We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Erawan Thai Restaurant and Bar

15 Wolfe Street, Wynberg, South Africa
+27 21 797 5000
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good33%
  • Average6%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“crispy duck” (27 reviews)
“thai food” (18 reviews)
“dim sum” (20 reviews)
Open Now
Asian, Thai, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
15 Wolfe Street, Wynberg, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a well-established Thai restaurant with a good number of regulars. Nice menu choices, but the sushi is no longer on offer. Service efficient and PR friendly. Food well-presented and tasty. Parking often a problem in this area, especially when the Maynardville Theatre in...More

Thank royzaz
Reviewed 4 February 2018

We decided to eat at Erawan as we had to be in the area and we hadn't been for a while. I made a booking the week before with a very helpful gentlemen. Out table was ready and the service from start to finish was...More

Thank mightymousemdsm
Reviewed 22 January 2018

We have visited Erawan on a number of occasions and have never been disappointed. Pleasant ambiance and warm decor. Polite and helpful service. The food is very good and they are very happy to make changes to a dish too suit your particular taste. Great...More

Thank Aitchess
Reviewed 7 January 2018

We often eat here as we live nearby. The decor is an upmarket Thai restaurant. Service is swift and efficient. We took family visiting here for dinner over the busy New Year week and they loved it too. Lots of food choices including sushi but...More

Thank Poleinahole
Reviewed 20 December 2017

I have made a booking for this a while ago. I confirmed the booking via sms yesterday and then get an email to say my booking was cancelled. I am very disappointed with this and ask why the booking was cancelled? I called the restaurant...More

Thank 577janineh
ErawanCapeTown, Owner at Erawan Thai Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Dear 577janineh I can't help thinking you must have reviewed the wrong restaurant. We did not have a booking in your name. We do not have an sms booking feature for reservations and I handle all the emails for reservations. Please contact me on info@erawan.co.za...More

Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

Nice restaurant in a good neighbourhood. Good interior and the menu looked verry well.... but in mine opinion there are some things not well organised. When your wine menu offers pairings, then you need to have knowledge to recommend. We ordered 3 courses and had...More

1  Thank NoelNL
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

Perfect evening of delicious food, fantastic service and welcoming smiles! We were advised to book, it wasn't busy but would have been disappointed to miss out on such a good meal if they had been full. A must!!!

Thank Tracey W
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

Delicious but getting a bit on the pricey side. Very authentic Thai food, and they are generous with the prawns, etc. in their dishes, unlike many places.

Thank Nimzat
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

Erawan has to be one of my favourite spots in Cape Town. If you’re looking for authentic Thai food then this is the place for you. Not only is their food delicious, the service is incredible. The food came out quickly, the staff all served...More

Thank 16emilya
Reviewed 7 October 2017

My friend and I were the only patrons to start with at lunch today, until eventually two other couples arrived. But despite there being several staff members there, the service was virtually non-existent. Waitress plonked menu down and vanished. No one advised on the food...More

Thank CapeTownDi
Nearby HotelsSee all Wynberg Hotels
Highlands Country House
100 reviews
1.10 km away
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
219 reviews
1.31 km away
The Andros Boutique Hotel
267 reviews
1.86 km away
The Cellars-Hohenort
472 reviews
2.68 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Four & Twenty
208 reviews
.04 km away
High Tea
25 reviews
.80 km away
Bootlegger Coffee Company
52 reviews
1.33 km away
Nearby Attractions
WallendAir School of Paragliding
12 reviews
.76 km away
Wynberg Park
17 reviews
1.01 km away
Southern Suburbs
45 reviews
.94 km away
Chart Farm
64 reviews
1.48 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
15 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from SACLS | Reviewed this property |
Yes for sure there is nice arm chair seats available
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
12:00 - 10:00
12:00 - 10:00
12:00 - 10:00
12:00 - 10:00
12:00 - 10:00
12:00 - 10:00
12:00 - 10:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 15 Wolfe Street, Wynberg, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Wynberg
  • Phone Number: +27 21 797 5000
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Looking for a great restaurant?
Our global travel community is ready to help.
Join TripAdvisor