We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cafe Continental

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

About
Cafe Continental is one of the most well-known bar-restaurants that prides itself on very high standards of service. Visit or call us today.
PRICE RANGE
US$5 - US$33
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Scottish, Contemporary
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Table Service
Reviews (463)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveller rating
278
81
34
33
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
278
81
34
33
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza salad visited cafe amazing cocktails lovely visit relaxed atmosphere the sticky toffee pudding lovely evening saturday night food was lovely bite to eat high street reece courses manageress
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We planned a visit to Cafe Continental just before breaking off for Christmas. We were made to feel incredible welcome by the manager who took time to chat and check in with us and made sure we were checked in and had access to hand...sanitizer. It was lovely an warm inside in contrast to the cold and miserable weather inside. The place is decorated beautifully and there was such a lovely vibe with a mix of customers all enjoying themselves. We didn't have food on this occasion but have eaten here before and would highly recommend the food. We enjoyed a range of cocktails on the menu which were expertly mixed and absolutely delicious. The price point of the drinks is a bonus. I felt they were well priced and absolute value for money. This place is a hidden gem in Kirkcaldy and definitely somewhere I'd be recommending people consider. Thanks for a wonderful night!More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went to The Cafe for a Christmas night out a few weeks back, amazeballz atmosphere, staff are amazing and very attentive, especially the lovely lady who manages it, didn't catch her name but super attentive and makes sure you have everything you need. Great Sauvignon...Blanc! Gin selection very impressive too as are the cocktails. Highly recommend this place. A wee hidden gem just off Kirkcaldy High Street, up the lane across from Revolution Barber Shop.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed our cocktails, music was very loud but they had a DJ so I guess that’s to be expected. Love our girls nights here.

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Popped in for a couple of cocktails with friends. The espresso martini was just delicious. My favourite was the fire island ice tea ❤ service was quick and attentive. Will definately be back soon!

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a Christmas lunch for today with my friend. It’s a big restaurant and it was empty apart from one other couple having lunch. We didn’t like where we were sitting and the waitress had said that we could choose another table. We found one...in a corner, we just sat down and the manager/ owner, came marching over saying , ‘no, no, no , no’😳 she said we couldn’t sit there as it was reserved 😂 the place was empty! She said just go to that table and pointed to the one that was a foot away. We got up snd took 2 steps to the new table. The manger asked me if I had a mask, I said yes, she said you should have it on. Then said sarcastically ‘team work’ please…. 😡 It was literally 1 and a half steps to the table! The place was empty!! We decided to leave, her manner was awful and patronising. I am fully vaccinated and boostered, I had a negative lat flow this morning and I wore a mask in her premises as well as checked in on the track n trace. I am also a nurse practitioner working for the nhs 34 yrs , so am very aware of the rules! The distance from one table to the next was about the same as sitting at a table opposite my friend, so no mask required. I can understand why the place was empty if this is her attitude towards customers! Won’t be back !More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
CAFE CONTINENTAL, General Manager at Cafe Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear carolineemE8621FB, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit from Saturday. Indeed you are correct that you had a table reservation and indeed we were very quiet due to cancellations, however, where you are not correct is that one out of two...More

Reviewed 4 December 2021

Was very happy with our visit, staff are very friendly, the food was delicious and also the drinks, restaurant is based just off the high street, never been before and would return again.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
CAFE CONTINENTAL, General Manager at Cafe Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2021

Dear F7205RBadamm, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with 5 stars. The team and I are truly chuffed you enjoyed your visit. Your kind words really do mean so much to each of us. From us all, we look forward...More

Reviewed 28 November 2021

This is a treat place, exquisitely designed, very nice food and drink, sadly not the busiest. Placement must mean this place isn’t busy, food and drinks are amazing would recommend, only problem is situation.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
CAFE CONTINENTAL, General Manager at Cafe Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2021

Dear M5637ROrebeccas, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. Your kind words about our restaurant and bar really do mean so much to each of us. From us all, we look forward to welcoming you back. With my very best wishes,...More

Reviewed 27 November 2021 via mobile

Came in for lunch for the first time and extremely disappointed. Establishment was freezing cold me and my partner sat with our jackets on the entire time. We weren't welcomed by anyone and hovered around until we sat ourselves. Had to go up and ask...for menus as non were brought over. Ordered a cocktail (which was the only redeeming factor of this visit - good job to the mixologist). The mushroom risotto was bland and tasteless and was missing item it of food the menu stated came with it. The bathroom wasn't filthy nor was it clean - no paper towels just an empty cardboard roll and the hand dryers didn't work either. All in all a disappointing experience and would only come back for drinks.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?2  
CAFE CONTINENTAL, General Manager at Cafe Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2021

Dear keirr2018, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. I do hope you can accept my sincerest apologies that you left our restaurant unhappy. I was away at the weekend and was unaware of your unhappiness. The team and I have...More

Reviewed 6 November 2021 via mobile

Would not reccomend at all. Booked for a hen night in the private area. They Phoned on the day to be told that a bigger party needed the room. Not very professional at all. Could have been warned about this and told in advance.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
CAFE CONTINENTAL, General Manager at Cafe Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2021

Dear Imh39, Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. I have pondered for days on how to reply to your review. Firstly and very importantly I am very sorry that you were so displeased with our service, as always we try our...More

Reviewed 3 November 2021 via mobile

This is a great restaurant; a stylish place with a great menu. It's a cocktail bar as well and got busier with drinkers as the evening went on. Menu was very creative and the food was delicious. The deal for two, 3 courses and a...bottle of wine was excellent.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
CAFE CONTINENTAL, General Manager at Cafe Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2021

Dear 107adriany, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. The team and I are truly chuffed you enjoyed your visit. What a lovely review, your kind words really do mean so much to each of us. From us all, we look...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Victoria Hotel
288 reviews
.53 km away
Oswald House Hotel
108 reviews
2.61 km away
Bay Hotel
294 reviews
5.94 km away
Kingswood Hotel
411 reviews
6.08 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Annapurna Gurkhas Restaurant
513 reviews
.11 km away
Amritsar Restaurant
307 reviews
.04 km away
Cupcake Coffee Box
270 reviews
.17 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Kirkcaldy Galleries
159 reviews
.53 km away
Adam Smith Theatre
106 reviews
.45 km away
Pathead Sands
15 reviews
.81 km away
Enid Hutt Gallery
12 reviews
1.36 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
loulouherriot
30 June 2017|
Answer
Response from CAFECONTINENTAL | Property representative |
Good evening, I am very sorry about the delayed response. Yes, Children are most welcome and we have a fabulous children's menu. With my very best wishes Aine
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cafe Continental

Yes, Cafe Continental is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Cafe Continental is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 3