We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pebble Beach Restaurant Cafe Bar Rooms

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Single-use or sanitised menus
Read more
Updated 20/09/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 20/09/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
Welcome to Pebble Beach Restaurant Bar Cafe & Rooms. We are a relaxed coastal dining restaurant with a stunning vista, & breath taking views along the Dorset & Hampshire coastline. Both the restaurant and the bar are firmly, and independently established as great places to eat in Barton on Sea, as well as meet, drink and relax! Pebble Beach can be found in Barton on Sea boasting an superb Seaview, including the start of the Solent Way which spans the length of Keyhaven Nature Reserve. With its magnificent cliffs, sweeping coastal scenery and pretty water meadows, it is a little piece of the New Forest which is perfect for outdoor explorers. Check our website All the best!
PRICE RANGE
US$20 - US$49
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
Seafood, Bar, Pizza, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Street Parking, Wine and Beer, Waterfront, Beach, Dog Friendly, Family style, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (1 737)
Filter reviews
1 729 results
Traveller rating
960
379
208
115
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
960
379
208
115
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lobster turbot bread sea bass souffle prawns soup fries lamb filet ice cream isle of wight the penthouse main course fish dishes special occasion staff were attentive
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed today

I don't often write reviews, but felt strongly enough to do after our dinner at Pebble Beach. We live locally and first went to Pebble Beach in about 2008 when we were very impressed and vowed to return one day. On my recommendation, my children...kindly gave my husband and I a gift voucher for £120 for Christmas 2020. We went yesterday, the day after my birthday, and I was very excited. Sadly, it was a huge disappointment for both of us:- 1) The table was very sticky and when asked why was told it was due to the sanitiser they use. To be honest, they could have gone over it with a wet piece of kitchen roll or something as it didn't feel nice at all. 2) The table was just bare when we arrived and not laid up at all with no cutlery, glasses, etc. As it is supposed to be a 'high-end' restaurant this surprised me - it always makes a restaurant look more welcoming. 3) Our waiter was nice enough, but did look very scruffy - in fact all the waiting staff were wearing quite a mis-match of uniform apart from the aprons. 4) We ordered everything at once - the most expensive Rose wine at £38 (because we had the voucher!), together with sparkling water and lots of ice, some bread to start with and our starter and mains. 5) The drinks arrived first - the water was lovely and cold with ice. When we tasted the wine it was at room temperature! Not a good start. The waiter had brought an ice bucket, but the ice barely came up to a quarter of the side of the bottle. We asked for more water and ice and when he returned it was only up to a half! We waited a good 20 mins before trying the wine again and it was still too warm. So, I approached the manager, Joe, who went and got a replacement bottle. When we tried it it was only marginally colder than the first bottle - when I asked if he had got it from the back of the fridge/chiller he just said that it was not good to overload a fridge and didn't apologise! We waited another 30 mins for the wine to chill and even then it was only better once we had diluted it with ice!! 6) We waited about 20 minutes after we got the drinks but the bread didn't arrive, so I had to ask another waiter for it. By this time we had been in the restaurant for over an hour! 7) My husband had the double cooked cheese souffle, which was tasty, and I had the crab with guacamole, the latter was ok but not spicy or very tasty. 8) For the mains my husband had the lamb cutlets, which were cooked well to his taste, but there was so much fat on them. We had ordered a side dish to share of small roasted potatoes in caramelised onion. They were new potatoes cut in half, which is fine and I often do this, but not crispy at all and they tasted as though they had just been microwaved to warm up. 9) I was very disappointed with my fillet steak, which I normally love. It was cooked rare, as I like it, but was the opposite of 'melt in the mouth'. It was tough and very sinewy, and I actually left a quarter of it! 10) Because of the generous gift voucher, we decided to order puddings. My husband had the profiteroles, which he said were ok, but I ordered the local cheese and couldn't believe the portion sizes - and for £6.95!! There was a soft brie like cheese which was only about an inch long (one small mouthful), cheddar and the Blue Viney - all absolutely tiny. I was given enough crackers for treble that amount of cheese!! And all this came to £135 with the service charge added!!! Far far too much for the type of meal we had had. Sadly, the whole experience was one of complete disappointment and I will not be recommending it to any of my local friends.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Pebble Beach Restaurant & Rooms, General Manager at Pebble Beach Restaurant Cafe Bar Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dear Skiandsailingsue Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experience was not up to your expectations In regards to the stickiness of the table once again our apologies, our Covid safe disinfectant is so efficient that sometimes might leave a...More

Reviewed 2 days ago

Finally got to visit Pebble Beach after hearing how good it was. We were shown to our seats and given menus. After 20 minutes I had to go to the bar and ask to order drinks, 10 minutes later drinks came and the waitress took...our food order. 25 minutes later food arrived and my husband's meal was acceptable but mine was only just warm. We asked for the service charge to be removed which the waitress quickly did as she said the service was very poor! Waiting a total of 55 minutes for drinks and food is not our idea of a pleasant experience and we will not be visiting again.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Pebble Beach Restaurant & Rooms, General Manager at Pebble Beach Restaurant Cafe Bar Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dear judyaK729PN Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experience was not up to your expectations and that you may have experienced a delay ordering your beverage and your food. Unfortunately based on your username I am not able to...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We spent a wonderful afternoon having the most fabulous 3 course lunch. The food was outstanding and The views are simply stunning. The staff were amazing and very attentive. Fabulous Cliff top bar that is attached to the main restaurant is a great area to...relax after lunch. We will definitely be returning to this award winning restaurant it lived up to our expectations and more.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Pebble Beach Restaurant & Rooms, General Manager at Pebble Beach Restaurant Cafe Bar Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dear 07953ZXvanessar Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Pebble beach and glad to hear that you enjoyed our new Sunset Bar Al Fresco dining experience! We very much look forward to welcoming...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Visited Pebble Beach on a friends recommendation. Was looking forward to it as they couldn’t speak highly enough of it but left extremely disappointed. On arrival, we were shown to our seats and given menus. 20 minutes later and after prompting a member of staff,...our drinks and food order was taken. 30 minutes later, food arrived at the table but still no drinks! Had to again prompt a member of staff to ask where our drinks were and it was another 10 minutes before we got them. Waited again for our table to be cleared at which point we asked for the bill. 20 minutes, you guessed it, still waiting! Paid the 10% service charge as we just could not be bothered to spend more time waiting and we just wanted to leave. Hate saying this, but the service was dreadful and we will not be returning.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Pebble Beach Restaurant & Rooms, General Manager at Pebble Beach Restaurant Cafe Bar Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dear KLM_DJM Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experience was not up to your expectations and that you found our service dreadful. We would really appreciate if you would allow us the opportunity to welcome you back in order...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

My wife and I ate here for the first time on Thursday 10 June 2021. The restaurant has a great location and can't wait to have a table on the terrace when the sun is shining. We weren't sure what to expect but had three...courses of great food. Service was friendly and not over-bearing. We'll be back!More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Pebble Beach Restaurant & Rooms, General Manager at Pebble Beach Restaurant Cafe Bar Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dear JJCEaling, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent visit to us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for a table on our terrace in the sunshine. Warmest regards Joao Fernandez

Reviewed 5 days ago

Took a while to get drinks ordered outside. Then took our food order, finally the starters were plated inside before we sat down then tried to get someone’s attention on numerous occasions in the end had to go up mid starter to ask for someone...to take our wine & food order still didn’t arrive once again had to go up. Had starter with no drink! Didn’t have our choice of wine as it wasn’t cold! Had to ask again for water. Beer came with dirty glass, asked 3 times for serviette. Then had to go up & ask for the bill, bill arrived & guess what had to go up to ask for someone to take our cards to pay! Mid way asked for the Manager no apology, nothing complimentary on the bill & to add insult to injury they still added service charge by this point we were so fed up we just wanted to get out of there! Won’t be going back! Worse service we have ever had!More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Pebble Beach Restaurant & Rooms, General Manager at Pebble Beach Restaurant Cafe Bar Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dear steffi0072014 Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experience was not up to your expectations. We would really appreciate if you would allow us the opportunity to discuss this further. Based on your username we cant really identify you...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

I have just visited this restaurant where we had a very pleasant meal. Food was very good but was really upset with the lack of Covid care taken by the staff. Some staff were wearing masks or visors , some who were wearing masks were...not wearing them correctly and some were not wearing them aat all. I enquired and was told by a manager that he and some others were exempt and not only for medical reasons but because they just didn’t feel comfortable wearing one. On checking government rules it states that all hospitality staff must wear masks.I feel for the hospitality industry as they have been hit very badly but they must abide by the rules.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Pebble Beach Restaurant & Rooms, General Manager at Pebble Beach Restaurant Cafe Bar Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dear Barry F Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are pleased that you have enjoyed your meal. In regards to your comments towards Covid, please refer to the government website where you will find all the relevant information on face...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Called in by chance looking for a lunch venue when touring the area - what a lucky chance,. A well run and friendly restaurant with excellent food at reasonable prices. Excellent in every respect. Thank youMore

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Pebble Beach Restaurant & Rooms, General Manager at Pebble Beach Restaurant Cafe Bar Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dear Geoffp15 Thank you for your review. We very much appreciate your feedback in these difficult times. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal had a great experience with us We do hope that we are able to welcome you back in...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Ordered the Tortillas, just a bunch of old crush tortillas, tiny bit of mince and a sparse sprinkling of cheese, worse nachos ever, my partner ordered the calamari as a main and we queried if it was a starter as the portion was so small,...no garnish. I visited about 3 years ago and it was a fabulous place, couldn't rate it highly enough , so not sure what has gone so wrong! I did write to the Restaurant after our visit - 4 weeks ago but they have failed to make any contact by email, letter or phone, so clearly they have no interest at all in their customers or loosing businessMore

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Pebble Beach Restaurant & Rooms, General Manager at Pebble Beach Restaurant Cafe Bar Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dear lippy655 Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experience was not up to your expectations and that you feel that our standards have dropped. We have passed your comments on to the kitchen who always receives and sees our...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We did not have a good experience last year but put it down to being just a few days before a lockdown period. We, therefore, gave the restaurant another visit as it was always good in the past. Sadly, the standard remains poor in comparison,...starting with being ignored by 3 members of staff at checkin while the receptionist was on the phone for a considerable time. The wine, starters and deserts were acceptable but the duck pizza was overcooked with a very large inedible crust, the crab salad had been forgotten and had to be requested again. It then appeared to have just been removed from a very cold fridge so was tasteless and just served with some green leaves , half a cherry tomato and a slice of cucumber! We had to request water twice and the general attitude of the staff did not live up to the reputation, on being that the staff passed food across people instead of moving round even though there was plenty of room. Such a shame as now this is now crossed off our list for a repeat visit.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
Pebble Beach Restaurant & Rooms, General Manager at Pebble Beach Restaurant Cafe Bar Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dear, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experience was not up to your expectations and that you feel that our standards have dropped. Here at Pebble Beach we have had to embrace change and adapt to it like any...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
2 693 reviews
1.65 km away
The White House - Christchurch
66 reviews
2.33 km away
Premier Inn Christchurch Highcliffe hotel
1 126 reviews
2.82 km away
Lord Bute Hotel
557 reviews
3.25 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Cliff House Restaurant
966 reviews
.55 km away
Beachcomber Cafe
788 reviews
.07 km away
Bijou Coffee House
39 reviews
.04 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Sammy Miller Motorcycle Museum
527 reviews
3.36 km away
Forest Arts Centre
14 reviews
1.53 km away
Highcliffe Beach
390 reviews
1.88 km away
Taddiford Gap
5 reviews
2.69 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Freddy22
8 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 14 answers
Response from PebbleBeachTeam | Property representative |
No, the owner is the same.
1
Vote
LesleyH583
27 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from PebbleBeachTeam | Property representative |
Yes, we love dogs!
1
Vote
Escocesita
1 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from PebbleBeachTeam | Property representative |
We are very flexible, if there is any special food requirements we would ask you to please contact our team at 0142562777. We'll very happy to discuss your requirements with our lovely Chef.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pebble Beach Restaurant Cafe Bar Rooms

Yes, Pebble Beach Restaurant Cafe Bar Rooms is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Pebble Beach Restaurant Cafe Bar Rooms is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4