The Plettenberg

The Plettenberg

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+27 44 533 2030+ Add website+ Add hoursImprove this listing
Ratings and reviews
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles

RATINGS
Food
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
PRICE RANGE
R 362.00 – R 579.00
CUISINES
Seafood
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
meals, features
Does this restaurant offer highchairs for toddlers?
About
SeaFood at The Plettenberg combines an array of elements to create an unsurpassed dining experience. The sand, beach and sea have been brought into the restaurant in the colours, mood and design. Unrivalled views of the breath-taking Formosa Bay are complimented by the decor, and together they create the perfect platform for the SeaFood cuisine. Here the chefs create modern South African fare that is seasonally influenced and places great emphasis on fresh produce from local green-friendly suppliers and this gives The Plettenberg the unique ability to showcase a true taste of the bay.
PRICE RANGE
R 362.00 – R 579.00
CUISINES
Seafood
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Gift Cards Available
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles287 reviews
Excellent
181
Very good
57
Average
30
Poor
11
Terrible
8
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

M_Wi💫
Germany76 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2024 friends
Excellent service, delicious food and ample wine menu. We had a wonderful evening in a beautiful setting. Thank you so much for your hospitality 💙🙏🏻
Written 9 March 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Dean T
7 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2024 couples
With so many trips to Plett, we always visit the Plettenberg Hotel. The view is stunning. We recently had a dinner reservation and we were not disappointed. The Norwegian Salmon was cooked to perfection,the Kingclip was also amazing.. Great service and priced very reasonable. This meal in Canada would have cost $200.00 can., compared to 1000 Rand (86.00 Can). Love it, Love S.A.
Written 9 February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

jodileer
Sandton9 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2023 family
We had a great meal, friendly and efficient service and really good food. I’d say only thing that I didn’t enjoy was the pressure put on us to buy from traders at the entrance to the restaurant. Felt like we couldn’t say no.
Written 30 December 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Raymond v
Plettenberg Bay6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2023 couples
If you want a spectacular sea and bay view, super friendly service, plus lovely food, just get there. It's an upmarket crowd and also not the usual Plett oily calamari & chips fare. I always leave happy - maybe because they make a great margarita too!
Written 2 December 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Rachael
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2023 couples
Such a beautiful setting .Couple of excellent cocktails to start. The lunch was lovely. Food was delicious and the staff (Princess, Wendy, Ian and Melissa ) were all so helpful and efficient. Highly recommend
Written 28 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Frances G
Shepperton26 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2023 none
Fabulous evening with friends on holiday from the UK too. Cocktails- perfect; wine-perfect; meals-amazing; ambience -just right. During the day for lunch, the views are stunning overlooking the sea and expanse of beach.
Written 9 March 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Rachelle D
157 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2023 none
We were looking forward to our first visit to this restaurant. Warm greeting and friendly and attentive staff. That is where it ended. I ordered lamb which was unappetizing and had an odd taste. Partner ordered chicken which was dry and tasteless. The response from the chef after he tasted it was that there’s nothing wrong with it and offered us a small plate of petit fours to replace our meal. Definitely the worst meal we had on this holiday.
Written 24 February 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MJ Birch
Dear ragatan, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointing experience you had and please rest assured that this is not at all to our usual standards. We highly value all our guests and constantly strive to exceed their expectations, hence our disappointment and upset at reading your review and realizing that we failed to meet your expectations. Please may I ask that you contact me directly at the hotel so that I may have the opportunity to rectify your experience with us? I have also sent you a direct message on TripAdvisor with my contact details. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards, Wiida
Written 25 February 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Joey Jakarta
Hilversum9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2023 couples
Unique view, solid menu, good wi es. Very good service, we arrived early and were able to get a table at the edge of the terrace overrlooking the spectacular bay. Food was good, not overly creative but good.
Written 18 February 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MJ Birch
Dear Joeyakarta, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon for another enjoyable experience. Kind regards, Melissa, Wiida & The Team
Written 25 February 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Bad Billy
Plettenberg Bay26 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2022 none
We attempted to book high tea but were informed that bookings had to be made at least a day in advance in order for kitchens to be able to prepare. Odd, seeing that they advertise a special on high teas every week. Nevertheless, we decided to go for their Sunday lunch and booked (in advance). In the first instance, I'd have considered a "Sunday Lunch" to have covered two courses, with a choice of starter or dessert or an option for all three. Nope. Lunch was just that - a main course and nothing else. Secondly, there was no choice in proteins - beef or beef - and in my opinion overcooked, as was the Yorkshire pudding. However, the staff were very attentive and provided excellent service. My wife had the half baby chicken which looked and tasted delicious - again sparse with a smattering of sweet potato baby food. Sorry. The wine choices were comprehensive but again, our thoughts were that they were very expensive - comparative to other dining experiences in Plett. Coffee's in the lounge afterwards were great, the expanse of the river and bay laid out in a beautiful panorama. For a Sunday lunch we found it extremely odd that the restaurant was literally empty, but with high prices for what you received may be a big hint to the management.
Written 4 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

LondonPiggy
63 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2022 none
We were staying at the hotel and had a couple of meals here including the yummy seafood platter. All very tasty and service with a smile
Written 30 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MJBirch
Dear LondonPiggy, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It is lovely to see you enjoyed the food and service and we hope that you will visit us again soon. Kind regards, MJ, Wiida & The Team
Written 2 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

StephenXXXXX
Port Elizabeth876 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2022 none
We have eaten at Seafood previously but this visit we just sat on their outside area and enjoyed cocktails. The deck is beautiful and you overlook their affinity pool, just feels so relaxing. Service is excellent and staff are well trained. Do come and enjoy a meal and drinks at this beautiful Hotel.
Written 29 March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MJBirch
Dear StephenXXXXX, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to our restaurant. It is lovely to see how much you enjoyed the experience and we look forward to having you join on many more occasions. Kind regards, MJ, Wiida & The Team
Written 3 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ditchnapper
Luang Prabang469 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2022 none
Came at sunset for dinner with a view over the ocean. Food was excellent, service good if not a little stuffy. Maybe a little pricey by SA standards but not compared internationally. First visit after 17 years away.
Written 12 March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MJBirch
Dear ditchnapper, Thank you for the lovely review and for returning to visit us again after 17 years away. We look forward to having you join us for many more visits. Kind regards, MJ, Wiida & The Team
Written 3 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

jane
London23 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2022 couples
Returning this year after the lockdown past years, we were not disappointed the food was even better and service outstanding, this is Plettenberg bay a town, not a big city please don’t moan about service.
Written 20 February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MJBirch
Dear Curious24084536356, Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We hope that you will be coming by often to visit our restaurant and we look forward to having you back. Kind regards, MJ, Wiida & The Team
Written 2 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

FamilyRossouw
London45 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2021 none
The kitchen was very noisy, with dishes dropped and staff chatting away, not quite what you expect for the 5* star hotel, most restaurants in town was fully booked, we were only 2 tables in this restaurant, but the food was very good, a shame not more people know about the option to dine here
Written 19 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MJBirch
Dear FamilyRossouw, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're very glad to see how much you enjoyed the food with us. We do apologise for the noise disturbance during your visit and please rest assured that we've addressed this with the relevant team. Please do come and visit us again and we'll ensure you have a wonderful experience with us. Kind regards, MJ, Wiida & The Team
Written 2 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

claire w
Johannesburg112 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2021 family
The setting is beautiful and on a sunny day you wont be disappointed. The decor is fresh and clean and the food is lovely. Would highly recommend
Written 27 December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MJBirch
Dear 71clairew, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit. Kind regards, MJ, Wiida & The Team
Written 2 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-15 of 238
Best fine dining restaurants
See all
Zinzi Restaurant
RRRR · African, Fusion
Tsala Treetop Lodge
RRRR · International, Fusion
Hunter's Country House
RRRR · European, Contemporary
The Old Rectory Restaurant
RRRR · European, Contemporary
Do Coraçăo
RRRR · European, Portuguese
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

The Plettenberg, Plettenberg Bay - Restaurant Reviews, Phone Number & Photos - Tripadvisor

All Plettenberg Bay HotelsPlettenberg Bay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Things to Do
All Plettenberg Bay RestaurantsRestaurants near The Plettenberg
FlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire