We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Butlers Restaurant and Event Venue

24 Old Main Road, Hillcrest 3610, South Africa
+27 31 765 3850
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good18%
  • Average11%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“seared salmon” (2 reviews)
“ribs” (3 reviews)
“crab cakes” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
24 Old Main Road, Hillcrest 3610, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been to Butlers twice now and both times were wonderful experiences. Our first visit was in April this year, when my husband and I took my parents out for dinner. Three of us enjoyed steak done to perfection (medium-rare, the only way to...More

Thank 712robyna
Butlers H, Manager at Butlers Restaurant and Event Venue, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely review We hope to see you soon. Regards

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well We decided to have a bite and a glass of wine for Sunday lunch We booked and brought our own wine The service was good but not great as we spent large portions between 12:30 and 4pm where nobody bothered to check if we...More

Thank Ray E
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have been here on a number of occasions and have nearly worked my way through the menu. It is one of those establishments where you can take friends out for a meal safe in the knowledge that they will deliver and there will not be...More

Thank KLBTraveller
Reviewed 8 May 2018

This restaurant is got quality food, good atmosphere, good service and fantastic decorations. I am putting this restaurant at top of my list. I loved it and I can recommend it to anyone who wants to have a special occasion. The only thing that I...More

Thank lindaz410
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Our waitress, Sphelele appeared very inexperienced. She came to us to take our orders after we had been seated for +- 20 minutes & I pointed out we didn't have menus. She rectified that & took our drinks order. Some time elapsed again before she...More

Thank TnTdurbs
Butlers H, Owner at Butlers Restaurant and Event Venue, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Good Day we do apologize for the poor service and experience you had at Butlers restaurant and its definitely not what we are striving for, we do thank you kindly for your review and we will address the situation accordingly, its reviews like yours that...More

Reviewed 14 March 2018

I was recently on holiday in South Africa and while in Durban we ate at Butlers. The menu was well planned, the food delicious and the service excellent. I espically enjoy how they catered for our kids and the beautiful family environment we experienced. It...More

Thank rheapacaud
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

Very pleasant evening. Food very good, staff very friendly and ambience brilliant. Will definitely return.

Thank JackieShane123
Butlers H, Owner at Butlers Restaurant and Event Venue, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

thank you Shane Kruger for the fantastic rating and review of our restaurant

Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

We booked Butlers for New Year’s Eve and what a treat. Starters where great, buffet was awesome, pudding was average. The service is great, staff always very attentive. Very good atmosphere. Lovely spot for Romantic dinner especially if weather is great and you can sit...More

Thank Dreamer1001
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

As a vegan, I was very disappointed to find out that there’s no alternative to cow’s milk at Butlers restaurant. So vegan or lactose intolerant people can’t enjoy a cup of cappuccino there. I’d recommend to have some soya and/or almond milk available.More

Thank Katya F
Butlers H, Owner at Butlers Restaurant and Event Venue, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Good Day Katya we do apologize for not having an alternative to cows milk in our restaurant, the reason for this is we do not have a large lactose or vegan audience, however we will gladly source the products should you wish to join us,...More

Reviewed 23 January 2018

We walked into this beautifully set out restuarant, which is rather big, but when you sit down it has a wonderful atmosphere and somehow feels cozy. The service was great, with a friendly and helpful waiter. The main course was OUT OF THIS WORLD -...More

Thank Lyn B
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Hillcrest Hotels
Makaranga Lodge
144 reviews
4.69 km away
Splendid Inn Pinetown
300 reviews
9.75 km away
Coastlands Musgrave Hotel
289 reviews
22.65 km away
Emakhosini Hotel On East
12 reviews
22.98 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Oscars Cafe
293 reviews
.18 km away
Olive & Oil
191 reviews
.22 km away
Stretta
182 reviews
.96 km away
Nearby Attractions
Aqua Wild Africa
11 reviews
2.13 km away
Makaranga Botanical Garden
86 reviews
4.83 km away
The Puzzle Place
13 reviews
5.51 km away
Watercrest Mall
14 reviews
5.87 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
scox125331
29 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Lesley1222 | Reviewed this property |
Hi, it’s on a Tuesday lunch and dinner.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$5 - US$13
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 16:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 24 Old Main Road, Hillcrest 3610, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  KwaZulu-Natal  >  Hillcrest
  • Phone Number: +27 31 765 3850
Description
Ladies and gentlemen, the touch of class Hillcrest has been longing for has finally arrived! Here, Tuesday through Sunday, you will be waited upon by our friendly, well trained butlers whom will see to it that you experience true, fine dining. We also offer our magnificent 200-seater venue for hire - for weddings, parties and other functions.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing