We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lupa Osteria Restaurant

14 Old Main Road, Hillcrest 3610, South Africa
+27 31 765 3059
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good32%
  • Average13%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“veal” (14 reviews)
“pizza” (31 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Italian, Pizza, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
14 Old Main Road, Hillcrest 3610, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Weekend of the 2nd September 2017 was Grandparents Day and we wanted to celebrate our folks arriving to visit, so we brought then to Lupa - always a tough call because my Mom is a regte-egte Italian cook. But the visit did not disappoint .......More

Thank SonZD
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very crowded restaurant with a poor layout. The food was average and the service shocking. Perhaps management need to offer staff some training. We had the pizzas and I must say that the two time I ate there the standard had dropped

Thank bn412
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Don't have to say too much about the food as always delighted with it. However I have to mention the excellent service we got from Zinhle on our latest visit to a favourite eatery. Zinhle has a wonderful smile and a great attitude for a...More

Thank Peter M
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

The food and staff at this restaurant is always of a high standard. I have never been disappointed in any of my numerous visits

Thank 7Kathleen7
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Had delicious food and cocktails at Lupa this past weekend with the girls! Our waitress was friendly and efficient and most importantly the pasta was amazing!😍

Thank Danielle S
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

Food were good, amy veg pizza tasted like anchovies, think the pumpkin was dine in a pan that was mot cleaned properly. Rest of food were lovely. Meatball pasta were good but good do with more flavor. Sarah was ok and the marianna was excellent,...More

Thank Gwendoline l
ChrisBlack1977, Owner at Lupa Osteria, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Hi Gwendoline Thank you for your kind comments about our service and pasta. I will speak to our pizziolas to ensure they are following the preparation procedures to ensure everything is perfect the next time you join us. Kind Regards Chris

Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

First time it was outstanding; 2nd time it was mediocre; today it was poor: waitresses chat to each other and neglect customers. If the food was outstanding it would have been good but I got my fillet very well done to cremated (I ordered it...More

Thank 607willemv
ChrisBlack1977, Owner at Lupa Osteria, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Hi Willem It seems we completely let you down for lunch. There is never an excuse for bad service and the staff concerned have been made aware of the complaint and are subsequently re-training. I'm glad our managers offered you a glass of wine but...More

Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

My meal that was ordered came to the table incorrect. Then the chicken was raw, not undercooked, raw. The waitress even tried to argue over the issue. Friends who ordered the fillet were happy with their meal. Avoid the calzone at all costs.More

2  Thank Warren H
ChrisBlack1977, Owner at Lupa Osteria, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Hi Warren. I must sincerely apologize for your poor experience at Lupa Hillcrest. I have investigated the matter and it seems we didn't perform anywhere near what we should. I would love the opportunity to win you back as a loyal guest, so if you...More

Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

Friday night dinner at Lupa hillcrest was disappointing. The restaurant was overcrowded. We were allocated a table where we were constantly bumped by patrons and waiters. We arrived at 7.30. Our main meal was ordered at 8.15. Only a few vegetarian options were on offer...More

1  Thank MandySA01
ChrisBlack1977, Owner at Lupa Osteria, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Hi Mandy I'm so sorry to hear that you didn't have a great experience . It seems we dropped the ball completely and furthermore let you down from the service to the food. I am upset that you left our restaurant unhappy and would love...More

Reviewed 29 May 2017

The food is really good but on more than one occasion a manager has screamed at a staff member so that the whole restaurant can hear and or see. It is extremely uncomfortable for the patrons besides being really embarrassing for the staff member. The...More

1  Thank Mishel20
Management response:Responded 31 May 2017

Good Morning I am writing this to apologize for the way I spoke one of our staff members on Saturday night. There is simply no excuse for losing your temper in public and I should never have spoken to him like that , regardless of...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Oscars Cafe
257 reviews
.05 km away
Olive & Oil
172 reviews
.04 km away
Jack Salmon Fish and Grill
21 reviews
1.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Aqua Wild Africa
9 reviews
1.92 km away
Makaranga Botanical Garden
69 reviews
4.51 km away
The Puzzle Place
9 reviews
5.72 km away
Watercrest Mall
13 reviews
5.84 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Lupa Osteria staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
17:30 - 20:30
12:00 - 15:00
Monday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 21:30
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 21:30
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 14 Old Main Road, Hillcrest 3610, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  KwaZulu-Natal  >  Hillcrest
  • Phone Number: +27 31 765 3059
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing