We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

SeaFood at The Plettenberg

40 Church Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
+27 44 533 2030
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good21%
  • Average9%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (36 reviews)
“mushy peas” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RRRR
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
40 Church Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2018

We stopped here for lunch during our drive from St Francis to the Wildnerness - just a wonderful experience. The kids enjoyed it as much as the parents, which is always a win for families! The food was excellent and the service was excellent. We...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank gumnut_baby
MJBirch, General Manager at SeaFood at The Plettenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear gumnut_baby, Thank you for the lovely review written! We're so happy that you had such a wonderful visit with us and we would love to welcome you back again in future. Kind regards, MJ, Wiida and The Team

Reviewed 5 October 2018

To stay at the Plettenberg hotel is the ultimate spoil in our opinion and with exquisite food at SeaFood the cherry on top. We celebrated our anniversary with a four night stay at the Plettenberg from Saturday, 22 September to Wednesday, 26 September 2018. In...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank zerwickrenatevictor
MJBirch, General Manager at SeaFood at The Plettenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear zerwickrenatevictor, Thank you for taking the time write such a lovely review about your dining experience with us. It was a pleasure sharing your feedback with our chefs and restaurant staff who were incredibly proud to hear how much you enjoyed their offerings. We...More

Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Incredible setting, delicious food and a wonderful experience. I am unable to eat gluten, dairy, corn or soy. Antelize and staff went out of their way to accommodate me with an attitude of everything being no problem. Thank you for a wonderful evening and meal!...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank MarkU639
MJBirch, General Manager at SeaFood at The Plettenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear MarkU639, Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We're so happy to see that enjoyed your experience with us so much and I'll make sure your feedback is conveyed to the restaurant staff as well. Please do join us again in future and...More

Reviewed 2 October 2018

If its good food, stunning views and attentive staff you are after, this is the restaurant to go to.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Beth R
MJBirch, General Manager at SeaFood at The Plettenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Beth R, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We're very happy to see how much you enjoyed your meal with us and would love to welcome you back again. Kind regards, MJ, Wiida and The Team

Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Had a splendid Sunday lunch in their very special setting. Privileged to have such an establishment in Plettenberg Bay for those special occasions.More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank WLEMR
MJBirch, General Manager at SeaFood at The Plettenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear WLEMR, Thank you for the wonderful review. I am so very pleased to read that you enjoy your Sunday with us. I really appreciate the comment you made as the whole team really works extremely hard to deliver on the highest possible standards and...More

Reviewed 26 August 2018

Whenever we are in Plett we like to go to the Plettenberg Hotel for their great cocktails and to admire the view as we drink them. On this occasion, we were enticed by their special deal: fish & chips plus glas of wine for two,...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank David M
MJBirch, General Manager at SeaFood at The Plettenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear David M, Thank you for the time you too to write your review. We are truly fortunate to have this location as our views are spectacular and with-out doubt the best place in Plett for sipping cocktails... I am very sorry to read that...More

Reviewed 10 July 2018

we had a very quick meal after a long day out and about ... the hotel and the restaurant is very well furnished, professionally staffed. The food quality was really good . Off season the restaurant may be quiet for some people - but overall...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank DORDubai
MJBirch, General Manager at SeaFood at The Plettenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Dear DORPDubai, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit to SeaFood at The Plettenberg. We're very happy to see how much you enjoyed your meal with us and we hope to see you back with us again in future. Kind...More

Reviewed 18 June 2018

Very nice fish and vegetable with, literally, the most heavenly view of the waves beneath you. Beautiful sunset dinners down below.More

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank YajnaGold
MJBirch, General Manager at SeaFood at The Plettenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Dear Yajna Gold, Thank you for the lovely review written. We're very happy to have shared our amazing view with you! We'll make sure to convey your compliments to the chef and his team. Please join us again soon for more beautiful sunset experiences. Kind...More

Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

Seafood at The Plettenberg. Mussels tasty, nothing wow. Had prawns and line fish. Both mains were fried to death and overcooked. Prawns were floury and very small and Cape Salmon fried to tasteless. An expensive and disappointing night, I have no idea why the reviews...More

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank Julie W
MJBirch, General Manager at SeaFood at The Plettenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear Julie W, Thank you for the review. As hard it was for me to read this it is important to know when we do not meet the standards we set for ourselves. I am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations and...More

Reviewed 1 May 2018

Visited The Plettenberg and had two meals here which were excellent. Attentive and friendly staffingMore

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Annie H
MJBirch, General Manager at SeaFood at The Plettenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2018

Dear Annie H, Thank you for the lovely review! It is wonderful to see how much you enjoyed both your visits to SeaFood at The Plettenberg. Please do visit us again soon so that we may continue providing you with our excellent food and service....More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 14 hotels in Plettenberg Bay
The Plettenberg Hotel
663 reviews
.02 km away
The Old Rectory
50 reviews
.28 km away
Bayview Hotel
163 reviews
.49 km away
Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous
404 reviews
.54 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Blue Monkey Cafe
31 reviews
.47 km away
Clare's Cakes & Deli
198 reviews
.52 km away
Chez Laurent
127 reviews
.52 km away
Nearby Attractions
Robberg Nature Reserve
2 107 reviews
.55 km away
Secrets of Knysna Forest
9 reviews
.52 km away
Plettenberg Beach
207 reviews
.58 km away
Garden Route Wolf Sanctuary
183 reviews
.50 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from SeaFood at The Plettenberg staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20 - US$32
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Brunch
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic, View
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 40 Church Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa (Formerly Sand)
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Plettenberg Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 44 533 2030
  • E-mail
Description
SeaFood at The Plettenberg combines an array of elements to create an unsurpassed dining experience. The sand, beach and sea have been brought into the restaurant in the colours, mood and design. Unrivalled views of the breath-taking Formosa Bay are complimented by the decor, and together they create the perfect platform for the SeaFood cuisine. Here the chefs create modern South African fare that is seasonally influenced. The menu - designed by The Collection's award-winning Executive Chef Peter Tempelhoff and his team - places great emphasis on fresh produce from local green-friendly suppliers and this gives SeaFood at The Plettenberg the unique ability to showcase a true taste of the bay.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing