We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Med Seafood Bistro

Bayview Centre | Corner Gibb & Main Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
+27 44 533 3102
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good41%
  • Average12%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (18 reviews)
“sirloin steak” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Grill, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Bayview Centre | Corner Gibb & Main Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The menu online seemed to be very nice so we decided to have diner at this bistro. There were not many people inside, probably because it's a little bit hide away. Though the food was very good and we really enjoyed it. You just have...More

Thank WesGee
Reviewed 5 July 2018

The restaurant seemed good from the street, but once inside, very empty. The service was average but the food, once it arrived, was ok. They don't seem to know how to make a Classic Martini, but we powered through and enjoyed the meal. Upon close...More

2  Thank Minx A
local-happy, Owner at The Med Seafood Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Hi Minx, Thanks for your visit & for taking the time to do a review - but what happened between leaving the restaurant & you penning the review ? You mentioned to your waittress that everything was lovely & that you will bring your family...More

Reviewed 14 February 2018

We arrived, having booked a table, to an nearly empty restaurant, with 2 tables occupied. Staff seemed efficient and helpful, but after ordering we realised that did not apply to the underworked kitchen and our food took ages to arrive. Food was OK, nothing more...More

2  Thank grahamee
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed a tasty seafood linguine and a Gorgonzola and pear salad followed by creme brûlée and an ice cream with Amarula liqueur. Great two course dinner for two with drinks for 350R. Our waitress was friendly and made us feel welcome. It's a bit quieter...More

Thank Adam S
local-happy, Owner at The Med Seafood Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

SO happy that you enjoyed & felt welcome at The Med, Adam! regards Marianne

Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

A memorable night of poor food & shocking service. We’ve been here many times, over many years - dating well back to their old premises across the road. But never again. Our elderly waitress was ratty & rude. Got the orders wrong, refused to acknowledge...More

4  Thank Abraham312659
local-happy, Owner at The Med Seafood Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Hi Mr Lapiner - my idea for matching our usually patient "Aunty Acid" with your side of the table and the younger waittress with the younger brigade at the other end of the table obviously did not work. I think she just wanted to lighten...More

Reviewed 30 November 2017

What a let down. We were 2 couples out for dinner and we were all so disappointed with the food . 2 of us ordered a Thai type chicken dish which came to us looking like soup - clearly the coconut cream had split and...More

Thank Linda F
local-happy, Owner at The Med Seafood Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Dear Linda F - I apologise for the fact that your 2 basil chicken curry was quite "saucy" - the restaurant was full and there was a run on this specific item - no excuse but the kitchen probably sent it out to early. I...More

Reviewed 27 November 2017

The only reason we came here was because it was listed on the app. Upon requesting the bill, they told us they do not accept it and we have to pay full price. We have contacted the entertainer and the restaurant but it has not...More

1  Thank mia_smith93
local-happy, Owner at The Med Seafood Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

The Med Bistro is thankfully not at all listed on the Entertainer app any more !!

Reviewed 27 November 2017

Firstly, we went to the establishment via the entertainer app. We found that as we arrived they informed us that they do not take the entertainer app anymore and that it was stated on a sign (we went to look for this sign and it...More

1  Thank juanvwk
local-happy, Owner at The Med Seafood Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

We were sickened by the bad/bitter reviews/comments), from Entertainer clients when we insisted that they heed the terms & conditions of the program.The many unpleasant incidents persuaded us stopped accepting it. The Med Bistro is thankfully NOT listed with the app any more

Reviewed 27 November 2017

What a shame, table reserved by our guest house, views could be great but a cloudy dull day.Very friendly waitress.Both our meals came with lumpy mashed potato, not a single vegetable, food swimming in sauce, far from fine dining. Very disappointing. The expensive meal I...More

Thank June l
local-happy, Owner at The Med Seafood Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Dear June - thanks for your visit & your compliments on the service. May I offer some comments: 1. We describe our style as country style cooking, and definitely do NOT claim to serve fine dining. 2. The "mashed" potato that your fish with rich...More

Reviewed 6 November 2017

Had a lovely meal on our first night in Plettenberg Bay. The staff were very attentive and our meal was fantastic. So impressed we went back for breakfast!

Thank Tricia S
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 15 hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Bayview Hotel
156 reviews
.02 km away
Grand Africa Rooms & Rendezvous
401 reviews
.13 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
655 reviews
.50 km away
The Old Rectory
45 reviews
.58 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Blue Monkey Cafe
30 reviews
.05 km away
Nguni
716 reviews
.18 km away
Clare's Cakes & Deli
194 reviews
.23 km away
Chez Laurent
124 reviews
.29 km away
Nearby Attractions
Robberg Nature Reserve
2 040 reviews
.42 km away
Secrets of Knysna Forest
9 reviews
.65 km away
Plettenberg Beach
203 reviews
.46 km away
Garden Route Wolf Sanctuary
177 reviews
.65 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
GavinS1268
30 July 2017|
Answer
Response from RainerH38 | Reviewed this property |
Have checked the previous reviews. Han1232014 Pretoria recommended to remove the restaurant on April 29th. Check the details in his review. Regards
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$13
Cuisine
Meals
Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
07:30 - 21:00
Monday
07:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
07:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
07:30 - 21:00
Thursday
07:30 - 21:00
Friday
07:30 - 21:00
Saturday
07:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bayview Centre | Corner Gibb & Main Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Plettenberg Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 44 533 3102
  • E-mail
Description
Independent, family-run Bistro established in 1985, since 2013 trading from the sunny terrace of the Bayview Hotel, situated in the center of the village. The restaurant has panoramic views of the ocean, mountains & town. Our cooking is country-style, using fresh local South African ingredients wherever possible, featuring sustainable seafood & selected choice grades of beef & venison. Poultry includes chicken & duck dishes such as duck confit . Our loyal clientele now feature 3rd generations of families who have enjoyed The Med's family-style ambience & offerings for many years.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing