We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Local Grill Restaurant

7th 3rd Avenue, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
+27 11 880 1946
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good27%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“beef” (39 reviews)
“local salad” (4 reviews)
“filet” (34 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Barbecue
PRICE
RR - RRR
DETAILS
7th 3rd Avenue, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 40 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

If you love beef, there is no better place for you to go in Johannesburg. The selection of meats and cuts, the preparation and the service are simply second to none. First class from beginning to end! The toughest moment is when you finish your...More

1  Thank Michael B
Reviewed 25 November 2016

We had a wonderful experience at this restaurant. We enjoyed the tour of the meat locker, explanation of grain versus grass fed animals, and tasting. The food and service were excellent. The lamb ribs were awesome.

Thank QueenMemphis
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

I come here often for their ostrich medallions which are the best I've ever tasted and I love the generous portion of their cranberry sauce. You can choose between grain fed or grass fed beef and you're invited into the kitchen for a tutorial on...More

1  Thank Jill M
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

The local grill is a gem located on 7th Street, Parktown North it is a local favorite. The waiting staff are all Male (not sure why that is) our specific waiter needed just a little bit of polishing but was ok. Because we didn't have...More

Thank Ayanda S
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

I had sirloin on the bone here last night with beer battered onion ring as a side. My wife had the wasabi salmon. My wife's salmon was good, but my sirloin was disappointing, a large but thin piece of steak. I expected a thicker, smaller...More

1  Thank Hooggenoeg
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Firstly we sat by the door and bar. Noisy and uncomfortable. We had to look for our waiter a few times and in some cases even got up to look for service. The tour of the kitchen was actually not on . It was not...More

Thank Waynevv
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this review

Hi Wayne Thank you for your review. After 9 years of offering our customers a kitchen tour and taking huge pride in what we are passionate about, your comments although your opinion, seem rather strange and inaccurate. Service we take full responsibility for and I...More

Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

I had many of the best grass fed steaks ever here. However on Friday the grass fed T-bone steaks were not matured enough and the waiter recommended grain fed. I did not enjoy it, it did not meet my expectation, not tasty or juicy but...More

Thank johanita1969
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, keep it grass, keep it real! Your continued support is truly appreciated. Regards Steve PS working on the milk tart!!

Reviewed 3 November 2016

The first time I visited this steakhouse a few years ago it was awesome, but this time it was really dissappointing. Some if us had to return our food as it was totally under-grilled (medium well we received rare and medium we also received rare...More

Thank LeChefCharles
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this review

Hi Charles Thank you for your comments. We have spoken and addressing your issues. Regards Steve

Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

The steaks are just excellent. The service very good. They offer a tour of their meat locker, and explain all the cuts, dry versus wet aging, grass versus grain fed. Super cool. Highly recommended.

1  Thank Eileen M
Reviewed 1 November 2016

My friend and I have been to some good grills in Johannesburg, but today choice of The Local Grill was far from disappointing! Thank you Matthew for a very informative kitchen tour and thank you Steve for the warm welcome. The quality of the food...More

1  Thank TheGreyBear
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Marble Restaurant
239 reviews
.74 km away
The Foundry
247 reviews
.04 km away
La Cucina di Ciro
169 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
African Craft Market of Rosebank
261 reviews
1.35 km away
The Mall of Rosebank
152 reviews
1.30 km away
Rosebank Roof Market
99 reviews
1.27 km away
Everard Read Gallery
41 reviews
.82 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Local Grill staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$15 - US$20
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Monday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 10:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 10:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7th 3rd Avenue, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Johannesburg
  • Phone Number: +27 11 880 1946
  • E-mail
Description
Best Steakhouse in South Africa awarded by The Wolftrap steakhouse championships. Offering kitchen tours and beef courses. Beef all aged on the premises and cut to order.