We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Quay Inn

RR - RRR, British,
Quay Street, Minehead TA24 5UJ, England
+44 1643 702839
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good28%
  • Average14%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“beef” (6 reviews)
“potatoes” (4 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Quay Street, Minehead TA24 5UJ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 239 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

we were staying in Minehead for 2 days. we had an evening meal and a few drinks. the drinks were fresh and chilled to perfection. we were very surprised how nice our meals were. we were expecting ordinary pub grub but our meals were in...More

Thank Terry J
Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and a few friends went to The Quay Inn with the intention of eating a meal after watching the World Cup match. The lady behind the bar had obviously pre-judged us before engaging in conversation as her attitude and manner were extremely rude from...More

1  Thank mountainbikerlol
TheQuayInn, Owner at The Quay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

This is a family pub which welcomes everyone who knows how to behave. You are mistaken in the belief that all custom is good custom, your rowdy behaviour was off-putting for the lovely local people and holiday makers that use the pub. Thank you for...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We just popped in for a quick half during a evening stroll.Dont be fooled by the sign of the beer garden, it looks nothing like the picture, just a rough patch to have a smoke however it made us laugh and the flowers made up...More

Thank tabitha71
TheQuayInn, Owner at The Quay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I am completely at a loss. Yes their is a smoking area but the is also a patio area and big garden at the top of the stairs which is just like the picture. You are mistaken to say we are more interested in food...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We cannot really comment of the Quay Inn and its food as we were made so unwelcome we walked out. This was our first day (a Saturday) in Minehead and after a long journey due to traffic problems on the M5 we were desperate for...More

1  Thank 46 235
TheQuayInn, Owner at The Quay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

The thing I didn't understand was why you were so rude, aggressive and nasty. It was clear you were annoyed because we were not the only pub in the area that wasn't serving food but the way you spoke to me was unacceptable! Visiting your...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have been visiting Minehead for 20+ years now as my parents live there. The Quay Inn was given a facelift about 10 years ago by a local master of the pub refurb trade. Since he moved on the pub has blown hot and cold but...More

Thank Edmund N
TheQuayInn, Owner at The Quay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I'm glad you found what you were looking for. Although we sometimes seem quiet this is because we have an extensive beer garden and if the weather is good many of our customers avail themselves of it. I will pass on your comments to Danny...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were made very welcome, particularly my husband who was on his motabilty scooter. The menu was pretty much the usual pub food with a few exceptions. All 4 of us found the meals very good And enjoyable. The white wine was nicely chilled and...More

Thank kazzak21
TheQuayInn, Owner at The Quay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I am pleased you felt so welcome. It our aim to serve good quality food and drinks which are reasonably priced for all. The menu is changed often but we do try to keep the favourites that I people expect to find on a pub...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Having visited the venue in June with my partner and daughter, I was thoroughly satisfied with my stay. Rooms were spacious, clean, and fully stocked with tea, coffee, etc; staff were welcoming, polite and attentive to detail; and the food was delicious. Suitable for families,...More

Thank Glenn M
TheQuayInn, Owner at The Quay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a lovely review. It's always a pleasure to welcome such lovely people such as yourselves. I have passed on already passed on your comments to the rest of the staff and hope you will come...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This could be so much better, a beautiful oasis of calm in a busy seaside town. The table and benches were in poor condition, I had to erect the parasol which worked but was not very clean. The grass had been cut but was scruffy....More

Thank AWxxx
TheQuayInn, Owner at The Quay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I take acceptation to the description of the garden being 'scruffy' it most certainly is not. It is tended to regularly and it's a pity you can't distinguish between a mature garden and an unkept garden! Unfortunately it isn't always possible to make everything accessible...More

Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

After about a hours walk with a friend and our children, we decided to go for soft drinks as the weather was warm, my eldest child needed the toilet, I said to him go for your toilet whilst we decide where we’re sitting, (inside or...More

2  Thank Minehead7
TheQuayInn, Owner at The Quay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

It is an offence to allow a child under the age of 16 on licenced premises, so not only were my actions appropriate but a legal requirement when I merely returned him to his mother. I have to wonder at the actions of a parent...More

Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

We dropped in here after a morning on the steam railway - me, husband and baby in a pram. Very warm welcome. We had lunch (beef Balti & Thai green chicken curry) which was delicious. My husband loves popadoms so asked for extra! 2 more...More

Thank MrsFussyBristol
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 12 hotels in Minehead
Channel House Hotel
41 reviews
.17 km away
Northfield Hotel
379 reviews
.27 km away
Marston Lodge Hotel
268 reviews
.33 km away
The Beach Hotel
368 reviews
.57 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Apple Tree Tea Rooms
550 reviews
.56 km away
The Wheelhouse Restaurant
488 reviews
.56 km away
The Creamery
171 reviews
.56 km away
The Old Ship Aground
820 reviews
.22 km away
Nearby Attractions
Exmoor Photography Course
96 reviews
1.50 km away
West Somerset Railway
2 180 reviews
.56 km away
Channel Adventure
47 reviews
1.00 km away
South West Coast Path - Culver Cliff Woodland Walk
70 reviews
.35 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Quay Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20
Meals
Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Quay Street, Minehead TA24 5UJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Minehead
  • Phone Number: +44 1643 702839
  • E-mail
Description
The Quay Inn - where everyone is most welcome.We delight in offering the best, locally sourced, quality, foods and real ales at reasonable prices. The menu changes with the seasons.We also LOVE MUSIC! Quay Roots at the Quay Inn, frequently presents local, national and international music acts. The next event will present Cam Penner and Jon Wood from Canada, on Halloween night. We also host regular acoustic and plugged open music sessions, and the next one of these will on Sunday afternoon, 6th October, at 2:30pm.The Quay also provides an extensive coffee and tea menu and fantastic selection of naughty yummies (cakes, desserts) that can be enjoyed all day. We welcome dogs and well behaved owners, and also have a wonderful large garden where you can enjoy the lovely sea air.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing