We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Butlers Restaurant and Event Venue

Is this your business?
24 Old Main Road, Hillcrest 3610, South Africa
+27 31 765 3850
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good20%
  • Average9%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“seared salmon” (2 reviews)
“ribs” (3 reviews)
“crab cakes” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Italian, Steakhouse, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
24 Old Main Road, Hillcrest 3610, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2018

I was recently on holiday in South Africa and while in Durban we ate at Butlers. The menu was well planned, the food delicious and the service excellent. I espically enjoy how they catered for our kids and the beautiful family environment we experienced. It...More

Thank rheapacaud
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

Very pleasant evening. Food very good, staff very friendly and ambience brilliant. Will definitely return.

Thank JackieShane123
Butlers H, Owner at Butlers Restaurant and Event Venue, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

thank you Shane Kruger for the fantastic rating and review of our restaurant

Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

We booked Butlers for New Year’s Eve and what a treat. Starters where great, buffet was awesome, pudding was average. The service is great, staff always very attentive. Very good atmosphere. Lovely spot for Romantic dinner especially if weather is great and you can sit...More

Thank Dreamer1001
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

As a vegan, I was very disappointed to find out that there’s no alternative to cow’s milk at Butlers restaurant. So vegan or lactose intolerant people can’t enjoy a cup of cappuccino there. I’d recommend to have some soya and/or almond milk available.More

Thank Katya F
Butlers H, Owner at Butlers Restaurant and Event Venue, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Good Day Katya we do apologize for not having an alternative to cows milk in our restaurant, the reason for this is we do not have a large lactose or vegan audience, however we will gladly source the products should you wish to join us,...More

Reviewed 23 January 2018

We walked into this beautifully set out restuarant, which is rather big, but when you sit down it has a wonderful atmosphere and somehow feels cozy. The service was great, with a friendly and helpful waiter. The main course was OUT OF THIS WORLD -...More

Thank Lyn B
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

We booked butlers for a family meal out and weren’t disappointed. We had drinks outside in the courtyard first and despite the Hillcrest rain and cold (in summer), they accommodated us with gas heaters and umbrellas. We were a large group and they set up...More

Thank michellelS1027NY
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

I went on a one man mission to have a good lunch while i finished up some work and was really craving a steak and i remember how good butlers were , so i went back to them . The staff were very accommodating seated...More

Thank stephen m
Reviewed 7 January 2018

We visited Butlers restaurant while on holiday in Durban, after receiving a recommendation from a friend. It's a beautiful venue with an elegant atmosphere and perfect for any celebration or occasion. The service is impeccable and the food is incredible - the menu has a...More

Thank hollzibee
Reviewed 22 December 2017

Food selection to suite all palates. Service attentive, and fast enough to notice. Really great atmosphere if you want a romantic evening.

Thank P8806FXgm
Reviewed 21 December 2017

''Wow ''the best Ribs we have ever had and generous, tender portions .The restaurant was full but Silindile the butler made a plan and gave us the best service we have had by far. Not to forget the fresh ice cold draft beer. We definitely...More

Thank Clive308
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Hillcrest Hotels
Makaranga Lodge
139 reviews
4.69 km away
Splendid Inn Pinetown
299 reviews
9.75 km away
Coastlands Musgrave Hotel
274 reviews
22.65 km away
Emakhosini Hotel On East
10 reviews
22.98 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Oscars Cafe
282 reviews
.18 km away
Olive & Oil
190 reviews
.22 km away
Stretta
178 reviews
.96 km away
Nearby Attractions
Aqua Wild Africa
11 reviews
2.13 km away
Makaranga Botanical Garden
83 reviews
4.83 km away
The Puzzle Place
12 reviews
5.51 km away
Watercrest Mall
14 reviews
5.87 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
scox125331
29 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Lesley1222 | Reviewed this property |
Hi, it’s on a Tuesday lunch and dinner.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$5 - US$15
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 16:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 24 Old Main Road, Hillcrest 3610, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  KwaZulu-Natal  >  Hillcrest
  • Phone Number: +27 31 765 3850
Description
Ladies and gentlemen, the touch of class Hillcrest has been longing for has finally arrived! Here, Tuesday through Sunday, you will be waited upon by our friendly, well trained butlers whom will see to it that you experience true, fine dining. We also offer our magnificent 200-seater venue for hire - for weddings, parties and other functions.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing