We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Local Grill Restaurant

7th 3rd Avenue, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
+27 11 880 1946
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good26%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“beef” (42 reviews)
“local salad” (4 reviews)
“filet” (37 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Barbecue, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
7th 3rd Avenue, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 60 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

The local grill is a gem located on 7th Street, Parktown North it is a local favorite. The waiting staff are all Male (not sure why that is) our specific waiter needed just a little bit of polishing but was ok. Because we didn't have...More

Thank Ayanda S
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

I had sirloin on the bone here last night with beer battered onion ring as a side. My wife had the wasabi salmon. My wife's salmon was good, but my sirloin was disappointing, a large but thin piece of steak. I expected a thicker, smaller...More

1  Thank Hooggenoeg
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Firstly we sat by the door and bar. Noisy and uncomfortable. We had to look for our waiter a few times and in some cases even got up to look for service. The tour of the kitchen was actually not on . It was not...More

Thank Waynevv
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2016

Hi Wayne Thank you for your review. After 9 years of offering our customers a kitchen tour and taking huge pride in what we are passionate about, your comments although your opinion, seem rather strange and inaccurate. Service we take full responsibility for and I...More

Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

I had many of the best grass fed steaks ever here. However on Friday the grass fed T-bone steaks were not matured enough and the waiter recommended grain fed. I did not enjoy it, it did not meet my expectation, not tasty or juicy but...More

Thank johanita1969
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2016

Thank you for your comments, keep it grass, keep it real! Your continued support is truly appreciated. Regards Steve PS working on the milk tart!!

Reviewed 3 November 2016

The first time I visited this steakhouse a few years ago it was awesome, but this time it was really dissappointing. Some if us had to return our food as it was totally under-grilled (medium well we received rare and medium we also received rare...More

Thank LeChefCharles
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2016

Hi Charles Thank you for your comments. We have spoken and addressing your issues. Regards Steve

Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

The steaks are just excellent. The service very good. They offer a tour of their meat locker, and explain all the cuts, dry versus wet aging, grass versus grain fed. Super cool. Highly recommended.

1  Thank Eileen M
Reviewed 1 November 2016

My friend and I have been to some good grills in Johannesburg, but today choice of The Local Grill was far from disappointing! Thank you Matthew for a very informative kitchen tour and thank you Steve for the warm welcome. The quality of the food...More

1  Thank TheGreyBear
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We hosted twenty family members, ranging in age from seventy-five down to three years of age at this prominent northern suburb steak-house. Despite this daunting number, we were pleasantly surprised that everyone received the order placed and that the kids were specially catered for in...More

1  Thank eilonglen
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

I was take. Here by my uncle when visiting, on his recommendation and it was great! The service was quick and very friendly. You can pick the size of your steak and whether it is grass fed or corn fed. The food was delicious and...More

Thank Bryony S
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

The Local Grill is not just a restaurant. It's a place where the plate put before you is envisioned before it even reaches the hands of the chef. On my last our group was offered a kitchen tour which allowed us to see the different...More

Thank Thobeka_Jozi
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Marble Restaurant
313 reviews
.74 km away
The Foundry
256 reviews
.04 km away
La Boqueria
40 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
African Craft Market of Rosebank
300 reviews
1.34 km away
The Mall of Rosebank
168 reviews
1.30 km away
Rosebank Roof Market
108 reviews
1.31 km away
Everard Read Gallery
43 reviews
.82 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Local Grill staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$15 - US$20
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Monday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 10:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 10:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7th 3rd Avenue, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Johannesburg
  • Phone Number: +27 11 880 1946
  • E-mail
Description
Best Steakhouse in South Africa awarded by The Wolftrap steakhouse championships. Offering kitchen tours and beef courses. Beef all aged on the premises and cut to order.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing