We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cafe at Urban Jungle

Ringland Lane | Costessey, Norwich NR8 5BG, England
+44 1603 857196
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good21%
  • Average13%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“cake” (25 reviews)
“sandwiches” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
Ringland Lane | Costessey, Norwich NR8 5BG, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We decided to go here after having just got out of the Hospital where I had just had a Pacemaker fitted, and the food was excellent and the tea itself is gorgeous

Thank BALI2007BALI
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First visit to Urban Jungle on my daughters recommendation. Loved the selection (not a chip in sight). We all had something different and it was lovely. Sensible serving sizes as the quality is what’s important and oversized portions is not what good food is about....More

Thank Greenhannah1
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an amazing place to stop for refreshments. We were stunned by the prices, but then were just expecting a garden centre cafe. Boy were we ever wrong. This is more like one of those classy, country restaurants, that you find being run by...More

Thank Gilbert A
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came here to decorate pumpkins with two young children I thought that was very badly organised until we went into the cafe for a quick coffee and piece of cake. Firstly it's way overpriced and we waited for 1hr for what should have been no...More

1  Thank JonnyF48
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came for a cuppa and to show my son the surroundings. Woman thrust 3 menus in my hand and we said we were looking round the plants and walking over the bridge and seeing the fish etc. As ww walked round, I receved a xall...More

3  Thank Jacquil260
RachelB6263, Marketing at The Cafe at Urban Jungle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We’re so sorry for the misunderstanding - We have tried to call a number of times to explain that our Cafe Manager was simply trying to help you with the menus whilst you were on the phone. Please do get in touch in the hope...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I came with my 3 young kids. Probably more suitable for older, rich couples with plenty of time on their hands. We waited 30 minutes for 2 hot drinks and 3 chocolate brownies. I wonder how long the wait would be for food? The brownies...More

1  Thank Fiona M
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

Took my wife and baby son, it’s ok for the occasional visit but fairly expensive for what’s provided, the tea and coffee is often weak despite allowing to brew at the table. Service can take a while, pleasant atmosphere and surroundings. Will visit again but...More

Thank James F
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

Really beautiful setting with loads of lovely plants to buy and look at in the gardens and inside the cafe. Cafe service however was terrible, took 20 minutes to get served and then another 35 for them to bring us a coffee and a tea...More

1  Thank 617edmundm
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

I brought my mother here for afternoon tea as a lovely treat for her. We both requested oat milk for our teas - when they arrived Mum had a sip before I did thankfully (I’m intolerant but mum just has a preference for oat milk!)...More

1  Thank JLBlake
RachelB6263, Marketing at The Cafe at Urban Jungle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Thank you for your feedback, we have passed this onto the team. Our sincere apologies for the confusion over the milk, we absolutely understand the severity of the consequences and although we explained that we were low on oat milk and that one was cows...More

Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

A wonderful idea and concept. Food a little pricey as was not extremely tasty. Has potential Beautiful fish and bridges inside.

1  Thank Darkgoblin74
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 50 hotels in Norwich
Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club
610 reviews
1.97 km away
Premier Inn Norwich West (Showground/A47) Hotel
478 reviews
2.21 km away
Stower Grange
285 reviews
2.41 km away
Almond Tree Hotel and Restaurant
1 review
2.73 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Happy Valley
18 reviews
1.61 km away
Tea & Bunns Tea Room
17 reviews
1.12 km away
Prime 82
9 reviews
.82 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wensum Valley Golf
32 reviews
1.80 km away
The Base (Baseline Activity Sports Extreme)
65 reviews
4.44 km away
Taverham Mill Nature Reserve and Fishery
12 reviews
.95 km away
Taverham Garden Centre
39 reviews
2.54 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Charlotte K
17 September 2018|
Answer
Response from RachelB6263 | Property representative |
We don't, well no more that any other cafe with outside seating areas. We hope that helps...
0
Votes
Mavis555
4 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from RachelB6263 | Property representative |
Hello again Mavis. In answer to your question, separate to the two 1 star reviews left this week, we have have no record of this of this conversation with Manager Tasha, or any of the team. In your review referring to shelf... More
1
Vote
Jonathan T
13 February 2018|
Answer
Response from RachelB6263 | Property representative |
We're not I'm afraid.
-2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$2 - US$10
Meals
Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 16:30
Monday
10:00 - 16:30
Tuesday
10:00 - 16:30
Wednesday
10:00 - 16:30
Thursday
10:00 - 16:30
Friday
10:00 - 16:30
Saturday
10:00 - 16:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Ringland Lane | Costessey, Norwich NR8 5BG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Norwich
  • Phone Number: +44 1603 857196
  • E-mail
Description
Selecting from such a huge and varied range of plants can be exhausting, so rest your feet in our gluten free coffee shop. Our eco-friendly Cafe was built almost entirely from reclaimed and recycled materials. Set in a large glasshouse you can enjoy your refreshments surrounded by beautiful foliage and scented flowers. We offer freshly ground coffee, tea and delicious cakes with a large range of dairy-free options. We don't take bookings for lunch, however you may book in advance for traditional afternoon tea. Open 10-4.30 (Kitchen closes at 4pm). Nursery open 10-5.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing