We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
R 100 - R 1 000
CUISINES
Contemporary, Seafood
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
136
18
8
14
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
136
18
8
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prawn linguine pizza special kingklip steak cheesecake seafood lookout beach celebrating a birthday spectacular venue our waiter memorable experience dee dee gorgeous views fabulous lunch amazing food amazing location our honeymoon
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed today

Simply can't get enough! The grilled prawns, caprese salad and prawn pasta is an absolute must have- absolute best views in Plett with great service

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 January 2024 via mobile

Fantastic service from our waitress Fezi. Fabulous view and wonderful cocktails and food. The martini and cosmos were amazing.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Life Brand, Agency / Consultant at Grand Africa Lookout Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2024

Hi markrwardle, Thank you for visiting Grand Africa Café & Beach. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the panoramic views and bespoke cocktails at our iconic beachside location. Fezi will be delighted to receive your compliments on the fantastic service. We look forward...More

Reviewed 17 January 2024

Superb food and great service! The views were spectacular, the taste and wine perfect. Despite the loadshedding and the failing generator things were managed perfect by the staff! Thanks Zee!More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Life Brand, Agency / Consultant at Grand Africa Lookout Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2024

Hi Wijnand V, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a fantastic review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the superb food, great service from Zee and our spectacular view. We hope to welcome you back to Grand Africa Café...More

Reviewed 14 January 2024

Thank you to Elzaan for being our hostess with professional service and and to Cullen for being so attentive. Our guests had a wonderful evening.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Life Brand, Agency / Consultant at Grand Africa Lookout Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2024

Hi Coastal29367498925, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Grand Africa Café & Beach. We're delighted to hear that Elzaan and Cullen provided you and your guests with professional and attentive service. We hope to welcome you back soon for another...More

Reviewed 6 January 2024

Place was amazing. Cullen serviced our table and was attentive and his service was fantastic. Thank you Cullen for the incredible eveningMore

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Life Brand, Agency / Consultant at Grand Africa Lookout Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2024

Hi Mobile01713526495, Thank you for your kind review of Grand Africa Café & Beach. It's fantastic to hear that Cullen provided attentive and fantastic service throughout your evening. We pride ourselves on our staff's ability to deliver exceptional service. We hope to see you again...More

Reviewed 5 January 2024 via mobile

We stayed in Plettenberg Bay for 3 nights and went to Grand Africa for 2 of the nights that we were there. We just couldn’t get enough. What a stunning setting with beautiful views and amazing food! Would 1000% recommend requesting a table where Thando...is your waiter, what a man! 10 star service to him alone!More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Life Brand, Agency / Consultant at Grand Africa Lookout Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2024

Hey Cayla C, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience at Grand Africa Café & Beach. Thando is truly incredible. We take great pride in our team. We look forward to welcoming you back again...More

Reviewed 5 January 2024

We had some of the best food we’ve had in a very long time. Our waiter gave us amazing service, definitely recommend !!!More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Life Brand, Agency / Consultant at Grand Africa Lookout Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2024

Hi Kuhle S, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Grand Africa Café & Beach. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our exquisite meals and the impeccable service provided by our team. We look forward to welcoming you back...More

Reviewed 5 January 2024

Amazing food, amazing service and amazing staff. Would definitely recommend to those looking for a great spot to spend an evening !!!!!More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Life Brand, Agency / Consultant at Grand Africa Lookout Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2024

Hi Passenger05406786912, Thank you for your glowing review of us! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the amazing food, service and ambience during your visit. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Africa Café & Beach. Kind...More

Reviewed 4 January 2024

Incredible service, delicious food and a great vibe. Our server Thando was absolutely amazing and had such fun energy. Would 100% recommend for a lovely and delicious evening!!!More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Life Brand, Agency / Consultant at Grand Africa Lookout Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2024

Hi OnAir52024662692, Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the incredible service, delicious food and great vibe at Grand Africa Café & Beach. We will be sure to pass on your compliments to Thando. Come again,...More

Reviewed 31 December 2023

For a beautiful up-market restaurant like this, it was truly one of the most disappointing and poorest dining experiences we've ever had as a family. You may be fooled by the stunning location and design aesthetics of the restaurant, however, the service is exceptionally poor....We waited extremely long for our drinks, and this must be some of the worst cocktails ever tasted in a restaurant. Overly sweet syrup with flat soda and a splash of alcohol. The cocktails at this branch definitely do not even come close to any of the other Grand restaurants. Not only were the drinks below average, our waiter got our food order wrong on multiple items, and we had to wait for dishes and sides that were forgotten whilst the rest of the table were eating. By the time our mains were finished, some poorly cooked sides were rushed to our table. After asking for these items to be removed from the bill, it was still included in the final bill, and then removed after an additional wait. Other than taking our drinks and food order, our waiter did not come and check up ONCE to ask whether we are still alright at the table. We received a weak apology at the table from the manager. The cherry on top is how ridiculously overpriced it is for average food and terrible drinks. What a disappointing experience for such a beautiful place. I am not one to complain about a restaurant often via online reviews, but unfortunately the level of poor service received tonight warrants a negative review. Smoke and mirrors. Do better.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Life Brand, Agency / Consultant at Grand Africa Lookout Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2024

Dear Ruben_4815162342, Thank you for bringing these concerning issues to our attention. We humbly apologise for your recent experience. We would appreciate an opportunity to get in contact with you directly to address your feedback. Please send your details to https://ga3.goreview.co.za/goreview-crm?revid=qGASRhNl and a member of...More

Reviewed 30 December 2023

Busy evening, terrible service. Waited 20 minutes for a beer after the draught was out of gas. No rice option with fish dishes. Food average and totally overpriced. Will never return or recommendMore

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Life Brand, Agency / Consultant at Grand Africa Lookout Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2024

Dear Sunshine07291039337, We are terribly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. We would appreciate an opportunity to contact you directly to address your concerns. Please send your details to https://ga3.goreview.co.za/goreview-crm?revid=hO469i6D and a member of our management team will...More

Reviewed 22 December 2023 via mobile

I wish I could give this 5 stars because I LOVE the Grand in CT so much. Unfortunately service here was spotty to start with. We had to go and get our own water from the bar counter as we’d been waiting so long for...it. Other waters that were ordered arrived a solid 30 mins after ordering. Not a good start. Our initial drinks order was ridiculously slow and we could not get anyone to take our order. We then had a change in wait staff and the whole experience improved dramatically. Service became 5 star. Food was lovely and fresh and delicious. Pizzas were crisp. Seafood was spot on. The view is simply perfect. Would recommend to anyone.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Life Brand, Agency / Consultant at Grand Africa Lookout Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2023

Dear Beeteelondon, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're delighted you enjoyed the beautiful view and delicious food. However, we apologise for the service not being fully up to standard. Should you wish to discuss your concerns further with us, kindly follow this...More

Reviewed 11 December 2023 via mobile

Absolutely delicious meal and excellent service from Cullan. Lovely place to go on a summers evening and enjoy the sea view.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Life Brand, Agency / Consultant at Grand Africa Lookout Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2023

Dear Sherpa29663154353, Thank you for your 5-star review of Grand Africa Lookout Beach. We're glad you enjoyed our delicious food and beautiful sea view accompanied by Cullan's excellent service. We look forward to having you all back for more memorable experiences! Kind regards, Grand Africa...More

Reviewed 10 December 2023

We were so lucky to find this restaurant on our recent holiday. If I could give more than 5 stars I would. Thank you to the amazing staff. Manageress Rochelle, waiters Cullen and Zoe and especially to the chef (apologies I forgot her name). Our...lunch and dinner meals were prepared so well and delicious! We can't wait to visit again in the near future. Keep up the good quality of food and service. (The Whittakers)More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Life Brand, Agency / Consultant at Grand Africa Lookout Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2023

Dear Jet65584279348, Thank you for reviewing your experience at Grand Africa Lookout Beach. We're pleased to read that you enjoyed our delicious meals and that you received such wonderful service from Rochelle, Cullen and Zoe. We pride ourselves in our excellent team members. We look...More

Reviewed 5 December 2023

Was an excellent experience. The food was delicious and the dessert aswell. Great staff and beautiful view

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Life Brand, Agency / Consultant at Grand Africa Lookout Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2023

Dear Maps45274807666, Thank you for reviewing your experience at Grand Africa Lookout Beach. We're thrilled you enjoyed our delicious food, delightful desserts and outstanding service accompanied by a beautiful view. We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Kind regards, Grand Africa Lookout Beach

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Plettenberg
887 reviews
.24 km away
Bayview Hotel
123 reviews
.48 km away
The Old Rectory
214 reviews
.50 km away
Plett Quarter Hotel
15 reviews
.66 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Nguni Restaurant
1 031 reviews
.64 km away
Sol Kitchen
473 reviews
.57 km away
The Pie Shop
86 reviews
.54 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Robberg Nature Reserve
2 626 reviews
.69 km away
St Peters Anglican Church
49 reviews
.40 km away
Whale Tail Lookout Point
10 reviews
.14 km away
Old Timber Shed
22 reviews
.53 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Grand Africa Lookout Beach staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

Grand Africa Lookout Beach, Plettenberg Bay - Restaurant Reviews, Phone Number & Photos - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Africa Lookout Beach

Yes, Grand Africa Lookout Beach is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Grand Africa Lookout Beach is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 5