We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mobys

Hopwood Street | Central Beach, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
+27 44 533 3682
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good38%
  • Average20%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (35 reviews)
“bunny chow” (5 reviews)
“sea food” (8 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Hopwood Street | Central Beach, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

signboard outside stated homecooked food the menu almost similiar to that of an oceanbasket menu, no sushi on menu

Thank stirlingmoo
Reviewed 19 May 2018

This place is right on the beach and serves good seafood. We were a group of us for dinner. I recommend booking in advance since the place can actually fill up. The environment is pretty casual and the view is very nice as well.

Thank Karim M
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

My husband and I arrived for a lunch. Our waiter was super nice and efficient - probably one of the best waiters we encountered in Plett. I had the seafood espetada - it was quite tasty and I enjoyed it very much. My husband (who...More

Thank Megan C W
Dianne V, Owner at Mobys, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Thanks for your positive comments You've described exactly what we intend to be Casual and down to earth Enjoy the long weekend

Reviewed 21 April 2018

Nice enough restaurant. We had lunch there. Casual and relaxed sitting upstairs. Slightly shabby like a beach shack! There were about 12 of us and we all had fish of one description or another and one or two hamburgers. Everybody had a good meal. The...More

Thank Stephanie_Moss
Dianne V, Owner at Mobys, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Thank you for your frank comments Downstairs has a good vibe in the evenings

Reviewed 15 April 2018

We went to Mobys for dinner on our last night in Plettenberg Bay, and had a really great evening watching the sun set across the beach. We initially sat upstairs on the deck but it was quite chilly, so then went downstairs. I had a...More

Thank John H
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

I had lunch with my family and I ordered a Salmon wrap. The moment I took a bite, I noticed it was really spicy. Immediatly I told the waiter because the menu did not say any of the ingredients were jalapenos, pepper, etc. He told...More

Thank Aldi F
Dianne V, Owner at Mobys, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

We sincerely apologize for the unacceptable experience you and your family endured at our Restaurant Service and food excellence are the standards we strive for. As the owners,we take full responsibility for this. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention We will follow...More

Reviewed 1 April 2018

Dropped into Moby's for a light lunch and enjoyed a pretty good smoked salmon salad. Nothing fancy, but just what we wanted. Great views from the upstairs dining area.

Thank bandaStamford
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

My wife and I had lunch on the deck at the top. Beautiful view across the bay. Excellent food. We ordered hake and chips and a seafood kebab and salad. The service is efficient.

Thank Stephen L
Dianne V, Owner at Mobys, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Thank you for your positive review The Mobys team

Reviewed 25 March 2018

Excellent beach restaurant. Fun, informal, great food and view of the beach and sea. Never a disappointment!

Thank Fred D
Dianne V, Owner at Mobys, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you so much for your positive comments Always so motivating for our Team

Reviewed 23 March 2018

My wife and I stopped off at Moby's for a late lunch. We were slightly disappointed with the food, as we had eaten much better throughout our tour of the Western and Eastern Cape. My wife had a main course of sole & prawns and...More

Thank Willsy13
Dianne V, Owner at Mobys, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Thank you for your frank response. We take note of your comments. Best wishes

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 15 hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Beacon Island Resort
1 076 reviews
.17 km away
The Old Rectory
39 reviews
.42 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
637 reviews
.68 km away
Bayview Hotel
150 reviews
.94 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Fat Fish
2 028 reviews
.14 km away
SeaFood at The Plettenberg
228 reviews
.69 km away
Chez Laurent
120 reviews
.70 km away
The Table Restaurant and Bar
722 reviews
.68 km away
Nearby Attractions
Robberg Nature Reserve
1 940 reviews
.59 km away
Secrets of Knysna Forest
8 reviews
.29 km away
Plettenberg Beach
191 reviews
.57 km away
Garden Route Wolf Sanctuary
163 reviews
.29 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Mobys staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$50 - US$450
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Television, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Bar Scene, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hopwood Street | Central Beach, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Plettenberg Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 44 533 3682
  • E-mail
Description
Casual dining On Central Beach Overlooking the Tsttsikama mountains Relax and enjoy schools of dolphins whilst selecting a meal from a vast menu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;