We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
R 4 - R 10
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Grill
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
28
46
21
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
28
46
21
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger t bone pensioners menu just what the doctor ordered friendly service plett
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely Spur! Great play area for the kids that is supervised, lady was amazing! Face painting and lots of fun! Hubby ordered a Blue Steak and it was perfectly done! Overall great place for rainy days! :)More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Spur Social, Agency / Consultant at Yellow Wood Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Marjorie, Thank you for your wonderful review of Spur Plettenburg Bay! 🌟 We are thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed the play area and activities for the kids. It's great to know that your hubby's Blue Steak was Spurfectly done, making...More

Reviewed 11 August 2023

Filled steak looked like a minute steak that was hacked with an axe. Waiter disappeared after the meal was served, never to be seen again.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Spur Social, Agency / Consultant at Yellow Wood Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2023

Dear Global62924381734, We are very sorry to read that your experience was not the expected standard. We would truly appreciate the opportunity to discuss your experience in more detail. Kindly provide us with your contact details and feedback by following this link https://spur280.goreview.co.za/goreview-crm?revid=ZuUz37gg We look...More

Reviewed 10 July 2023

First time i went to spur in plette n receive beautiful service all thnx to Yoliswa,,you were amazing,,i was very happy with the way you treat people,,,keep it upMore

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Spur Social, Agency / Consultant at Yellow Wood Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2023

Hello Companion24103614368, Thank you for your great review of Yellow Wood Spur. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your very first visit to our restaurant as well as the lovely service you received from Yoliswa. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Spur...More

Reviewed 20 February 2023

From a menu perspective, Spur is Spur. One goes there for specific reasons and you always know what you'll get. So the food on my visit was fine. And the server who helped me was kind. The woman at the door/ cash register/ entrance, however,...was utterly and completely miserable, stuck-up, unfriendly and borderline rude. She definitely didn't want to be at work on that day (it was about 30 minutes before closing on Tuesday 7th Feb.) and whether intentional or not, everybody was going to know it. I will not EVER return to this Spur again....which is unfortunate because it has a great location.More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Agency / Consultant at Yellow Wood Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2023

Hi there Gastronomeadventurer, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your food and service from your waitron, however, we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your reception. We would appreciate the opportunity to rectify this....More

Reviewed 14 February 2023 via mobile

The service was very poor. I had a burger and it was absolutely horrible both the burger bun and Pattie was as dry as the Sahara desert and tasted old not to mention it looked like my food was just thrown on the plate. Would...not recommend.More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Agency / Consultant at Yellow Wood Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2023

Hi there Jayden D, Thank you for your review of Yello Wood Spur. We are sorry to see your Spur experience wasn't a good one. Please may we have the opportunity to discuss this further? Simply follow this link https://spur280.goreview.co.za/goreview-crm?revid=i9bahg and provide us with your...More

Reviewed 10 February 2023

Spur offer a pensioners menu for Mondays to Thursdays in Plet. It is awesome 3 course meal for only R109 and the quality is perfect. We enjoyed this a couple of time while camping at the Forever Resort

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Agency / Consultant at Yellow Wood Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2023

Hi Florismostert, This is a #Sizzling review. Thank you so much! We're pleased that you felt our offering was of good value! We look forward to welcoming you back! Kind regards, Spur Team

Reviewed 10 November 2022

After enjoying so much rich and varied food during our holiday I hankered after a simple T-Bone Steak nd this is just what the Doctor ordered. Great service, great value and great flavour. Well done all

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Agency / Consultant at Yellow Wood Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2022

Hello Ian P, Thank you for the awesome 5 ⭐ review! We are delighted that you enjoyed the service and delicious steak at our Yellow Wood Spur. We hope to see you again, soon. Kind regards, Spur Steak Ranches

Reviewed 20 September 2022

Perfect Rump steak and chicken Schnitzel. Very good value for money. Friendly and efficient staff. Really enjoyed it

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Agency / Consultant at Yellow Wood Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2022

Hello Sue53_11, Thanks for your Spurrrific review! We're absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your rump steak and chicken schnitzel, as well as our friendly and efficient staff. We look forward to welcoming you again, soon. Kind regards, Spur Team

Reviewed 23 May 2022

You can not visit this Spur. Enjoying your food with a sea view. The service was on standard and the food was well prepared. Friendly service in May 2022 during a weekday. Ample parking across the road.

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Agency / Consultant at Yellow Wood Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2022

Hi Kobusp2015, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We're happy to hear you enjoyed the food and friendly service from the team at Yellow Wood Spur. We hope you pop in again, soon. Kind regards, Spur Team

Reviewed 30 December 2021 via mobile

Good food, waiter too busy and no management in sight. Not one check in, offer for more drinks. I guess usual standard for this store which was at 40% capacity at 19:00 on 30 Dec 2021More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Agency / Consultant at Yellow Wood Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2022

Hi Terencetobin, Thank you so much for your review. We're happy to hear you were satisfied with your Spur meal! We are, however, sorry to read that our service disappointed you. Please feel free to follow this link, https://spur280.goreview.co.za/goreview-crm?revid=Y5YQmn, should you wish to chat with...More

Reviewed 22 October 2021

Excellent service when we visited 17h00 to make use of the senior special. Good value for money, The burgers were also well prepared. The waiter was friendly and attentive to our needs without rushing us. Plett Spur is a good choice for those days when...you just want a decent plate of food and enough of it!More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Agency / Consultant at Yellow Wood Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2021

Hi 0Cke, Thank you for taking the time to review Yellow Wood Spur family restaurant. Great prices, good food and wonderful service are what we strive for - glad you experienced just that. We hope there'll be many more positive experiences ahead. Kind regards, Spur...More

Reviewed 23 May 2021 via mobile

Dissapointed with poor service at Spur yesterday. 3 waiters on duty with only 5 tables and still tables were left uncleaned, where people got up after they ate. Our 1 plate of nachos and 2 plates of fish fingers and chips took forever to be...made. Seemed like there was now pride in the workplace.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Agency / Consultant at Yellow Wood Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2021

Hi R0Xy2014, We're extremely sorry to read your review about the lack of cleanliness and poor service at Yellow Wood Spur. We take great pride in the cleanliness and hygiene in our restaurants, and would really appreciate an opportunity to get in touch with you...More

Reviewed 12 September 2020 via mobile

Obviously understaffed, as well as under trained, this restaurant left me standing at the door for over two minutes waiting to be noticed/screened/sanitised...or anything. I attracted the attention of a waitress to ask if we could sit anywhere and she told me the system of...table marking for use during COVID. I found an appropriate one, which was incredibly sticky and sat at it waiting for service for ten lengthy minutes before giving up and leaving. With service being such an insurmountable challenge with only half the restaurant's seating in use, one wonders how they might cope normally.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Public Relations Manager at Yellow Wood Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2020

Hi Andrew B We are sorry to see your Spur experience wasn't a good one. We're very sorry to read that the service from your waitron was not as expected! We would really like the opportunity to discuss this further and hopefully rectify the issues....More

Reviewed 5 March 2020

Our first visit to Spur despite holidaying in Plett for the last 5 years. Wish we’d visited sooner as the food was excellent and great value for money. You can also take your own wine with no corkage fee, a bonus! Will definitely visit again...next year when we return to Plett. Customer service was great too.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Agency / Consultant at Yellow Wood Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2020

Hello Plettenberg20, Thank you so much for your review. We're thrilled to read that you enjoyed our legendary Spur meals and service! We hope to see you again soon for another Spurrrific experience. Kind regards, Spur Team

Reviewed 20 February 2020 via mobile

We came for supper after a long drive from Cape Town and were disgusted by the appalling service. Our waiter seemed as though he was intoxicated or high, he would take our orders and disappear before we could ask for more. It was as though...he was in a rush. He would constantly be standing around on his phone. At one stage all the waiters were standing around outside on their phones chatting as though they were the customers. When our food arrived, the burgers were way over cooked, the manager wasn't very helpful nor was she very attentive. She doesn't know how to manage her staff yet alone a resturant. Unfortunately it was a disgrace towards the standard that Spur usually upholds.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Agency / Consultant at Yellow Wood Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2020

Hi Lexijess Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. Our customers are very important to us. If you wouldn't mind forwarding this review on, together with your contact details to customer-care@spur.co.za. We'd really like the opportunity to discuss this further with...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Beacon Island Resort
1 536 reviews
.29 km away
The Old Rectory
216 reviews
.42 km away
Plett Quarter Hotel
16 reviews
.57 km away
The Plettenberg
899 reviews
.68 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Nineteen 89 Plett
417 reviews
.58 km away
The Fat Fish
2 817 reviews
.01 km away
Sol Kitchen
474 reviews
.70 km away
The Table Restaurant and Bar
889 reviews
.58 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Robberg Nature Reserve
2 630 reviews
.49 km away
Plettenberg Beach
267 reviews
.47 km away
St Peters Anglican Church
49 reviews
.54 km away
Old Timber Shed
22 reviews
.40 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Yellow Wood Spur Steak Ranch staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

Yellow Wood Spur Steak Ranch, Plettenberg Bay - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Yellow Wood Spur Steak Ranch

Yes, Yellow Wood Spur Steak Ranch offers takeaway services.

Yellow Wood Spur Steak Ranch is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4