We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Erik's Fish and Chips

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Location and contact

Sponsored by: Erik's Fish and Chips

Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here

1. Delicious deep fried kiwifruit
1. Delicious deep fried kiwifruit
" Amazing donuts and kiwifruit."
JMOSmith
See reviews that mention kiwifruit
2. Fish and Chips available GF
2. Fish and Chips available GF
" It is fantastic food, service and all gluten free!"
wemyssfamily
See reviews that mention fantastic food
3. Lunch by the Lake
3. Lunch by the Lake
"This is a great alternative to pizza & burgers!"
parisbarce
See reviews that mention take away
About
Erik is passionate about providing you with a quality New Zealand fish and chip experience. Including Erik's hand crafted kumara wedges, deep fried kiwifruit and homemade hotdogs .Don't wait in line Order On Line for Pick Up or Delivery. Everything is available gluten free and is halal. We now have a trailer you can dine in. We look forward to serving you. We also have a trailer in Wanaka.
PRICE RANGE
US$3 - US$17
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Lunch
CUISINES
New Zealand, Seafood, Fast food, British
FEATURES
Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Takeout, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (634)
Filter reviews
599 results
Traveller rating
374
118
53
26
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
374
118
53
26
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish and chips calamari kiwi fruit deep fried banana tartare donuts wings potatoes blue cod kumara wedges light batter rice bran oil food van ordered blue family meal novotel hotel cooked fresh
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 599 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

Nice vibes at this food van serving a range of seafood at reasonable prices for Queenstown. Closes at 9pm. There are tables or you can take away. Tasty.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Grace B
Anna A, Manager at Erik's Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thanks for the review. We are pleased you enjoyed our seafood and prices

Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great value and wonderful staff! We stopped here mid afternoon after riding the gondola, the luge and shopping for a bit. It was tucked away in a quiet street with picnic tables where we could rest and savor their delicious food!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank ValhollerGirl
Anna A, Owner at Erik's Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for this great review. We are pleased you had a great time at Erik's.

Reviewed 5 days ago

We were looking for something low key for dinner and came across Erik’s. What a delight. Great fresh fish, cooked perfectly and when the weather is just right, sitting on the outdoor benches is spot on

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank 642grantm
Anna A, Owner at Erik's Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us and your awesome review. We are pleased you loved our fish and chips and surroundings

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Drove the length of NZ (well Hamilton to Queenstown) in January for a family holiday. As Kiwis we love the beach and fresh fish and chips. We were stoked to find Erik's fish and chips right by the beach as we were going for an...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank KarlLittle
Anna A, Owner at Erik's Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

WOW!!! we are pleased as a kiwi you loved our fish and chips, thanks for the awesome review

Reviewed 5 days ago

If you ever find yourself on the beach at Lake Wakatipu in Queenstown and you're looking for something to ease the hunger pangs, don't go past Erik's Fish & Chips! Beautiful gluten free batter, yummy chips and the best deep fried cauliflower you'll ever eat!...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank theofficenz
Anna A, Owner at Erik's Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

We look forward to seeing you back again, so pleased you loved the deep fried cauliflower

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

I was gutted ... After looking forward to fish and chips outdoors I ordered an old time favourite. Chips with curry sauce and cheese plus a piece of hoki and a spring roll. The fish was awesome, the curry sauce and cheese too BUT the...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Wanda22Rotorua
Anna A, Owner at Erik's Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you loved the fish but very sorry you did not love our spring roll that we have had awesome feedback about. Thank you for mentioning our customer service it is something we pride ourselves on so someone...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

NZ is renowned for great fish and chips but this place failed to deliver.Ive had better fish in the Australian outback. Great batter is easy flour and soda water but the fish and hot dogs looked like they had been thru a car wash. This...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank A5976TUtonym
Anna A, Owner at Erik's Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

We are sorry you did not enjoy our fish and chips like most people do. It sounds as though our thin crisp tempura batter was not to your liking, we serve less batter and more fish. We don’t only serve tourists we serve a large...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great little outlet tucked away behind the beach. We found it by accident whilst just wandering around. The fish and chips were perfect. The batter was not greasy and the food was nice and hot. It was windy but they have a small covered area...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank jtaylor145
Anna A, Manager at Erik's Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the 5 star review. We are very pleased you had a great experience and enjoyed your food

Reviewed 1 week ago

Glad I paid 1/2 price of Bookme as it would not have been worth full price. We brought 2 lots for 3 of us and it was way too much - 4 scoops of chips & 4 fish. Need a simpler option of 3 fish...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank helenw-Wellywood2000
Anna A, Owner at Erik's Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, our bookme page clearly says the deal is enough for 2 people , so we are sorry you made a mistake and over ordered. We are pleased you enjoyed your food .

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

burnt chippies and thin potato cakes don’t make for an ideal lake picnic. also the chick who served us was kinda rude and scared me a little

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank caitlinhetho
Anna A, Manager at Erik's Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are very sorry to hear this and we never like to hear that our staff have been rude. If you would like to contact us (anna@eriksfishandchips.co.nz) with your order details we would be happy to discuss your experience.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 59 nearby hotels
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
3 534 reviews
.04 km away
The Spire Hotel Queenstown
193 reviews
.04 km away
Eichardt's Private Hotel
313 reviews
.15 km away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
575 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 296 nearby restaurants
Taco Medic
1 181 reviews
.10 km away
Blue Kanu
1 132 reviews
.08 km away
@Thai - Thai Cuisine
465 reviews
.08 km away
Botswana Butchery
3 440 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 402 nearby attractions
Lake Wakatipu
758 reviews
.18 km away
Queenstown Garden
3 025 reviews
.09 km away
St Peter's Anglican Church
46 reviews
.08 km away
Artbay Gallery
17 reviews
.07 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
rachael s
18 November 2017|
Answer
Response from Anna A | Property representative |
We will be open from 12 noon to 9pm every day except for Christmas Day, we look forward to seeing you. Anna Arndt
1
Vote
EvelynA252
22 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Anna A | Property representative |
There is no need to book online you can just turn up and order. We are only 109 meters from the lake where there in plenty of space to eat and enjoy your meal. Thank you for your question .
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing