch
250 reviews
.00 km away
moyo Melrose Arch
1 287 reviews
.28 km away
JB's Corner
345 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby Attractions
Goliath Comedy Club
19 reviews
.26 km away
Johannesburg Zoo
1 031 reviews
.35 km away
Wildside Tours and Safaris - Day Tours
172 reviews
1.25 km away
Mystery Ghost Bus Tour
110 reviews
.15 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Grillhouse Melrose Arch staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$12 - US$830
Cuisine
Steakhouse, Grill
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Reservations, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 22:00
Monday
10:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 22:00
Thursday
10:00 - 22:00
Friday
10:00 - 22:00
Saturday
10:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 38 Whiteley Road | HL20 & HL21 The Piazza, Melrose Arch, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Johannesburg
  • Phone Number: +27 10 446 1911
  • E-mail
Description
The Grillhouse, one of Johannesburg's premium steakhouses, offers a world- class dining experience. Loved by local and international clients alike, it's difficult not to be impressed. Established in 1995, The Grillhouse offers excellent food, stellar service, spectacular wine and malt choices, as well as a vibrant upmarket ambiance. Private dining rooms are available. Booking recommended.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing