We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hideaway

St. Boniface Cliff Road | Just off the cliff path., Shanklin PO37 6ET, England
+44 1983 864145
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good21%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“pie” (9 reviews)
“mussels” (9 reviews)
Open Now
10:30 - 23:00 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
St. Boniface Cliff Road | Just off the cliff path., Shanklin PO37 6ET, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What can one say .. 🤗 the hideaway treat you as family. Walked in me and the troops and it was like the day b4 .Wez (grooming and selling cocktails ..) russ ...well ...!!! Didnt disappoint..(x4 hats this time ) ..food as always . 🤩😏simple...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank russellm394
Sharon V, Owner at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much, lovely review but only three stars😢😍!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pre booked by friends for lunch on Christmas Eve, having never been there myself I was looking forward to it. I was not disappointed! A lovely smiling welcome, fantastic views but wow the food was really good - I had pork belly and it was...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Jackie H
Sharon V, Owner at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much! Looking forward to seeing you soon😍!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Dined here this evening. Service was excellent. We were made to feel right at home. Food was superb, great home cooked fare. Stayed on for the quiz which was a giggle! Absolutely plan to return! Highly recommend!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank KateHolmes71
Sharon V, Owner at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely review😍

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My cousin hired the venue for a special lunch for his father's 90th. The staff were so friendly and accommodating and the food was excellent. Amazing views over Sandown bay. The interior is rustic and quirky, down to the novel salt and pepper pots -...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Peter V
Sharon V, Owner at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are so happy you enjoyed the night, thank you so much for your lovely comments😍! Xx

Reviewed 10 November 2018 via mobile

Delicious food, eclectic decor, lovely location, but most of all the most friendly and attentive staff who are an absolute credit to this business. Thank you 😊

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank MrsLeGass
Sharon V, Owner at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are very proud of our team too! See you soon! Xx

Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

We visited a Thursday evening and then for breakfast on the Saturday morning. Been before when we last came on holiday and we vowed we would be back and we couldn’t wait to get there. Evening meal was excellent, we had three courses and every...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Jayne M
Sharon V, Owner at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Thank you very much, hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

One would think one is a we bit educated. The reponce to the Hidaway BBQ .....very poor ..(its only taken them ..!! 'What 5-6months ...' i was there ..grt day .Sun shining.,beer slowing, and bbq at its best ..Yes it was a we bit load....More

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank russellm394
Sharon V, Owner at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Thank you! We did think it odd that the review came through so late in the year!!

Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

We had been meaning to visit this place having seen the signs in passing and finally did a few weeks ago. Glad we did. It is definitely off the beaten track - we parked in one of the closest roads and walked up the coastal...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Bob-Caz-Eva
Sharon V, Owner at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Thank you and look forward to seeing you soon!

Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

I would highly recommend The Hideaway. The food was delicious! And the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. And the view and location is awesome! I’ve not got a bad word to say about this place!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 505sophies
Sharon V, Owner at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Thank you for your lovely comments!

Reviewed 26 October 2018

We'd been tipped of about The Hideaway as excellent for food and views. On a scorching hot day we obviously chose the wrong time to visit. There was only BBQ on offer and, to be honest, a poor selection of ale. There was a DJ...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Stevenage104
Sharon V, Owner at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

So sorry you did not enjoy the party, we only have two of those a year. We realised at the time that the DJ was quite loud so asked him to lower the volume! Being such a small bar we can only have two real...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 114 hotels in Isle of Wight
The Channel View Hotel
477 reviews
.15 km away
Curraghmore Hotel
61 reviews
.21 km away
Mayfair Hotel
242 reviews
.22 km away
Haven Hall Boutique Hotel and Flats
77 reviews
.24 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Salix Beach Cafe
127 reviews
.16 km away
Blueberrys Cafe
68 reviews
.55 km away
The Steamer Inn Restaurant
1 663 reviews
.68 km away
Nearby Attractions
Shanklin Theatre
625 reviews
.98 km away
Shanklin Beach
205 reviews
.68 km away
Rylstone Gardens
280 reviews
1.22 km away
Shanklin Chine
2 370 reviews
.94 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
gemmab533
6 January 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Hillno72 | Reviewed this property |
We were there in August. I'm sure I saw someone with a dog in there.
0
Votes
Daniel A
4 May 2017|
Answer
Response from poshmoleken | Reviewed this property |
This restaurant is a short walk up the hill from the seafront at Shanlkin. We do not have a car and use public transport or our legs. From many of the hotels either around the old town or seafront walking distance is... More
0
Votes
V6878ENangelar
8 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from yvonne R | Reviewed this property |
I'm not sure because we walked but I'm sure it is accessible perhaps it would be best to phone the Hideaway for better info. Sorry i cannot help more.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$19
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
View, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 22:00
Monday
10:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:30 - 23:00
Thursday
10:30 - 23:00
Friday
10:30 - 23:00
Saturday
10:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: St. Boniface Cliff Road | Just off the cliff path., Shanklin PO37 6ET, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Isle of Wight  >  Shanklin
  • Phone Number: +44 1983 864145
  • E-mail
Description
Bar/Restaurant with amazing sea views above Shanklin Beach and over to Culver Down. Great food, lovely garden and friendly staff.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing