We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mobys

Hopwood Street | Central Beach, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
+27 44 533 3682
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good39%
  • Average19%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (46 reviews)
“steak” (18 reviews)
“kingklip” (6 reviews)
Open Now
08:30 - 21:00 Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Hopwood Street | Central Beach, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 30 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2018

We went to Mobys for dinner on our last night in Plettenberg Bay, and had a really great evening watching the sun set across the beach. We initially sat upstairs on the deck but it was quite chilly, so then went downstairs. I had a...More

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank John H
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

I had lunch with my family and I ordered a Salmon wrap. The moment I took a bite, I noticed it was really spicy. Immediatly I told the waiter because the menu did not say any of the ingredients were jalapenos, pepper, etc. He told...More

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Aldi F
Dianne V, Owner at Mobys, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

We sincerely apologize for the unacceptable experience you and your family endured at our Restaurant Service and food excellence are the standards we strive for. As the owners,we take full responsibility for this. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention We will follow...More

Reviewed 1 April 2018

Dropped into Moby's for a light lunch and enjoyed a pretty good smoked salmon salad. Nothing fancy, but just what we wanted. Great views from the upstairs dining area.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank bandaStamford
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

My wife and I had lunch on the deck at the top. Beautiful view across the bay. Excellent food. We ordered hake and chips and a seafood kebab and salad. The service is efficient.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Stephen L
Dianne V, Owner at Mobys, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Thank you for your positive review The Mobys team

Reviewed 25 March 2018

Excellent beach restaurant. Fun, informal, great food and view of the beach and sea. Never a disappointment!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Fred D
Dianne V, Owner at Mobys, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you so much for your positive comments Always so motivating for our Team

Reviewed 23 March 2018

My wife and I stopped off at Moby's for a late lunch. We were slightly disappointed with the food, as we had eaten much better throughout our tour of the Western and Eastern Cape. My wife had a main course of sole & prawns and...More

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Willsy13
Dianne V, Owner at Mobys, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Thank you for your frank response. We take note of your comments. Best wishes

Reviewed 19 March 2018

Had lunch at this restaurant on the beach so great views. Parking good. There weren't many other diners so lacking in atmosphere. Good views of the beach and sea. The place is quite shabby and felt like being in a large garage, but the food...More

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Marion B
Dianne V, Owner at Mobys, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thank you for your frank review

Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

Went there 2 times for Dinner. First evening we sat on the deck to watch the sea and the rising of the moon. Deck maybe closed during the week. Very friendly waiters. Delicious and very fresh seafood which is part of Mobys policy. Good selection...More

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank JRsTrip2PlanetEarth
Dianne V, Owner at Mobys, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Thank you for your positive review The Mobys team

Reviewed 4 March 2018

We've eaten here now twice and both times were good. Last time it was for dinner, this time it was brunch. I had a breakfast plate with eggs and yummy sausages and my husband had the hake & fries which he thoroughly enjoyed. We were...More

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Wendy_PlettSunTours
Dianne V, Owner at Mobys, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thank you for your positive comments The Mobys team

Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

How can they get it so wrong? Deep fried in batter should produce a crispy result, not a soggy, flat mess. Appropriately it was served with limp, listless fries. Avoid!

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank Malcolm F
Dianne V, Owner at Mobys, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Thank you for your feedback As the owners we are deeply embarrassed with the poor meal you had We hold weekly workshops with our staff we are away at present and will follow up with our Management team today

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 15 hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Beacon Island Resort
1 181 reviews
.17 km away
The Old Rectory
50 reviews
.42 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
663 reviews
.68 km away
Bayview Hotel
163 reviews
.94 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Fat Fish
2 164 reviews
.14 km away
SeaFood at The Plettenberg
238 reviews
.69 km away
Chez Laurent
127 reviews
.70 km away
The Table Restaurant and Bar
759 reviews
.68 km away
Nearby Attractions
Robberg Nature Reserve
2 105 reviews
.59 km away
Secrets of Knysna Forest
9 reviews
.29 km away
Plettenberg Beach
205 reviews
.57 km away
Garden Route Wolf Sanctuary
182 reviews
.29 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Mobys staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$50 - US$450
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Television, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Kids, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
08:30 - 21:00
Monday
08:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
08:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
08:30 - 21:00
Thursday
08:30 - 21:00
Friday
08:30 - 21:00
Saturday
08:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hopwood Street | Central Beach, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Plettenberg Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 44 533 3682
  • E-mail
Description
Casual dining On Central Beach Overlooking the Tsttsikama mountains Relax and enjoy schools of dolphins whilst selecting a meal from a vast menu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing