We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$8 - US$16
CUISINES
European, Wine Bar, International
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (1 052)
Filter reviews
770 results
Traveller rating
420
258
54
27
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
420
258
54
27
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak cheesecake pizza great setting wine list tasting room african wines the food is great courtyard namibia meat waiters taxi
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came here during lockdown and everything was closed an empty. They did have takeaway service though. The burger was huge and pretty tasty, altough the breat crumbled in our hands and was probably a day old. The pizza was really bad, felt like it was...a heated up 3$ pizza straight from the freezer. Hope this is better after the lockdown.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 11 June 2021

We came here based on reviews as we had one night in Windhoek. The food is so delicious, the waitstaff is friendly and the atmosphere is great. When weather messed up our plans, we ended up having to stay in Windhoek for a second night...and we decided to come back again since our first meal was so good. The second meal was just as good, if not better. Definitely come to this restaurant, you'll love it!More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 10 June 2021 via mobile

Excellent restaurant with great service Good selections of wines Ribeye was a little dry - but acceptable Lovely venue with outdoors seating Definitely worth a visit

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 19 May 2021

The atmosphere is out of this world. The ambient is magical. Superb surroundings and an environment of professionalism and diplomacy. The meals are world-class. I really love the steaks and lamb chops. Its our family favourite.

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 10 May 2021

Great selection of salads, appetizers, and mains in this picturesque courtyard setting. Good selection of local wines and service was timely and polite.

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 April 2021 via mobile

A table was reserved. The dining area was overcrowded considering the times. Two out of three had prawns in the meal, None of which had been cleaned. What restaurant sends out dirty prawns on their plates!! Totally unacceptable. Poké bowl was definitely not poké, so...why advertise it as such? Do the research or go to Hawaii to see how it’s done. The contents were fine but did not constitute poké, also very slim pickings for nearly $200. Been here before but won’t be back. Waited ages for someone to collect plates and bring the bill. All in all, not a good experience.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Stellenbosch80GM, General Manager at The Stellenbosch Wine Bar and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2021

Hi lgriffiths2017, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your experience at the Stellenbosch Wine Bar. I do apologize that you had a less than desirable eating experience. Due to your critical response, we can now focus on our...More

Reviewed 6 February 2021 via mobile

We dined at Stellenbosch for the 2nd time. The 1st was disappointing so we wanted to give it another chance. But honestly, I just don't understand why it is ranked so high; it was fine, but that's all. In fact, 2 of our party of...3 were dissatisfied with their meals (and said something at the time). The courtyard is the best thing about it, in our opinion. It's not that there's anything wrong with it, but we eat out regularly and have fairly high standards, and we just don't understanding all the hype. Maybe it's like the expensive bottles of wine people think they HAVE to like or they'll be frowned upon... well, not us. Sorry Stellenbosch but you had 2 chances to impress and we are unanimous as a family, there won't be a 3rd.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 27 December 2020 via mobile

Nice outdoor setting, food was really good (we had sashimi, asparagus with hollandaise sauce, pizza and Atlantic salmon) and the wine we had was also spot on. Would certainly go back!

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 21 December 2020 via mobile

By far the best cheesecake in town, some of the most professional waiters you’ll ever come across, great ambience, fantastic food and an endless wine menu to revel in. There’s no two ways about it - Stellenbosch wine bar & tasting room is something truly...special!More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 31 July 2020

I love the stellenbosch. The food is great (a couple of exceptions) , the wine is amazing, good service and you feel like you are in a whole different world due to the great set up. Definitely recommend the ravioli and Pizzas.

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Pension Palmquell
88 reviews
.49 km away
Belvedere Boutique Hotel
137 reviews
1.09 km away
Hotel Heinitzburg
459 reviews
1.48 km away
Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel
67 reviews
1.80 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Stellenbosch Tasting Room
183 reviews
.03 km away
Sardinia Blue Olive
474 reviews
.29 km away
Heinitzburg Castle
193 reviews
1.50 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
African Extravaganza
7 reviews
.13 km away
National Botanic Garden of Namibia
77 reviews
1.39 km away
Anchor Adventures Namibia
5 reviews
.18 km away
Pharaohs Bar and Lounge
5 reviews
.29 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ianm798
9 March 2020|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from ann e | Reviewed this property |
We found the restaurant very accomodating. Just email them, you will need to book in advance anyway. Try and opt to dine in the courtyard. Good luck it is a very .... meat orientated country but the people are so lovely I am... More
1
Vote
Mark L
4 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 80MichaelS80 | Property representative |
Good day Mark Thank you very much for your query. Unfortunately we are closed on Sundays but our sister Restaurant, The Stellenbosch Tasting Room, is open for lunch from 12:00 to 15:00. The Stellenbosch Tasting Room is... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Stellenbosch Wine Bar and Bistro

The Stellenbosch Wine Bar and Bistro is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5