We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Local Grill Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
RR - RRR
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
7th 3rd Avenue, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
+27 11 880 1946
Website
Today
18:00 - 10:00
12:00 - 14:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon 18:00 - 10:00
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 14:30
Tue - Fri 18:00 - 22:00
Sat 18:00 - 10:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

378 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 352: English reviews
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

The local grill is a gem located on 7th Street, Parktown North it is a local favorite. The waiting staff are all Male (not sure why that is) our specific waiter needed just a little bit of polishing but was ok. Because we didn't have a reservation we had to wait a while at the bar but that was not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ayanda S
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
742 reviews
436 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

I had sirloin on the bone here last night with beer battered onion ring as a side. My wife had the wasabi salmon. My wife's salmon was good, but my sirloin was disappointing, a large but thin piece of steak. I expected a thicker, smaller cut. It was also quite bland. The service was excellent - but they should really... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hooggenoeg
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2016

Firstly we sat by the door and bar. Noisy and uncomfortable. We had to look for our waiter a few times and in some cases even got up to look for service. The tour of the kitchen was actually not on . It was not clean, and everyone breathing on you meat in the deep freeze uncouth. Safety issue also... More 

Helpful?
Thank Waynevv
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this review

Hi Wayne Thank you for your review. After 9 years of offering our customers a kitchen tour and taking huge pride in what we are passionate about, your comments although your opinion, seem rather strange and inaccurate. Service we take full responsibility for and I will address this issue. We do include a side dish with every main order however... More 

Johannesburg
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

I had many of the best grass fed steaks ever here. However on Friday the grass fed T-bone steaks were not matured enough and the waiter recommended grain fed. I did not enjoy it, it did not meet my expectation, not tasty or juicy but ok. The sides of mash and local salad was great. Don't bother with the milk... More 

Helpful?
Thank johanita1969
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, keep it grass, keep it real! Your continued support is truly appreciated. Regards Steve PS working on the milk tart!! More 

Roodepoort, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2016

The first time I visited this steakhouse a few years ago it was awesome, but this time it was really dissappointing. Some if us had to return our food as it was totally under-grilled (medium well we received rare and medium we also received rare and the prego chicken was bone dry). Also we recieved our "sides" 5 minutes before... More 

Helpful?
Thank LeChefCharles
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this review

Hi Charles Thank you for your comments. We have spoken and addressing your issues. Regards Steve More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

The steaks are just excellent. The service very good. They offer a tour of their meat locker, and explain all the cuts, dry versus wet aging, grass versus grain fed. Super cool. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen M
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016

My friend and I have been to some good grills in Johannesburg, but today choice of The Local Grill was far from disappointing! Thank you Matthew for a very informative kitchen tour and thank you Steve for the warm welcome. The quality of the food is excellent, cooked to perfection, well presented and delicious! I can highly recommend the rump... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TheGreyBear
Ashkelon, Israel
Level Contributor
192 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2016

We hosted twenty family members, ranging in age from seventy-five down to three years of age at this prominent northern suburb steak-house. Despite this daunting number, we were pleasantly surprised that everyone received the order placed and that the kids were specially catered for in advance of the adult diners. While ambience is not a strong point, one patronizes Local... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank eilonglen
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

I was take. Here by my uncle when visiting, on his recommendation and it was great! The service was quick and very friendly. You can pick the size of your steak and whether it is grass fed or corn fed. The food was delicious and I also had a mojito which was very good indeed! I wish I had time... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bryony S
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

The Local Grill is not just a restaurant. It's a place where the plate put before you is envisioned before it even reaches the hands of the chef. On my last our group was offered a kitchen tour which allowed us to see the different cuts of meat, how they are prepared and matured and how different cuts should be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thobeka_Jozi

Travellers who viewed The Local Grill also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Local Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4,5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$15 - US$20
Cuisine
Steakhouse, Barbecue
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Monday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 10:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 10:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7th 3rd Avenue, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Johannesburg
  • Phone Number: +27 11 880 1946
Description
Best Steakhouse in South Africa awarded by The Wolftrap steakhouse championships. Offering kitchen tours and beef courses. Beef all aged on the premises and cut to order.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Local Grill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?