We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
R 96 - R 384
CUISINES
Seafood, Grill, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
201
12
3
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
201
12
3
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salad fish and chips chicken surf lessons sri lanka delicious food chill beginners waves shower sea cappuccino cricket colombo
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 30 October 2023 via mobile

Hey, I went there on a Monday evening, and hardly anyone was there. Got escorted to our table and then were surly forgotten about even though there were lots of staff mulling around on their phone. Decided to get up and go to the bar...to order drinks after 10 minutes of waiting, which finally got a waiter's attention, who then decided to come and take our order. Boy, when the food arrived, it was “finger-licking good”. It was worth the initial wait, especially as the waiter more than made amends for his lapse and the food made the whole occasion worthwhile. Wonderful setting with good funky music in the background. Definitely will be coming back in the daytime to feel the vibes and enjoy the food and especially the drink.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 October 2023

Great location. Great team. Good comfort food. Good prices. Nice casual ambience. Many surfboards for rent nearby, too.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 August 2023 via mobile

Wow chef's special is Masala dosa and it's pretty darn special we weren't hungry so we ordered 1 to share and I could have seriously eaten a whole 1 to myself. It was a good price as well 1500 and the service was great and...the setting on the beach was lovely. But the price of beer let's this place down 650 for a small can 375ml possibly the most expensive beer we have purchased in Sri Lanka.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 June 2023 via mobile

I've moved to Sri Lanka (Galle) recently, so getting to know the area. I've been to the Shack twice, once for lunch and once for a beer. Both times it was relaxing, service was great, the team was really friendly. When we went for lunch...we shared... the food was fresh and tasty. It's good value too, so no doubt I'll be there a few times more.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 May 2023 via mobile

It's great to be back at the Shack and see that the quality and standards are just as good if not better than last time I was there,. The new masala dosa was perfect, for sure the best in Sri Lanka, and the chicken raman...soup was also delicious!!..the staff here are excellent!! Thanks guys!!.. We had a fantastic afternoon with food and drinks . For sure my favourite place on the south coast, especially at this time of year in low season,.. You can even still surf out front!More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 April 2023

i stayed at the surf shack room for 5 nights. and what can i say…i had an awesome time! everything, the room, the food, the surf lessons you can get right by the cafe, was awesome! and most importantly the crew was extremely generous, friendly...and always ready to help with anything. i really had the best time and would always recommend a visit there. thank you guys!More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 March 2023

amazing food and cocktails. they even have great rooms and apartments. i loveddd the breakfast smoothies.

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 February 2023 via mobile

For surf sea chilling and relaxing or entertaining the Shack rooms and apartment are the place to stay to acclimatise catch-up on info and generally treat yourselves in SL. Can't fault it. We had privacy service fun entertainment and get togethers with friends. Wonderful. Many...visits to SL and this place in Dewata on the beach is idyllic and affordable. See for yourselves 😁⛱️☀️More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 October 2022 via mobile

You know when you find a little oasis ? Well this place is just that, cool, friendly and in an amazing setting with just the best beginners wave I think I have even seen. The service is slow at times but really well meaning. This...is an ex pats bar which I normally avoid but they seem to have got it just right. If you find yourself in Galle, this is a mustMore

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John_Mann_london, Owner at The Shack Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2022

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us! We aim for speedy service so sorry that didn’t happen when you were there. Hope to see you again soon. All the best The Shack Team

Reviewed 17 August 2022 via mobile

Our son went surfing an we enjoyed an unbelievable good breakfast. Best cappuccino we had in Sri Lanka. Definitely check this place out!

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John_Mann_london, Owner at The Shack Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2022

Thanks for the great review - we take great pride in our hearty breakfast and coffee so great you rated them! Hope to see you back here again All the best The Shack Team

Reviewed 12 March 2022 via mobile

Great beach side cafe. Food is good, drinks as well. Nice beginners surf beach. We went several times here since kids wanted to surf and they also had good board for rent.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John_Mann_london, Owner at The Shack Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2022

Thanks for taking the time to review us! We think it’s the best place to learn to surf but we must stress we don’t get involved with renting surfboards - we concentrate on serving great food and drinks! Hope to see you again here soon....More

Reviewed 26 February 2022 via mobile

Slept here on the beach, in the beach shack studio. What a lovely place. To sleep to wake up and to eat. Breakfast lunch dinner. You can have it all! We came to rest here. Don't look any further if you wanna chill sirf relax...kayak snorkel and eat !More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John_Mann_london, Owner at The Shack Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2022

So glad you enjoyed staying with as well as dining with us. Our apartments are all right on the beach so you can fall out of bed into the sea. Really hope to see you here again soon. All the best John

Reviewed 18 February 2022

Me and my friends visited the shack and found ourselves constantly coming back. The food is amazing the drinks certainly go down well. It’s right on the beach and perfect for surfing or a dip in the sea to cool off, I would 100% recommend!

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John_Mann_london, Owner at The Shack Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2022

Well this is certainly a great review - the fact you kept coming back speaks volumes! We love our beach and it’s great when others do too. See you again soon I hope! All the best The Shack Team

Reviewed 18 February 2022

We love the shack, easily our go to place! The staff and Annie are amazing, so welcoming and friendly. The food is excellent and so are the vibes!! Thanks Shack!!!

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John_Mann_london, Owner at The Shack Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2022

Well thank you for this lovely review - we really hope you come back soon for more good vibes! All the best The Shack Team

Reviewed 14 February 2022 via mobile

Everything from the scenery, staff, surf and drinks was amazing. I stayed in the LoveShack apartment back in January and as soon as I was down south again I couldn’t help but come back and bring every travelling friend I’d met along the way.

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John_Mann_london, Owner at The Shack Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2022

Thanks so much for the lovely review - really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for bringing your friends to our humble cafe. Look forward to seeing you soon! All the best John

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Blue Beach Galle
11 reviews
.11 km away
Closenberg Hotel
438 reviews
.39 km away
CoCoBay Unawatuna
1 203 reviews
.74 km away
Bilin Tree House
35 reviews
1.13 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
CocoBay La Mer Beach Restaurant
255 reviews
.73 km away
Aluroma Family Restaurant
61 reviews
.21 km away
Scarlett Skyy
34 reviews
.55 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Nalu Surf Shop & School Unawatuna
134 reviews
.19 km away
Surf School Boardwise Unawatuna
39 reviews
.22 km away
Akmal Ayurvedic & Herbal Tea
11 reviews
1.25 km away
Sithma Gems & Jewellery
13 reviews
1.25 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
micheleduffy123
4 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Simone L | Property representative |
Update: credit/debit cards are now accepted
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

The Shack Beach Cafe, Galle - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Shack Beach Cafe

Yes, The Shack Beach Cafe offers takeaway services.

The Shack Beach Cafe is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5