We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$18 - US$21
CUISINES
Steakhouse
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features, about
Sponsored by: The Hussar Grill Rondebosch

Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here

1. Premium Quality!
1. Premium Quality!
"Hussars Grill is the bench mark for quality meat in Cape Town."
K663MKmariong
See reviews that mention quality meat
2. No Corkage!
2. No Corkage!
"Best of all there is no corkage so you can bring in all your own wine."
Tracy B
See reviews that mention no corkage
3. 50 Years of Excellence!
3. 50 Years of Excellence!
"The best service, food and ambience ever."
VeaanB
See reviews that mention 50 Years of Excellence!
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveller rating
217
96
18
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
217
96
18
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews filet chocolate vodka creamed spinach cape town our waiter attentive service sides
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 22 February 2022

The Hussar had a good reputation when I grew up in Cape Town, so visiting from overseas I decided to have a meal here with my wife and daughter. While I’m used to the dark wood panelled interiors of steak restaurants, I do feel that...this one is due a bit of a spruce up. We were seated in a corner of the restaurant in between two other tables and it was tight, which likely resulted in the title of this review! I ordered the lamb chops, I ordered my daughter the fillet steak and my wife had the prawns. The prawns were good, the lamb chops were also good, although, I don’t understand why they don’t trim the skin. No matter how it’s cooked, the skin will never be edible. The stand out was the fillet. I think for the price, it’s great value. Sides were good, especially the chips, but we couldn’t eat the creamed spinach. It includes butternut and cinnamon, which gave it a flavour that we didn’t enjoy, but that’s subjective. Garlic roast potatoes were also good, but in hindsight……. Upon clearing the table our waiter dropped the dishes, including the dish that the potatoes came in, which deposited a Exon Valdez level of garlic oil/butter down my leg and brand new suede leather sandal! The waiter was extremely apologetic, but hey, these things can happen. I had expected the manager to come over (the whole restaurant saw what happened), to offer apology, some kind of solution to get my shoe cleaned etc, but nothing. At this stage I just wanted to get out and get cleaned up and try to rescue my shoe. I contacted the restaurant head office a day or two later to see if they wanted to offer some sort of recourse, without punishing the waiter, financially or otherwise. It’s been over a week with still no response and hence the title of my review. Accidents happen, but it‘s how you deal with it that sets institutions apart and in this case the Hussar has failed. I feel it a shame when action is only taken in response to public reviews.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Rondebosch, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2022

Dear Nicholas G, Thank you for your review of The Hussar Grill Rondebosch steakhouse. We are extremely disappointed to hear about your experience. We would like an opportunity to contact you and address your concerns with management. Could you kindly follow the link https://hus15.goreview.co.za/goreview-crm?revid=1eaAmy, so...More

Reviewed 2 February 2022 via mobile

Fabulous restaurant, we have been going there for years. However one very big mistake FAR TOO MUCH salt. The basting was shockingly over salted that we could not finish our meal and the chips were also so heavenly salted that each had to be wiped...before eating. At least a spoon of salt left behind in the bowl. Please guys , cut down on all the salt. We didn’t complain as the restaurant was full and the staff were very busy, however Damian and his shadow were excellent.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Rondebosch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2022

Good day, Janc1572Ka, Thank you for your kind words and wonderful review of our The Hussar Grill Rondebosch grill room. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the service. We are, however, sorry to read that the taste of your meal disappointed...More

Reviewed 7 January 2022 via mobile

We visited Hussar’s for the Date Night special. Great food, attentive service, excellent value for money. Chocolate vodka always a lovely way to end the meal!More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Rondebosch, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2022

Good day, Louiseg2766, Thank you for your kind words and wonderful review of our The Hussar Grill Rondebosch grill room. We are very happy to hear that you had such a lovely time dining with us. We look forward to many more excellent occasions with...More

Reviewed 22 October 2021

We booked a family outing and were told in by 17h30 and out by 19h00 which we accepted. Having finished our main meal my son asked at 18h46 if he could order a dessert. We were peremptorily told by the waiter that our time was...up. No queues outside. We have been patronizing the Rondebosch Hussar for 30 years since my wife and I were UCT students. Regrettably our last visit. Can a restaurant really be so insulting and rude to its patrons. It beggars belief. Adios Hussar.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Rondebosch, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2021

Dear Woodlandg2021, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We're very sorry to read about your experience with our staff. We would really like the opportunity to discuss this further and hopefully rectify the issue. Kindly provide us with your contact...More

Reviewed 7 June 2021

We recently went to Hussar Grill Rondebosch for dinner with friends and I can't praise it enough. Fantastic wine and food! Every single person at the table complimented their meals.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Rondebosch, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2021

Good day, Ash_Wainstein, Thank you for taking the time to visit and review our The Hussar Grill Rondebosch grill room. We pride ourselves on cuisine excellence - glad you experienced exactly that. We look forward to welcoming you back for another intimate experience. Best regards,...More

Reviewed 19 September 2020

We so enjoyed our first evening out in Cape Town post lockdown. The service was great, social distancing in effect and the food delicious. They have a great special on at the moment.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Rondebosch, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2020

Dear Vindigotravel, Thank you for taking the time to visit and review our The Hussar Grill Rondebosch grill room. We are so happy to hear that you received such fantastic service and that our service ambassadors were attentive to your needs. We do hope to...More

Reviewed 21 April 2020

A very busy local grill. I ordered the "Fillet Bearnaise". The meat was excellent, exactly "blue" as I want it. The sauce was good but no at par with the meat. The waiter was good and efficient, but not a "sommelier" , say he did...not recommend an wine just took the order. The on-line booking works perfect with confirmation of your bookingMore

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Rondebosch, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2020

Dear Kotikontu, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your perfectly-aged steak, and that the service was efficient. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best regards, The Hussar Grill

Reviewed 1 April 2020

I had my first 1 Kilo t-bone steak and I was not defeated. I even went back another time for another 1 Kilo t-bone steak. Lovely atmosphere with fantastic, welcoming staff. Would recommend to anyone looking for a good quality steak.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Rondebosch, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2020

Good day, Nathanuelwilliams, Thank you for your review of our The Hussar Grill Rondebosch steakhouse; your recommendation of us is very much appreciated. We pride ourselves on cuisine excellence and it pleases us to know that you enjoyed our quality steaks. We look forward to...More

Reviewed 16 March 2020 via mobile

Visited for the first time...invited for a birthday party...let me say I wasn't disappointed..best steak restaurant...i had a rump,mushroom sauce n saladMore

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Rondebosch, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2020

Dear 835Hervet, Thank you for your review of our The Hussar Grill Rondebosch steakhouse. We are very happy to hear that you had such a great time celebrating your friend's birthday party at our restaurant, and that you loved your food. We look forward to...More

Reviewed 6 March 2020

The best service, food and ambience ever. I love this place. They are always accommodating (even when we don't have a reservation). The staff are well trained, professional and just amazing. They don't have a high staff turnover, which says alot!!!. & well the food...is just amazing.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Rondebosch, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2020

Dear Veaanb, Thank you so much for your kind words and wonderful review of our The Hussar Grill Rondebosch grill room. We are happy to hear that you received great food and service from you Hussar Grill team. Looking forward to having you back for...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Banksia Boutique
174 reviews
.89 km away
Protea Hotel Cape Town Mowbray
139 reviews
1.93 km away
Southern Sun Newlands
650 reviews
2.02 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
463 reviews
2.10 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Fraiche Ayres Cafe & Restaurant
53 reviews
.78 km away
Cargill's
115 reviews
.45 km away
Al's Place
73 reviews
.48 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Irma Stern Museum
33 reviews
.58 km away
Mowbray Golf Club
17 reviews
1.37 km away
Rondeboschuhh Common
5 reviews
.95 km away
Newlands Rugby Stadium
159 reviews
1.41 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Peter-Paul M
28 January 2020|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from KAIZERCHIEFS | Reviewed this property |
One of our party of 4 is on a banting diet. She was good with all the options that were available. It did not have a specific heading choices of banting options.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Hussar Grill Rondebosch

The Hussar Grill Rondebosch is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5