We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cafe at Urban Jungle

Ringland Lane | Costessey, Norwich NR8 5BG, England
+44 1603 857196
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good22%
  • Average12%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“cake” (24 reviews)
“sandwiches” (9 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
Ringland Lane | Costessey, Norwich NR8 5BG, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

The tea is delicious, the food is good, however the cake could be better! You’ll want to return mostly for the aesthetic.

Thank Ryan D
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

For someone who is genuine very easy to please I really feel like I need to write this review as I was bitterly disappointed with my visit today. First time going there as heard so much about it. First impressions- nice atmosphere and quiet but...More

1  Thank Gdawg09
RachelB6263, marketing at The Cafe at Urban Jungle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, we'll pass this on to the team. The Cafe at Urban Jungle is crammed with lots of plants and leaves, and from experience there is very little space for pushchairs. We will try and accommodate as much as possible however...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited a little late one afternoon with my daughter and grandson; friendly helpful staff and the only downside was due to the time of day the choices were limited. I'm sure an earlier time would have shown fuller display. Atmosphere so different to most cafes...More

Thank Normaw70
RachelB6263, marketing at The Cafe at Urban Jungle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback - see you again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Atmosphere is amazing, comfortable sofas, big car park, tasty tea, nice food but a bit overpriced. Huge choice of various beautiful flowers.

Thank VaidaS18
RachelB6263, marketing at The Cafe at Urban Jungle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your feedback! See you again soon :)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the Urban Jungle ostensibly because my wife wanted to buy plants, so I decided to make use of the cafe. Unfortunately the interior is not dog friendly, although there is outside seating where dogs are allowed. The inside is beautifully laid out with...More

Thank James F
Rachel B, marketing at The Cafe at Urban Jungle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback and we're so pleased you enjoyed the setting. For the price of the coffee you can enjoy almost 2 cups from the cafetiere, we take great care in sourcing our coffee from local suppliers, grind this to order and serve...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went intending to stay for a light lunch, the ambiance of the seating areas was very pleasing and the plants were interesting varieties.There was good parking and it was very busy. However the price of the drinks were on the expensive side. Light lunches...More

Thank Jewelribbon
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The layout of the cafe is fantastic, very laid back and relaxed- lots of comfy sofas. We had coffee and sparkling water, which was very expensive for what it was. I think the owner of this place is missing a trick- if they opened it...More

1  Thank kateo539
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Great plants, food and service awful! £36 for 2 (burnt)chicken thighs, 1 piece of kofte and 2 bottles of cider 😡. Oh and what was laughingly called potato salad and pickles with sauces. I would mention the halloumi at £1.50 a piece, but they forgot...More

2  Thank Lee F
Rachel B, marketing at The Cafe at Urban Jungle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

*This review is for Urban Jungle Suffolk. Hi Lee, thank you for your feedback - it's a shame we weren't made aware at the time as we most definitely would have been able to put this right for you, or offer you your money back....More

Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

I thought I'd check out the Norwich branch as I'd had possibly the worst 'iced coffee' in the land at their beccles branch and thought perhaps the original place might get it right. Refer to the title of this post. Whilst the environment is truly...More

3  Thank Mavis555
Rachel B, marketing at The Cafe at Urban Jungle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Thank you for your second review and Trip Advisor 'question'. As you would expect, many of the processes and products we use are the same at both the Norfolk and Suffolk branches of Urban Jungle. As explained in the previous review response 'The Coffee is...More

Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

Arrived at 12. Parking good as only half full. Lovely walking around all the different outside areas. You walk amongst the plants winding in between on narrow clean pathways. Quality products. Some seating is placed near the cafe area amongst the lands . Find a...More

Thank Elaine W
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 50 hotels in Norwich
Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club
599 reviews
1.97 km away
Premier Inn Norwich West (Showground/A47) Hotel
470 reviews
2.21 km away
Stower Grange
277 reviews
2.41 km away
Almond Tree Hotel and Restaurant
1 review
2.73 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Copper Beech
623 reviews
1.88 km away
The Swan Inn Ringland
259 reviews
2.13 km away
The Red Lion
324 reviews
2.23 km away
The Cock Inn
292 reviews
2.29 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wensum Valley Golf
31 reviews
1.80 km away
The Base (Baseline Activity Sports Extreme)
65 reviews
4.44 km away
Taverham Mill Nature Reserve and Fishery
12 reviews
.95 km away
Taverham Garden Centre
33 reviews
2.54 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Charlotte K
17 September 2018|
Answer
Response from RachelB6263 | Property representative |
We don't, well no more that any other cafe with outside seating areas. We hope that helps...
0
Votes
Mavis555
4 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from RachelB6263 | Property representative |
Hello again Mavis. In answer to your question, separate to the two 1 star reviews left this week, we have have no record of this of this conversation with Manager Tasha, or any of the team. In your review referring to shelf... More
1
Vote
Jonathan T
13 February 2018|
Answer
Response from RachelB6263 | Property representative |
We're not I'm afraid.
-1
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$2 - US$10
Meals
Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 16:30
Monday
10:00 - 16:30
Tuesday
10:00 - 16:30
Wednesday
10:00 - 16:30
Thursday
10:00 - 16:30
Friday
10:00 - 16:30
Saturday
10:00 - 16:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Ringland Lane | Costessey, Norwich NR8 5BG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Norwich
  • Phone Number: +44 1603 857196
  • E-mail
Description
Selecting from such a huge and varied range of plants can be exhausting, so rest your feet in our gluten free coffee shop. Our eco-friendly Cafe was built almost entirely from reclaimed and recycled materials. Set in a large glasshouse you can enjoy your refreshments surrounded by beautiful foliage and scented flowers. We offer freshly ground coffee, tea and delicious cakes with a large range of dairy-free options. We don't take bookings for lunch, however you may book in advance for traditional afternoon tea. Open 10-4.30 (Kitchen closes at 4pm). Nursery open 10-5.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing