We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Local Grill Restaurant

7th 3rd Avenue, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
+27 11 880 1946
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good26%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“beef” (42 reviews)
“local salad” (4 reviews)
“filet” (37 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Barbecue, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
7th 3rd Avenue, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One of the top steak restaurants in Joburg but really overrated. 300 gram Sirloin was thin and bland. Not worth the high price. Other guests enjoyed their meals. Wont be back.More

Thank Howiesp
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Howie Thank you for your review, however I am a little confused with your comments. We are an owner operated business with our customers experience our first concern. We offer a kitchen tour to every guest to ensure the aging process is understood and...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A group of us had dinner in the private room at The Local Grill. The kitchen tour was a great way to start our evening and extremely informative. The service we received from all staff was top notch and the food was fantastic. I would...More

Thank ShanDuff2
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went to the local grill, after my wife and I both forgot our anniversary. Called at 6:15, got a reservation at 6:45. Arrived with a bottle of Moet chilling at the table, a kitchen tour that blew our mjnds, followed by arguably the best steak...More

Thank greg d
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful review.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This is my favorite place for steaks in Johannesburg. You can choose between two kinds of beef (grain fed and grass fed) and between dry and wet aged. The host gave us a tour of the kitchen were I learned lots of interesting things about...More

Thank Mex2013
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and feedback, we really enjoyed having you.

Reviewed 16 August 2017

wonderful staff...great visit to the kitchen with some meat tasting and an amazing steak..it was well worth the visit and the money..

Thank DutchieZuidHolland
Reviewed 6 August 2017

This is an excellent steak venue with a good vibe and knowledgeable staff. We were a group of six and we were offered a tour of the kitchen which took a while to eventuate but was definitely worth doing. I learnt a lot about the...More

Thank Aussies_Abroad_Again
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Read all the hype about the top 10 restaurants in the country,decided to give them a shot,they are good but definitely not Very good or excellent,I've definitely been to places way better than this restaurant. Meat......,OK had Ribeye,I do it better myself,wife had Fillet,OK. Not...More

Thank coen_12
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

This was the 4th visit and always a pleasure. Two things that makes this restaurant different is the choice between Wet Aged and Dry Aged meat as well as Aged meat versus fresh meat. You can even choose the age from 4 weeks and older,...More

Thank anton l
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Hi Anton THANK YOU for your continued support and positive review. It is really appreciated. Regards Steve

Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

So rare to find a place with so much passion and knowledge about their meat. I shared a mixed platter of grass fed and grain fed cuts and thoroughly enjoyed it. The experience only got better with the kitchen and meat locker tour. You are...More

Thank John M
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Hi John Thanks for the fantastic review. Regards Steve

Reviewed 11 July 2017

Excellent food. tender steak. must go on the kitchen tour. very informative. their knowledge on serving the best Meat dishes is impressive.

Thank Donovan M
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

THANK YOU, reviews like this are what inspire us!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Marble Restaurant
313 reviews
.74 km away
The Foundry
256 reviews
.04 km away
La Boqueria
40 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
African Craft Market of Rosebank
300 reviews
1.34 km away
The Mall of Rosebank
168 reviews
1.30 km away
Rosebank Roof Market
108 reviews
1.31 km away
Everard Read Gallery
43 reviews
.82 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Local Grill staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$15 - US$20
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Monday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 10:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 10:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7th 3rd Avenue, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Johannesburg
  • Phone Number: +27 11 880 1946
  • E-mail
Description
Best Steakhouse in South Africa awarded by The Wolftrap steakhouse championships. Offering kitchen tours and beef courses. Beef all aged on the premises and cut to order.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing