We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chilliplum Bistro- MOVED

57 St Margaret Road | Richden's Village Centre. PHASE 2., Hillcrest 3610, South Africa
+27 31 765 2590
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent83%
  • Very good10%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“tacos” (4 reviews)
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
Contemporary, Fusion, Vegan Options
PRICE
R
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
57 St Margaret Road | Richden's Village Centre. PHASE 2., Hillcrest 3610, South Africa
All Details
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

After hearing only good things about this restaurant, I finally got a chance to try it. It’s almost my perfect place, I just eat low carb, so I’m super difficult. But what a delicious choice of food. So wonderful to find a restaurant that supports...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Sst4411
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

Very relaxed atmosphere and our party of 4 enjoyed excellent starters and all main courses we had is to be recommended. I had a peppered fillet steak done to perfection, without being asked how it should be cooked...sealed just off rare. Not too much interruption...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank andrewlO4481VZ
AlusruH, Owner at Chilliplum Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review Andrew L, we are so pleased you all enjoyed and we look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

Chilliplum has never disappointed and never will. With such wonderful lovely staff and an atmosphere to match, go here for an experience that won’t disappoint, ever.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank MonicaN2398
AlusruH, Owner at Chilliplum Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thank you Monica N for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your overall experience at Chilliplum Bistro. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Reviewed 2 August 2018

The food at Chilliplum is a "cut above" the rest. There is not another restaurant like it in the Hillcrest area. A fine-dining experience that makes me want to go back time and again to work my way through the menu to discover all the...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank keithbrown2016
AlusruH, Owner at Chilliplum Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thank you for such a lovely review keithbrown2016. We love the way you are 'eating' through our menu, whether it's a vegan or non vegan dish, you are open to trying everything. Chef Rob really is very creative indeed. We look forward to seeing you...More

Reviewed 30 July 2018

such a wonderful experience. I normally feel quite limited as to what I can eat at restaurants due to being allergic to nearly everything food wise but Chiliplum caters for everyone. My boyfriend and I went twice last week.. their vegan lasagne was outstanding and...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank TayliaK
AlusruH, Owner at Chilliplum Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thank you for such a wonderful review Taylia K. We are so pleased you were able to 'dig in' and enjoy without worrying about your allergies. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 27 June 2018

The spicy tomato and fennel soup is a must. Don't miss out on the ribeye steak with grilled veggies. The Whale Haven Merlot was worth it.. service and ambience was excellent as usual. Well done Rob and Ursula. Will be calling in again.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank skyelee1
AlusruH, Owner at Chilliplum Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Back again! Thank you Skylee1 for your constant support each time you are in town. We will see you when you're next in Durbs!

Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Amazing vegan menu 🌱 Delicious food! Great service. Absolutely loved it and highly recommend it to vegans/vegetarians! :)

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Katya F
AlusruH, Owner at Chilliplum Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thank you for your lovely review Katya F, our resident vegetarians / vegans do keep coming back! So pleased you enjoyed, we look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Brilliant food with stunning presentation. Service was on key as well and the owners are really hands on.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank NikhilG838
AlusruH, Owner at Chilliplum Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thank you for you awesome review Nikhil G! Hands on is the only way to go. We look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed 1 June 2018

Had dinner there with my mom last weekend was very tasty meal and well presented. Service was excellent a real must try for those who have not been there yet

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank PaulS12941
AlusruH, Owner at Chilliplum Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thank you for your lovely review PaulS, we really appreciate it and are so pleased you enjoyed. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

We looked forward to a vegan lunch. The waiter was very helpful. We had a vegetable curry which tasty however was watery and expected more vegetables. My wife ordered pumpkin fritters which was undercooked and sauce was not pleasent. I had homemade ice cream which...More

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank andrec62
AlusruH, Owner at Chilliplum Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thank you for your review andre62. This is definitely not our norm and I have spoken to Chef Rob. We hope that you will try us again, so we can rectify the problem. Apologies for your mediocre experience.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Makaranga Lodge
153 reviews
5.62 km away
Splendid Inn Pinetown
301 reviews
10.76 km away
Coastlands Musgrave Hotel
315 reviews
23.63 km away
Emakhosini Hotel On East
13 reviews
23.94 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Mo-zam-bik Hillcrest
186 reviews
.51 km away
Stretta
185 reviews
.27 km away
Butlers Restaurant and Event Venue
69 reviews
1.04 km away
Jack Salmon Fish and Grill
51 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Attractions
Aqua Wild Africa
18 reviews
3.12 km away
The Puzzle Place
14 reviews
4.49 km away
Giba Gorge Mountain Bike Park
107 reviews
5.60 km away
Makaranga Botanical Garden
94 reviews
5.76 km away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
US$2
Cuisine
Contemporary, Fusion, Vegan Options
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 14:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 15:00
17:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 15:00
17:00 - 21:00
Thursday
11:30 - 15:00
17:00 - 21:00
Friday
11:30 - 21:00
Saturday
11:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 57 St Margaret Road | Richden's Village Centre. PHASE 2., Hillcrest 3610, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  KwaZulu-Natal  >  Hillcrest
  • Phone Number: +27 31 765 2590
  • E-mail
Description
Chilliplum is an innovative fusion concept, which has grown over the years from a passion for growing, cooking & serving great tasting food!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing