We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Graze

Crag House 4 Crag Brow | Lake Road / Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BX, England
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent89%
  • Very good8%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (17 reviews)
“flatbread” (37 reviews)
“flat bread” (15 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Contemporary, Cafe, British, Healthy, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
R
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Crag House 4 Crag Brow | Lake Road / Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BX, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So we happened to be right outside when Trip Advisor was consulted! Flatbreads were superb. Great spot with a street view down to the town. Highly recommended!

Thank Mark John W
Deborah B, Owner at Graze, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Glad you found us and that you enjoyed your visit. Thanks for the review.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So glad we found this place. We both had flat breads for lunch and then coffee and cake to follow. Beautifully made soya latte. Dairy free cakes are delicious. Service was also excellent

Thank PurpleRonnieD
Deborah B, Owner at Graze, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the lovely review. We have a very small kitchen but work very hard to meet our customers dietary requirements and it's great to know our efforts are appreciated!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Found this Cafe on a wander around Bowness, had Tea & Fruit loaf special,will return again on our next visit. Recommend.

Thank John H
Deborah B, Owner at Graze, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the review.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

An all round hit with an excellent range of breakfast and lunch options with influences from breakfasts from around the world. Staff couldn’t do more to accommodate and welcome their guests. We came two mornings and highly rate the breakfast bagel, breakfast ciabatta and the...More

Thank Claire C
Deborah B, Owner at Graze, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi ladies, thank you for the lovely review - really glad you enjoyed the choices on offer and look to seeing you next time!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was a surprising find for us at Bowness. A really imaginative and healthy menu at very reasonable prices. We would definitely recommend for those wanting a healthy lunch when in Windermere

Thank PaulOBrien186338
Deborah B, Owner at Graze, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for the review.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We ate here after reading reviews on trip advisor. It did not disappoint. I’m a vegetarian and quite fussy and had the falafel flatbread - delicious. Cakes was beautiful too!

Thank Melissa A
Deborah B, Owner at Graze, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We aim to please and glad you were not disappointed! Many thanks for the review.

Reviewed 9 May 2018 via mobile

Not being greeted upon walking in and told how to order at the counter initially caused confusion, but once you know how to navigate this little place, you will be rewarded with a tasty experience. Great home cooked delights await you. We had toasted bagels...More

Thank UKEssexFoodie
Deborah B, Owner at Graze, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Thanks for the review, really glad you enjoyed eating with us. Sorry for any confusion you encountered but we do not verbally tell customers how to order, we do have menus on all tables and on the front and back of each menu we advise...More

Reviewed 7 May 2018

We visited at 2.20pm on Saturday 5 May for lunch - we would have been there earlier if we'd been able to find a parking space sooner. I ordered 2 lattes at the counter and was told there would be quite a wait as there...More

Thank FionaHamilton
Deborah B, Owner at Graze, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

All of our dishes are made to order and, unfortunately, once they have sold out, they have sold out! As you are aware, especially since you also had difficulty finding a parking space, Bowness was extremely busy due to the bank holiday weekend. Saturday 5...More

Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

We found this place online whilst looking for somewhere for lunch in Bowness. The reviews were excellent and it catered to vegetarians well apparently so we thought we'd check it out. As we were walking in, a lovely couple were leaving and told us that...More

Thank carageous
Deborah B, Owner at Graze, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

What a lovely review, and glad your high expectations were met! We work really hard on our menu and as dishes are made to order we can allow for a certain amount of flexibility regarding dietary requirements. It can get very busy, especially since there...More

Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

We had the chilli flat bread and the falafel flatbread. Lovely. Great food and really nice owners. Small place on the corner and would definitely go again.

Thank Matt E
Deborah B, Owner at Graze, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Glad you enjoyed the flatbreads, we've just updated our menu for the summer and added the falafel but the beef has become a bit of classic so we kept it on! Many thanks for the review.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 hotels in Bowness-on-Windermere
The Royal Hotel
8 reviews
.13 km away
The Hydro Hotel, Windermere
1 301 reviews
.18 km away
Stags Head
382 reviews
.22 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
3 145 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Choccobar
894 reviews
.10 km away
Porto Restaurant
1 899 reviews
.13 km away
House of Siam
292 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Brant Fell Above the Bustle
120 reviews
1.00 km away
Lake Windermere
3 367 reviews
.57 km away
The World of Beatrix Potter
2 189 reviews
.08 km away
St Martin's Church
45 reviews
.21 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Rebecca W
12 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Deborah B | Property representative |
Hi, a large percentage of the menu can be made vegan, unfortunately it is not possible to give details of all the dishes here but please feel free to pop in a take a look at the menu when you are in the area. For your... More
1
Vote
Pinkesh S
16 April 2018|
Answer
Response from Deborah B | Property representative |
Hi, your question is not very clear but our menu is not solely vegetarian, we do have meat dishes on the menu and a number of our dishes can be made vegan, gluten free or dairy free.
0
Votes
Mark W
21 February 2018|
Answer
Response from Deborah B | Property representative |
Hi, we do not offer a full English breakfast as we aim to offer dishes that are "deliciously different". Our American style banana pancakes are part of our breakfast menu, which is served until midday. A savoury alternative... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$3 - US$8
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 15:30
Wednesday
10:00 - 15:30
Thursday
10:00 - 15:30
Friday
10:00 - 15:30
Saturday
10:00 - 15:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Crag House 4 Crag Brow | Lake Road / Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Bowness-on-Windermere
  • E-mail
Description
We are one of the smallest independent coffee shops and cafes in Bowness and operate as a two-man team. Our coffee is award winning and roasted in Cumbria, our teas are loose leaf and our hot chocolate is made from award winning solid chocolate. All of our dishes are prepared on site to order and we pride ourselves on offering deliciously different dishes created with the highest quality products served in a relaxed environment. We stop serving food 30 minutes before closing time and, during busy periods, dishes may sell out. Due to our size we are unable to take reservations.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;