We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$4 - US$14
CUISINES
European
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
123
28
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
123
28
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pork belly cape town stunning views yacht club fabulous lunch top class stayed here food was fantastic great coffee port marina owen rooms books protocols lauren platter
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We walked past, and the place just invited us in. We enjoyed our coffees and the interior decorating is beautiful. We will be back.

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 22 November 2021 via mobile

Best experience ever! Even met the man himself! Everything was top-notch, everybody friendly, protocols in place. 5 star in my books.

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 27 September 2021

Did a day trip to Veldrif from Cape Town , about 1.5hrs on 24 Sept 2021. Drove around & found Russells on the Port by chance , right on the Marina. What a great find. Very peaceful setting overlooking with Marina with many boats moored....The property was really well maintained . As it was a pleasant morning we sat outside. All the necessary covid protocols were done and we were served immediately. Chose a full breakfast , food arrived fairly quickly and was perfect , especially the bacon . Was good value for money . Really lovely setting and great experienceMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 September 2021 via mobile

They would have gotten a five star rating. Only two things got to me. One, it took forever to get the food out. I know good food takes time but this was crazy. Secondly was the music. It really was annoying. Not that type of...music that sets the vibe that would suit such a fabulous restaurant. Now that we got the cons out of the way, let’s go to the pros. Beautiful restaurant. Friendly service. The food was fantastic. We got a platter for two. Best chicken wings I have had and the pork belly was up there too. My husband hates onion rings but he loved the ones they served us. Such a fabulous lunch after a day of flower viewing. Next time we will get a room so we can stay for dinner as well….More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 22 February 2021

We stayed here one evening and every was awesome. The rooms were big with large beds, awesome facilities and such a nice view. Awesome restaurant and really cannot complain about anything. Very helpful and friendly staff. Amazing stay and history behind the hotel

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 7 January 2021

Our group of 17 stayed at Russels this week and cant believe the type of exemplary service we received. The waitrons and the Receptionist were on their feet with our requests and service. It is the best place if anyone wants to.be treated like royalties,...that's the place to go. Our sincere thanks to Anthea, Lauren and entire housekeeping team for their attention and friendly attitudes, keep it upMore

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 17 November 2020 via mobile

When last have you been surprised with your first meal of the day. This Port Owen gem is a must. We were 2 couples. We were welcomed seated and served so professionally, extra bonus was our beautifully plated meals, hot tea and coffee and stunning...views of the yacht club. The rooms we viewed were also top class. Thank you everyone, we will be back for dinner sooooon.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?2  
Cindy, General Manager at Russells on the Port, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2020

Dear Guest. Thank you for the positive feedback, we are highly pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful breakfast. Looking forward to having you join us again soon. Kind Regards The Russells on the Port Team.

Reviewed 27 May 2020

Sure, it has a nice view, and they do have good food, BUT, there are much better places to eat at that are actually a good representation of Velddrif and its peopleMore

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
russellsmanagement_1, Manager at Russells on the Port, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2020

Gooday Naomi Thank you for your review, we value your feedback and appreciate your support. Yes our restaurant does focus on Mediterranean dishes with our main focus being our lovely steaks, but we definitely have a variety of cuisine to suit almost any palate. We...More

Reviewed 12 March 2020

Russell's came highly recommended by a local, and we were not disappointed. Staff were friendly , discreet and the food just as expected. We're returning very soon

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
russellsmanagement_1, Manager at Russells on the Port, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2020

Gooday Elaine Thank you for your review and your continued support. Please do come again soon. Regards The Russells on the Port Team.

Reviewed 25 February 2020

We were strongly recommended to visit Russells on the Port and we were certainly not disappointed and in fact returned again for a second visit. !! We went for lunch and from the moment we arrived it was clear that this was going to be...a great culinary experience The food was magnificent with great creative touches to enhance the meals and it demonstrated the chefs talents !! The service was truly wonderful with a friendly and efficient approach We shall be returning asapMore

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
russellsmanagement_1, Front Office Manager at Russells on the Port, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2020

Gooday Peter Thank you for taking the time in posting such a lovely review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience and cant wait to have you join us again soon. Kind Regards The Russells on the Port Team

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Riviera Hotel & Chalets
55 reviews
1.89 km away
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel
705 reviews
23.37 km away
Club Mykonos Langebaan
822 reviews
31.10 km away
Club Mykonos Athenian Cascades
150 reviews
31.10 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Charlie's Brewhouse Restaurant
68 reviews
.56 km away
Die Vis Vlekhuis
45 reviews
1.51 km away
Oupa se Koffiestoor Velddrif
25 reviews
1.47 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Tollie's Boat and River Cruises
57 reviews
.53 km away
Shelley Point Country Club & Golf Course
50 reviews
19.31 km away
West Coast Fossil Park
189 reviews
20.20 km away
Paternoster Beach
207 reviews
24.16 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
jc2407
29 October 2017|
Answer
Response from russellsmanagement_1 | Property representative |
Ongelukig is ons vol bespreek vir Kersdag maar ons het nog spasie oop vir ou jaars aand.. Maak n bespreking en moenie uit mis nie..
-1
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Russells on the Port

Russells on the Port is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5