The Lookout Deck

The Lookout Deck

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+27 44 533 1379+ Add website
Hours
Sun
9:00 - 22:00
Mon
9:00 - 22:00
Tue
9:00 - 22:00
Wed
9:00 - 22:00
Thu
9:00 - 22:00
Fri
9:00 - 22:00
Sat
9:00 - 22:00
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Ratings and reviews
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Travellers' Choice 2023

RATINGS
Food
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.3 of 5 bubbles
About
Located in the heart of Plettenberg Bay, The Lookout Deck creates a comfortable and down-to-earth space that welcomes family and friends to make themselves at home while digging into fresh and effortless seafood.
CUISINES
Bar, Seafood, International, Soups
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Waterfront, Beach
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles2,627 reviews
Excellent
1,043
Very good
929
Average
362
Poor
135
Terrible
158
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Mike
Cape Town2351 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 none
I've been coming to lookout deck for years and no matter what time or day or night you arrived it was always full of life with the hum of people eating and drinking. Sadly that's gone and so has the broad section of people, all the tables except 3 ours included were taken by the 65 plus. I'm not being agest alll I am saying is you need to appeal to a mixed group to get the atmosphere back rather than one market. The service was slow, so slow it took 10 minutes for our first drink to arrive, which immediately put us on the back foot and after looking at all the staff standing at the bar instead of attending to patrons and the food coming out of the kitchen we decided not to stay beyond our first drink. The old look of the place has gone and the new look, in my opinion just does not work. The menu, which used to be simply and describe exactly what you were getting has been replaced with way to many takes on a good old "Suf & Turf' with far more rhyming titles than necessary. Sorry but I will not be returning.
Written 19 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lifeandbrand
Hey there Mike, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback and such valuable feedback too. It is saddening to hear that you do not seem to enjoy our restaurant as much as you used to and we will bring your concerns to our management team immediately. The service issue you are describing is certainly not acceptable and we will work our hardest to never have that happen again. If you were open to allowing us another chance to show you that the slightly new look and feel is not all that bad we would love to have you back for a treat on the house, simply follow this link https://lookoutdeck.goreview.co.za and we will be in touch. Benjamin and the Lookout Deck Team
Written 20 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Adesola A
Salford26 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 friends
We were looking forward to eating at this restaurant as it was recommended by our hostess, however, we were a bit disappointed with the experience. We didn’t book in advance , walked in and was told to wait for 15mins which wasn’t bad as it looked like half of Plettenberg were there. Sat at the bar and ordered a cocktail and wine. The cocktail Endless summer was so amazing that I had 3 of it. What let us down was the customer service and the whole experience. We were sat to our table within the 15mins slot but nobody attended to us for 15mins till I had to ask for the manager. They got our food order wrong when it arrived the tuna wasn’t cooked to specifications. the food was mediocre and I was very disappointed as I had higher expectations. It’s advisable that the restaurant assigns waiters/waitresses to cover an area as I noticed there were loads of staff on shift but they weren’t working efficiently. Doubt I will be visiting again and if I do, would be just for drinks at the bar. It’s a real shame as the restaurant has a lot of potentials as it’s by the beach.
Written 16 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lifeandbrand
Hey there Adesola, Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us, your constructive feedback is what helps us each day to learn and improve further. While we are addressing the service issues you mentioned we would love to invite you back for a treat on the house and have you experience our restaurant at its very best, how do you feel about allowing us another chance? We hope to hear from you on https://lookoutdeck.goreview.co.za and will then be in contact with you right away. Benjamin and the Lookout Deck Team
Written 17 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

92lauren
United Kingdom87 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 none
This was my second time visiting and we would highly recommend making a stop here for a bite to eat if you are in the area. Its not the easiest place to find but there are signs that you can look out for when you are driving through town. When you arrive you walk up a lovely wooden deck and if its a nice day ask for a table outside, you have a fabulous view of the beach and all the seats have cushions on to make sure you are comfortable. The food is just great and the portions sizes are fairly big and the cocktails are incredible. But be warned they go down very easily as you can barely taste the alcohol in them! The service was a little slow the day we went, but always with a smile.
Written 7 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lifeandbrand
Thank you for your great feedback and recommendation Lauren, we cannot wait to serve you another round of cocktails and some delicious seafood again real soon :) Benjamin and the Lookout Deck Team
Written 9 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Meg
13 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 friends
We have been coming to Plett for years and have never had a bad experience at the lookout deck until this year. Apparently under new management - waited 30min for a table, then an hour for drinks (a coke and a water, nothing complicated or fancy) and a further 2 hours for food. When the food finally did arrive it was cold, undercooked, tasteless and the plates were filthy. The seafood was frozen in the center and the staff and manager were less than helpful. Very over priced too. Not worth the hassle - rather eat at home next time!
Written 3 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lifeandbrand
We are sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing experience with us MegA, that certainly is not what we would have liked you to have and we will address your concerning feedback with our entire team immediately. Are you in town for a little longer? If so kindly allow us to make this up to you and get in touch with us on https://lookoutdeck.goreview.co.za so that we can reach out and arrange for your treat on the house while we still have you in Plett... Benjamin and the Lookout Deck Team
Written 4 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Benji844
Hereford13 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2019 couples
Turned up, ordered, 90 mins later no food. It took 15 minutes and 3 conversations with staff to simply get a bottle of water. Others who had ordered after us had received their meals. At the 90 minute mark the waiter asked to check our order to make sure it was ‘hurried through’. Terribly inadequate service. Woeful. We left promptly.
Written 7 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lifeandbrand
What a great disappointment to hear that you had such an unfortunate time with us Beno, we appreciate you making us aware of our lapses though and will get right back to work to learn and improve from your experience. How do you feel about allowing us another chance and having you back for a treat on the house? It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again, simply follow this link https://lookoutdeck.goreview.co.za and we will be in touch with you right away. Benjamin and the Lookout Deck Team
Written 8 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lenka L
Birmingham17 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 family
We were recommended this restaurant by family. But oh boy what a disappointment visit this was. It was 5 of us. We ordered the drinks and food at the same time. We did not have drinks yet when part of the food order has arrived. We asked the waiter are u sure is ours as we don't even have our drinks. We asked that few times and one of the orders was wrong so they had to replace it. That was two plates out of 5. 30min later there were waiters and managers coming over telling us the orders was mixed up and that they are preparing rest of the food (3 plates) after 1 hour of wait it arrives and omg what a disappointing experience. My calamari was drained in oil. I have asked them for grilled one but omg again burned and drained in oil. The rest of the food was similar quality. Cold fish, oily chips, burger looked like it was at it's last breath. J I would not recommend this place to anyone. I know is at the beach, but do your self a favour and maybe go to mobys at Central Beach as the place is busy, but lovely view and great food, for same budget.
Written 6 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lifeandbrand
Hey there lenkal, We thank you for sharing your experience with us as disappointing as this sounds. Clearly there is lots of work to do for us and we will get right back to it to ensure that all concerning items are addressed immediately and we learn and improve from your feedback. While we are getting to the bottom of this all we would like to invite you to get in touch with us directly and return for a treat on the house, simply follow this link https://lookoutdeck.goreview.co.za and we will make arrangements as soon as we hear from you. Benjamin and the Lookout Deck Team
Written 7 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Michelle
4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 couples
We came here for our first stop in Plett, wouldn’t recommend. Food is very average and EXTREMELY overpriced for what you are being served - small portions, nothing special. (We had breakfast) Furthermore only once the breakfast was served we were informed that certain ingredients are out of stock so we had to eat what was given to us basically. This should be told to customers in advance.
Written 5 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lifeandbrand
Hey Michelle, Thank you for making us aware of your disappointing visit at our restaurant. We have to humbly apologize for the insufficient communication on our part and will address this with our management team immediately. If you are in town for a little longer it would be great if you allowed us the opportunity to make this up to you and invite you back to have breakfast with us. Kindly get in touch on https://lookoutdeck.goreview.co.za and we will arrange for your return right away. Benjamin and the Lookout Deck Team
Written 5 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

GC
Western Cape190 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 none
If you are willing to put up with being ignored by the waiting staff, with them getting your order wrong and waiting ages for your food, then the food is good and the location is nice. We were there 20 minutes before we managed to get someone’s attention. We then waited 15 minutes for the drinks order which was incomplete. After the 4th request the other drinks arrived. I gave up waiting for my desert and when the manager tried to coerce me into eating half melted ice cream and congealed sauce we got up, paid and left. After our last visit a year ago I said never again. But we tried again anyway and,sadly, even worse than last time! They are very expensive compared to others in the town. Never again!!!
Written 1 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lifeandbrand
Hey there Travelling, Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. There are no two opinions about your service experience being unacceptable and we humbly apologize for that while we are addressing the matter internally to avoid this from happening again. Kindly allow us to redeem ourselves and have you experience our restaurant at its very best, it would be a our greatest pleasure to treat you to that, simply follow this link https://lookoutdeck.goreview.co.za and we will be in touch with you directly. Benjamin and the Lookout Deck Team
Written 2 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Intodablu
Johannesburg3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 couples
Very sad that such a great location at the coast serves hake - ‘the special’ - which is not only half a normal portion (150g) but also very obviously past it’s sell by date. Bitter taste and smelled of ammonia. When sending my plate back back to the young chef for his opinion, he declared it as freshly caught. It’s one thing serving fish which is obviously spoiled, it’s quite another when the chef defends it vigorously - one would hope for more honestly and a more discerning pallet from a chef. In the end they didn’t charge for the meal which I didn’t eat but did charge in full for the 1/3 eaten fish my wife sent back. Not charging for a meal is not an acceptable remedy for a spoilt evening and neither is serving spoilt fish in the hope that patrons won’t notice is unacceptable.
Written 12 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Life_Brand_P
Dear Intodablu, We must sincerely apologise for your recent experience, as this is not the standard of food we strive for. Please take a moment to send us a copy of your review by following this link https://lookout1.goreview.co.za/goreview-crm?revid=QClTYm, so that we may investigate this further and provide you with feedback. We hope to hear from you soon. Sincerely, The Lookout Deck Management
Written 12 November 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rebecca
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020 family
Visited a family favorite of ours today and was severely disappointed with what we experienced. No sanitization protocol in place at the entrance, sat at a table with old plates that had not been cleared and had to request after some time for a menu, let alone service. Not all Waiters were wearing masks (!?!) and to top it off our food was bang average, served at different times and came out cold. The food we received for what it cost can only be described as a joke. R115 for a bun less, dry veggie burger on one piece of lettuce and a slice of tomato is ridiculous! This experience left a bad taste in our mouths after being Lookout Deck loyals for the last 20 years. Very disappointed.
Written 27 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Life_Brand_P
Dear Rebeccastroebel2, We must sincerely apologise for your recent experience with us. Please know that we take covid protocols very seriously so your review concerns us. We would appreciate the opportunity to get in contact with you. We kindly ask that you email us a copy of your review and contact details to the following address, info@lifeandbrand.co.za and we'll be in touch. We look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards, The Lookout Deck Management
Written 12 November 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Pat
10 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 none
Eating here was always the high point of our holiday in South Africa for the last 5 years but we were hugely disappointed, not so much by the renovations but more about the change to the menu which has become just like menus you can find at any other restaurants rather than what it had been, I.e the preeminent seafood restaurant in a prime location. Added to this, the quality and taste of the food has diminished whilst prices have significantly increased. Unlikely we will return to this restaurant as frequently as we used to. What a pity such a winning formula has been changed.
Written 26 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lifeandbrand
Hey Plettenberg20, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. It is saddening to hear that you no longer seem to enjoy our restaurant as much as you used to and we will address your review with our management team right away. If you were willing to give us another shot at goal, we would love to have you back for a treat on the house and have you taste some of our new and delicious dishes... simply follow this link https://lookoutdeck.goreview.co.za and we will be in touch to arrange for your return. Benjamin and the Lookout Deck Team
Written 27 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

hughhack
25 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 none
This restaurant is an a perfect location with amazing views and situated right on the gorgeous Lookout Beach in Plettenberg Bay. Sadly the restaurant was disappointing. I found the service very slow and there were mistakes with the orders for our group. When looking at the prices you would expect more. The food was below average and there are many better options in this price range in Plettenberg Bay.
Written 4 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lifeandbrand
We are sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing experience with us Hugh and we will address this concerning feedback with our team immediately. If you would like to elaborate on the dishes you had and help us improve our product we would much appreciate further information via https://lookoutdeck.goreview.co.za, we will then be in touch with you directly to redeem ourselves of course. Benjamin and the Lookout Deck Team
Written 5 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

wendyallison
Cape Town55 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 none
Don't bother going to the Lookout Deck if you are looking for a relaxing, chilled and enjoyable experience. Yes, the location is breathtaking but abysmal service, totally overpriced food and staff who are arguing amongst themselves don't add up to a great meal. One of the reviews mention that locals are ignored in favour of overseas tourists - I can tell you that all patrons are ignored equally. We saw a number of tables simply get tired of waiting and leave. One would not believe that unemployment in the area is stratospheric as no one cares about their job or the reputation of this restaurant and it seems the owners should be included in this as their regurgitated response to the reviews shows. We will take our money elsewhere where it is appreciated and we can enjoy the experience.
Written 2 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lifeandbrand
Dear Wendy, Thank you for getting in touch with us, reviewing us publicly on Tripadvisor as well as your private message. We are taking notes and are discussing your feedback with our senior management team as we do with all reviews, positive and negative. It is equally disappointing for us to hear that you had such an unpleasant experience with us as it must have been for you on the day and we humbly apologize for that. By now we are in contact with you directly and we hope that we will find an amicable solution for the issues you encountered. Benjamin and the Lookout Deck Team
Written 4 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Dorea
Lamberts Bay27 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 couples
We were there just after 5. No one greeted us at the door so we seated ourselves at a table as you walk in to the left on the outside with glass windows.  Serving tables next to us was a older white waitress short black hair. She totally ignored us. Did not even greet. We waited.  I eventually got up went to the bar asked a young male white waiter for a menu which he brought us... Never to be seen again. We saw what we would like to order... waited for a waiter and eventually left. 
Written 16 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lifeandbrand
Hi Dorea, What an unexcusable lapse on our part, thank you for taking the time to make us aware of this, we will address your experience with our team immediately and humbly apologize for this. Kindly allow us to make this up to you and invite you back for a treat on the house, we hope to hear from you via this link https://lookoutdeck.goreview.co.za and will then arrange for your return. Benjamin and the Lookout Deck Team
Written 17 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lynette P
44 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 none
We waited an acceptable 20 min to be seated in the restaurant. After waiting two hours from when we placed our order, we were told that 7 tables were ahead of us and that it would take at least another 25 min to be served. We decided this was unacceptable, they should not have seated us knowing that they were unable to serve us. After feeble excuses and a Manager totally out of his depth, we left. This is not the deck we have eaten at so many times over the years we have been holidaying in Plett. Extremely disappointing and unacceptable!
Written 2 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lifeandbrand
Hi Lindy, Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we apologize profusely for the long wait and will address the pressing issue with our team immediately. May we kindly ask you to return for a treat on the house and have you experience our restaurant at its' best and as great as you remember it... If you would like to take us up on this offer at any time simply follow this link https://lookoutdeck.goreview.co.za and we will be in touch right away. Benjamin and the Lookout Deck Team
Written 3 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-15 of 2,224
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
Peppermill Cafe
RR - RRR · Bar, Cafe, Contemporary
Nguni Restaurant
RR - RRR · African, Grill
Bramon Boutique Wine Estate
RR - RRR · Mediterranean, Healthy
Nineteen 89 Plett
RR - RRR · Seafood, Contemporary, Fusion, Healthy
The Fat Fish
RR - RRR · Seafood, Mediterranean, Sushi
Ristorante Enrico
RR - RRR · Italian, Seafood, European, Neapolitan
Emily Moon
RR - RRR · Fusion
Sol Kitchen
RR - RRR · Seafood
Natures Way Farm Stall
RR - RRR · Cafe, Deli, Healthy
Grand Africa Lookout Beach
RR - RRR · Seafood, Contemporary
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

The Lookout Deck, Plettenberg Bay - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

All Plettenberg Bay HotelsPlettenberg Bay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Things to Do
All Plettenberg Bay RestaurantsRestaurants near The Lookout Deck
FlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire