We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$40 - US$40
CUISINES
Barbecue, African
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
31
7
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
31
7
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 21 January 2021 via mobile

Currently not operational, saw it during our boat drive Should be put on the top of ones to do list They serve all kinds of meals you could think of, including game meat

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 January 2020

Beyond location, The Raft Floating Restaurant has little to offer. The entire experience was underwhelming and has been oversold. A very poor drinks selection, unenthusiastic staff and average, under-catered food. The main meal is not a buffet, rather a self-serving service. Beyond the mandated welcoming...song sung by the staff, there was not even some soft music playing in the background for ambience. There is so much potential which is under-utilised. Would not recommend.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
FLAMEOFAFRICA, Product Marketer at The Raft Floating Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2020

Good day Thank you for your comments on your Raft Experience. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy this activity and felt that it had been oversold. This experience is sold as a rustic experience i.e partaking of a simple barbeque whilst enjoying the...More

Reviewed 17 July 2019

We spent a month in kasane and enjoyed several game drives and river safaris with flame . We cannot really describe the experience in a way that will do it justice , you just need to see for yourself why flame are the experts ,...we had three different guides over the month we visited sam, n’jay and marradona . They are all experts each one brought out the most amazing facts about the wildlife , got us close enough to enjoy the experience but always respecting the wildlife’s home and habitat, marradona’s skils as a bushman are incredible it’s like he’s at one with the nature understanding their moves and reactions and helped us all to have even more awe for the beautiful creatures that live in the chobe national park and river . A truly incredible experience was had by us all with flame , topping it off before we left with a booking on the raft which was out of this world !! Our recommendation is head to “flame for game “and on the journey they will unlock your mind from all the distractions of modern living to be at one , with the wild beautiful and incredible African land and animals of Botswana! A big thank you to all the team at flame from the management to the office booking team and the guides for making our trips so enjoyable, we will be back 😀More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
FLAMEOFAFRICA, Product Marketer at The Raft Floating Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2019

Thank you for the splendid review! We are extremely pleased that your introduction to the Chobe area and experience with our guides and company went beyond your expectations.The compliments will certainly be passed on to all involved . We look forward to entertaining you in...More

Reviewed 30 May 2019

We took a nice boat ride to the raft had a wonderful welcome and some lovely BBQ cook perfect nice local beer, lovely too eat and look at the animals on the banks of the Chobe river

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 27 March 2019 via mobile

We had 2 amazing tours with our fantastic guide J‘nah. One boat safari and one morning safari. Whole family loved both. Amazing experience. Thank you!More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
FLAMEOFAFRICA, Director of Sales at The Raft Floating Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2019

Familylofts, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us .It is always wonderful to get such positive feedback. We certainly strive to give everyone a beautiful experience while on our safaris. We will let J'nah know how much you enjoyed is guiding. He...More

Reviewed 7 March 2019 via mobile

The day trip organised by Flame Of Africa was exceptional. It started with a 4 by 4 game drive followed by a boat ride to a floating raft for lunch and was finished off with game viwing from a boat. We had one of the...best days on our Epic African Adventure. We started off by having Sam our guide tell us what we would see on our game drive and it did not dissapoint. Sam was fantastic and stopped when asked, gave help when needed and was a joy to be with. His explanations of bird life, flaura and fauna and animal life was brilliant. The pontoon and meal for lunch was exceptional with staff singing and very happy to have you with them and the meal was a delight. The boat viewing of animals was fantastic and again Sam showed us all we needed to see. I cannot recommend this day trip enough it was awesome and needs to be done by all who can. You will definitely not be disappointed.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
FLAMEOFAFRICA, Manager at The Raft Floating Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2019

Steven, We are so delighted to hear what a wonderful day you had game viewing and having lunch on our raft! We are very proud of our staff and know they take every measurable step in making your experience special. Thank you so much for...More

Reviewed 26 February 2019

Short review; I honestly can not describe how incredible this day was. Our tour guide (sam) was amazing, and we couldn’t have asked for a better person to take us around. The day started with a 3hr safari drive, followed by a mid day lunch...on a beautiful pontoon, overlooking the Namibian boarder and finally finishing with a 3hr boat cruise around the Chobe river. Both the drive and boat trip included drinks. It was amazing! The staff were friendly and helpful. Would recommend to everyone! Long review; My my came to visit me during a short stay in Africa, so of course a safari was booked. I can honestly say it was better than I could’ve ever imagined. Sam, our tour guide, was the best we could’ve asked for. He was polite and friendly and he went the extra mile to make it as good as he could for us, even if it meant going out of his way. (I would highly recommend him if you can choose!) The safari started with a 3hr game drive, in which we were fortunate enough to see leopards, lions, elephants, giraffes, wild birds... just to name a few! Of course, you dont always get to see all these animals, but Sam was amazing, we asked and he delivered! The lunch on the river was beautiful. The food was delicious! A BBQ style with salads, meats, breads and roasted vegetables (food coma) all cooked to perfection. We were welcomed with a song by the staff and catered for exceptionally. We couldn’t have asked for better service. The boat trip in the evening was equally as beautiful. There’s something about watching the sunset whilst surrounded by hippos, crocs and buffalos. Sam again was great and did everything he could to make us feel comfortable. I could go on forever writing good things about this today. It’s one we will all remember and by far the greatest experience of my life (a few happy tears may have been shed). I can’t thank the staff, especially Sam, enough. I would recommend to everyone!More

Date of visit: February 2019
Helpful?
FLAMEOFAFRICA, Manager at The Raft Floating Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2019

Thank you so much for your glowing review. Nothing makes us happier than to hear our team is delivering personal and authentic service. We will pass along your heart felt comments to Sam, he is indeed a very valued guide. We look forward to having...More

Reviewed 9 November 2018

This restaurant is a great surprise on the Chobe River, adjacent to Chobe park. It's a fun stop and the food and service happen to be great. One of the day's highlights.

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?
Flame of Africa S, emarketing at The Raft Floating Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2018

Thank you for the good review. The Flame of Africa Team is extremely pleased that you enjoyed your visit and Lunch on the Raft. The Flame of Africa Team.

Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

Loved this extra feature during the Boat cruise with Flame of Africa...we stopped for a Lunch. It was amazing viewing all the wildlife and Birdlife are in abundance animals and views into the water and reserve are so relaxing. A delicious lunch with dessert as...well as Toilet facilities what a Novel invention this floating restaurant is!More

Date of visit: August 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

Whilst we did not eat on the raft, we did book a private half day game drive.It was awesome, as was Saruf our guide. We came across a lion on an elephant kill, giraffe, a pride of lions closer than we have ever been before,...many different buck including sable and puku and of course many, many elephants, all down by the river, not to mention the fabulous birding. A breakfast in the bush was included. Would throughly reccomend this company.More

Date of visit: July 2018
Helpful?
FLAMEOFAFRICA, e marketing at The Raft Floating Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

The Flame of Africa team is extremely pleased that you enjoyed the private Chobe game drive and thank you for the splendid review and will certainly pass your compliments on to Saruf. Regards The Flame of Africa Team “I hope you have an experience that...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Wild View Resorts
1 review
.42 km away
Chobe Safari Lodge
1 538 reviews
.92 km away
Pangolin Chobe Hotel
107 reviews
1.48 km away
Travelodge Kasane
27 reviews
1.76 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Old House
278 reviews
.99 km away
Pizza Plus Coffee & Curry
200 reviews
.41 km away
Chobe Safari Lodge Restaurant menu
227 reviews
.91 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
CARACAL Biodiversity Center
95 reviews
1.29 km away
Boab Prison Tree
19 reviews
.59 km away
Puku Safaris
13 reviews
.42 km away
Chobe Day Trips
113 reviews
.48 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Enkay76
4 February 2017|
Answer
Response from FLAMEOFAFRICA | Property representative |
Good day Thank you for your query. To avoid disappointment , it is always best to book in advance The Flame of Africa Team.
0
Votes
Dan H
7 May 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from fundionafrica | Property representative |
Hi Dan It is really easy!! We as Flame of Africa have two offices at Hunters Mall in the centre of Kasane and our jetty is right behind the Spar. Our staff will arrange to transfer you by boat to and from the Raft. Please... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Raft Floating Restaurant

The Raft Floating Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 5