We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pen and Pencil

Claimed
Reserve a Table
DesignMyNight

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2017 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Location and contact

PRICE RANGE
US$6 - US$19
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
CUISINES
American, Bar, British
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
181
84
35
25
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
181
84
35
25
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch steak and eggs sliders pancakes surf and turf fries northern quarter hen do booked a table smoothies nq feta deposit gig
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 356 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

I was taken here by my son who lives around the corner. I'm not that sure on the subtleties of what makes a bar hipster but it seemed having a beard is high on the agenda. Also using 80's magazine cuttings on the walls seems...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank researcher59
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Disastrous. Horrible burgers (we tried all three types. Johnny Walker one tasted suspicious. Chicken was bland., P&P had to be sent back as it was vile). Service was slow and the servers were emotionless - Waited 15 minutes to be asked for our food and...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Lord_Robin_Bishop
Lauren C, Marketing Manager at The Pen and Pencil, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience with us - we usually pride ourselves on the quality of our food and service and it's a shame that you had to send your food back to the kitchen. We were incredibly busy...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

COURTNEY! An absolute superstar! We love a Bottomless Brunch but Courtney made this one stand out. So much energy and faultless service! Made us laugh from start to finish without being overbearing. Normally I’d say the food suffers at a Bottomless Brunch but both food...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank econhal
Lauren C, Marketing Manager at The Pen and Pencil, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Oh what lovely feedback - we will make sure to pass on all your comments to Courtnie! Thanks so much for your feedback. Hopefully see you at the next one!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I visit this place due to a recommendation from my client for a relaxed place to have a meeting. I’m based in London and a client is a global telecom/Tec provider. I walked in at 13:00 the place was more than half empty. I was...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank harshic
Lauren C, Marketing Manager at The Pen and Pencil, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We're sorry to hear that you were not greeted on arrival. Sometimes, it may look as though we have tables available, but these were actually booked up for lunch and so we wouldn't have had time to seat you and offer you lunch before the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Northern Quarter restaurant and bar. Went on a Friday evening so there was a DJ on which created a good atmosphere. Reasonably priced drinks and great staff. There is also a private room that’s free to hire. Will look forward to going back and trying...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank lavertysarah
Lauren C, Marketing Manager at The Pen and Pencil, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Glad you enjoyed our DJ. We have some of Manchester's top DJs playing every Friday and Saturday night. We look forward to seeing you for food next time!

Reviewed 14 January 2019

Great venue for a quick work lunch - service is friendly and very quick. We enjoyed the 50% January discount and paid just £13.50 for 2 mains and 2 sides. Great vegan options too, the beetroot falafel and okra fries were delicious. Would definitely return.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Anna B
Lauren C, Marketing Manager at The Pen and Pencil, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks Anna. Glad you had a lovely time - see you again soon!

Reviewed 12 January 2019

Visited on a Sunday for brunch with some friends and were not disappointed. Food excellent and more importantly great service. David in particular was extremely helpful and friendly and great at his job! We will definitely return.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank rulebritannia
Lauren C, Marketing Manager at The Pen and Pencil, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2019

Thanks so much for your feedback - David is fantastic! Glad that you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 10 January 2019

On the back end of the Northern Quarter we found this lovely bar with great cocktails and great music just the place to take a little breather from the chaotic main streets of Manchester. It was busy but not overly busy and it was a...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank jessimo
Lauren C, Marketing Manager at The Pen and Pencil, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2019

Glad you stumbled across us! See you again soon :)

Reviewed 8 January 2019 via mobile

Visited with my boyfriend for my birthday and the food was delicious and arrived super quick! The burgers are so yummy we wanted another one! We will definitely be returning.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Natalie H
Lauren C, Marketing Manager at The Pen and Pencil, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2019

Hi Natalie, thanks so much for leaving us a review! We will see you again soon for that second burger ...

Reviewed 4 January 2019 via mobile

Me and my husband have been to the Pen and Pencil a few times now and are never disappointed. Our recent visit was as good as ever and a bonus was the offer they have in January. We booked via email and so got 50%...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank EPMG
Lauren C, Marketing Manager at The Pen and Pencil, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2019

Thanks so much for your review - really pleased to hear that you always have a great time with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 122 nearby hotels
easyHotel Manchester
495 reviews
.09 km away
The Cow Hollow Hotel
427 reviews
.12 km away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
3 038 reviews
.20 km away
Gardens Hotel
1 363 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2 720 nearby restaurants
Ezra & Gil
373 reviews
.10 km away
Takk Coffee House
273 reviews
.05 km away
Alabama's All American Eatery
924 reviews
.14 km away
Tariff & Dale
233 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 656 nearby attractions
Greater Manchester Police Museum
551 reviews
.14 km away
The Hive
6 reviews
.27 km away
The Wheel of Manchester
43 reviews
.25 km away
The Whiskey Jar
151 reviews
.02 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
nicolacC1890YU
6 April 2018|
Answer
Response from mariannefps | Reviewed this property |
No unfortunately they do not
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing