We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews


Food and ambience

Local cuisine, Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Fabulous Home cooked food in a 17th century inn with excellent wines and quality cask ales, roaring fires in winter, stunning beer garden in the summer. One of the best little pubs in Lancashire!
US$8 - US$27
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Bar, British, Pub
Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Television, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Traveller rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak kebab the pub beer garden food was lovely sunday lunch booked a table chips condiments menus
Selected filters
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful building looks lovely inside too but the food & service leave much to be desired. This was our first meal out since the start of lockdown so the experience was especially disappointing. We ordered a chicken burger without chillies as my daughter is very...sensitive to spicy food, it came drenched in chipotle sauce! We rechecked the menu and there was no mention of this sauce anywhere in the description and when we complained, the waitress who took our order stormed over giving me massive daggers defending the fact that she had removed the “extra” chillies – hmm…maybe if someone asks for chillies to be removed – maybe they don’t want the entire burger drenched in hot chilli sauce that is NOT mentioned on the menu!! Despite getting the price of the meal knocked off the bill it was still a very poor and expensive experience given that the other meals where underwhelming at best. PLEASE make your menu reflect the actual dish and employ some staff who actually care about customer service.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Reviewed 23 October 2021

We visited staff wonderful helpful just felt food wasn't as good as the last time! Also I think children's meals should include an ice cream with the main meal. Please use fresh potatoes for chips not frozen !

Date of visit: October 2021
Reviewed 30 September 2021

After moving into the area, we were really keen to try here after hearing about it from a few different people. However, after looking on the reviews on here, I was concerned that it was going to be a disappointment. Happily, I was worried for...no reason. We came on a Friday evening and got a table for two of us without needing to book - bonus! We shared a starter of messy fries - which were SO good... we are definitely coming back for those after a Sunday walk! We then each had a Steak as it was a Steak weekend. Both steaks were cooked to perfection and there were lots of different options to choose from to accompany. We felt that the value for money was great, and everything was priced in line with what you'd expect to pay. Additionally, the service was fab, as it has been every other time that we've popped in for drinks. We're currently planning our next visit to try the new Autumn menu which looks delish!More

Date of visit: August 2021
NWINNS, Owner at Holts Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2021

Thanks very much for your review, we try! Glad you liked the old place We really appreciate the positive review,

Reviewed 18 September 2021

This used to be a regular pub of ours some years ago but we had not been in for some years. I was pleased to say that not much has changed, particularly in that all of the original features and fittings are still intact and...none of the character has been lost. The outside area has been enhanced and there are plans to do further works. I had the "famous" garlic kebab which was amazing. I think we will not be leaving it so long until the next visit!!.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Reviewed 11 September 2021

Booked a table for Sunday lunch for a family birthday as the food is always delicious. Unfortunately, although the food was lovely (but Yorkshire puddings were very burned), the service was very disappointing. The pub was woefully understaffed for the amount of clientele. The queue...was out of the door and this is whether you’re ordering a pint of beer or ordering food for a party of ten. We waited 50 minutes for the main course and then I had to ask twice for the plates to be cleared. We were never asked how our food was or if everything was ok. Asked for the dessert menu and a small blackboard was plonked on the table. We surveyed the huge queue again and decided against ordering more drinks and dessert. The staff looked extremely busy and were trying to cope with the large numbers of customers so the lack of service isn’t really their fault. I just think that the management need to consider a better way of serving customers who want to buy food. With the good quality of food that is been served which isn’t priced at the lower end of the market then I don’t think it’s too much to ask to have a waitress taking your food and drinks order.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Reviewed 1 September 2021

We went on a Tuesday evening for their Steak Night. The four of us wanted our steaks done in different ways and we were all very happy with our meals. The beer (Timothy Taylor's Landlord) was excellent as well and, overall, the meal was excellent...value.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Reviewed 31 July 2021

I visited here a while back and the food was lovely. My mum wanted to take me out for a lunch as we haven't been out in a long time, we was really looking forward to having a catch up. However, we was both disappointed...with our visit. We visited yesterday and we was informed that we had to enter through the concervotory due to part of the pub being closed off ready to be 'done up'. We wasn't informed that in reality, we would be eating our meal why a decorator was painting about 10ft away from us! it stunk of paint as we was eating which wasn't pleasant at all, there was no windows open and it was so dark inside there, not a good atmosphere at all. To top it off the waiter who served us could of cracked a smile! I have never met a waiter so miserable in all my life, she wasn't friendly at all which also put a downer at our time at the pub. My mum also ordered a bottle of wine and only drank abit so asked for a bag to take the rest home. The other waiter said i'll go and get you one, we sat waiting for 10 minuets and looked over and seen him talking to someone at the bar. So we got up and left. We both won't be returning due to this experience.More

Date of visit: July 2021
mittyfamily, Owner at Holts Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2021

thanks for taking the time to post a review and the almost identical one on facebook, we are sorry you are so annoyed, I have reviewed your visit with the team and we would note you didn't say anything to us at the time of...More

Reviewed 20 July 2021 via mobile

Planned a visit for food and drinks, we didn’t book but when we arrived there were plenty of tables and we sat outside. We had a couple of drinks while waiting for people people to arrive. When we went to order food (around 7.15pm) we...were told that there was an hour wait for food and we couldn’t even look at a menu, this was not done apologetically and the staff member was fairly abrupt and rude. We were happy to wait for food but we were told we simply could not order, at the same time other people who had made a reservation but arrived later than us were allowed to order food. In the end we left and went somewhere else for food. I have never come across this system of not letting people order food, it seems like unreasonable and I think you should consider changing how you run your pub.More

Date of visit: June 2021
mittyfamily, Owner at Holts Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2021

The day of your visit had been incredibly busy prior to you arrival and as such there was a significant delay in waiting times. You will recall it was in the first week were Government restrictions had been lifted. We had, that very day, (because...More

Reviewed 20 June 2021 via mobile

We booked in for Father’s Day and we were not disappointed….we had to pre-order in advance of going. The food was lovely! Two of us had the chicken and chorizo spring rolls which apparently were stuffed full of meat. Some of us had the Turkey...roast dinner which was delicious and very filling m, loads of turkey! One of us had the Salomon salad and it was a large piece and very filling as well as tasty. My father-in-law had the steak and ale pie and as the plate was clean we can be assured it was delicious also. Desserts were had also and again good sized portions and very tasty. Service was a little slow but it was busy but it did give time for food to settle between each course. A very nice afternoon and would recommend a visit.More

Date of visit: June 2021
mittyfamily, Owner at Holts Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2021

thanks so much for your kind words,, it is much appreciated

Reviewed 24 May 2021

we fancied a treat out for a change and although its a good while since we have been was looking forward to eating there again now some restrictions covid wise have been lifted. we was not disappointed. covid restrictions were in place so we had...to book. we got the time we wanted. we had the garlic mushrooms to start off with and they were delicious the sauce was amazing. then we both had a sunday lunch. one turkey one beef. both dinners were really good and plentiful and a good choice of vegetables. the staff were very attentive but not in your face they were polite and very helpful. all round a very good experience one we will definately be repeating. thank you Yvonne.More

Date of visit: May 2021
mittyfamily, Owner at Holts Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2021

thanks so much for your kind words, the comments about the staff are particularly welcome as its been a long struggle for them this past 18 months!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel
612 reviews
2.18 km away
The Mount Hotel
394 reviews
2.59 km away
Holland Hall Hotel
31 reviews
3.09 km away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6, J25) hotel
379 reviews
4.17 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Babar Elephant
371 reviews
.43 km away
141 reviews
1.53 km away
The Robin Hood
159 reviews
1.05 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Greenslate Community Farm
32 reviews
.51 km away
Orrell Water Park
5 reviews
1.09 km away
The White Lion
19 reviews
2.48 km away
Beacon Country Park
49 reviews
4.49 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
5 February 2020|
Response from mittyfamily | Property representative |
Hi Sadie We have a full allergy program available in the pub Most dishes don’t have milk in them but we also have milk alternatives for drinks etc If you wish to discuss prior to your visit give me a ring on... More
17 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from NWINNS | Property representative |
hello what date would you be looking at please? We can do large bookings early in the week but not at weekends I'm afraid
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holts Arms

Holts Arms is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4