The Diner Krugersdorp

The Diner Krugersdorp

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+27 11 954 0444+ Add website
Hours
Sun
8:00 - 20:00
Mon
8:00 - 21:00
Tue
8:00 - 21:00
Wed
8:00 - 21:00
Thu
8:00 - 21:00
Fri
8:00 - 22:00
Sat
8:00 - 22:00
Improve this listing
Ratings and reviews
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles

RATINGS
Food
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Bar, Diner
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Table Service
Does this restaurant offer free wifi?
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Bar, Diner
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Table Service
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles173 reviews
Excellent
99
Very good
55
Average
14
Poor
2
Terrible
3
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

jurie835
Krugersdorp57 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 couples
I drive past this restaurant often and has heard good feedback om their burgers and ribs. My wife and I went their on a Thursday evening unknown to us iwe had to make a booking , but that was not a problem and we were taken to our table . For starters we ordered spicy calamari and deep fried prawns , must say both dishes made our taste buds sing . When it came to order Mains we then found out that Thursday is ribs night , obviously we ordered a kg of ribs for each , had we known this we definitely would not have ordered starters . When the ribs came they were huge and we knew a doggie bag would come into play. The ribs were every bit as amazing as we heard, the meat just fell from the bone and it was tender and juicy every bit as I imagined ribs should be , these were the best ribs I have eaten at any restaurant and I understood why a booking had to be made and why they are a current finalist in the Best Ribs in Jo'Burg. With friendly service and great food the Diner will definitely see us again. Next time I will try their Hamburger . Well done to The Diner
Written 11 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

MDJ
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 friends
Best ribs ever. Enough said. This place is busy, particularly Friday and Saturday evenings and Sunday lunch, mother's and father's day. Book to avoid disappointment y'all
Written 1 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

jorindit
Krugersdorp188 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2021 family
Brilliant! World class food, delicious cocktails, known for their award winning ribs. Excellent service.
Written 18 March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

GW4545
6 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 solo
Ordered take away (prawns) through the Mr D app (R550.00). Received the food and it stank so much I threw it out!! If this is the food they offer take away clients I can't imagine the food you get as a sit down is better. Stay away at all cost !!!!
Written 22 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

j0766
Robertson203 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 family
I think things are slipping a bit. We are regular patrons and their beer ribs have been the best for a few years. My 9 yo son insisted on trying The Excalibur himself but today I think we were a bit disappointed. The fact that downstairs is always reserved is a frustration, I don’t feel like reserving for 3 people and the service at the top is significantly different. This should be addressed but more importantly today my beef ribs were tough and not up to scratch. I kept going and gave no feedback in the restaurant but will watch this closely! The chicken remained good. The team will need to stay on top of the kitchen I think.
Written 23 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

j0766
Robertson203 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2021 family
We always visit for lunch and dinner - the food and service is great. We thought we would try breakfast but were really disappointed. Food choices were limited and despite asking for bacon to be excluded we ended up still paying the full price - not fair since there were very few options without bacon and no kiddies breakfast menu. Not good for breakfast
Written 19 February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Explorer65446845589
Greater Johannesburg1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2023 family
Having revisited the diner for the second time in four years, I was optimistic about a more enjoyable experience following a disappointing first visit. Regrettably, the R120 burger left me thoroughly dissatisfied. The cost appeared unreasonably high, and I can't shake the feeling that spending such a sum on a burger is unwarranted. It just didn't justify the expense. As someone who loves burgers and has considerable experience with them, this was a notably disappointing experience.
Written 29 December 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

#lovetotravel
Copenhagen176 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2020 none
What was intended as a family night out turned into a disaster. Our family looked forward to our rib special evening, but our experience was jaded by the poor management of an exceptionally rowdy table where the alcohol flowed. Despite the obvious displeasure this table was causing, management was completely ineffective in dealing with the alcohol infused behavior. Unless management finds a way to maintain their family friendly status we will rather take our business elsewhere.
Written 6 December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

HFourie
Krugersdorp49 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 family
The Diner really, really has the Best of the Best ribs ever!! You will not be disappointed! We enjoy the atmosphere of dinning there but also their rib takeaway combo’s are also great. Especially the super practical XL boxes that the ribs come in. Highly recommend!! If you pass by Krugersdorp, be sure not to miss this treat!
Written 18 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Elmien
Johannesburg148 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 none
The food here is always of high standard. They do have a shorter menu at present. Bookings essential at present.
Written 9 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheDinerZA
Thank you so much for Visiting and Supporting us during this time!
Written 10 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ClubTravelOntdekkers
Johannesburg1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 family
Good quality and service every time. Best ribs, good burgers. Food not perfect now and again, but mostly satisfying...
Written 2 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

ANNATJIE O
Paris4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 family
Truly good quality food. This is the best ribs I've ever tasted. Cannot wait to taste the rest of the menu!
Written 18 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheDinerZA
Hi 770beno, Thank you for the awesome review! You should give our Dry-age T-bone a try next time you are in!!
Written 21 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Wessel
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2019 none
We went there for a wedding anniversary meal, stayed over at Weston guest house and they referred us to The Diner, an excellent choice, great food. I'll be back.....
Written 4 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheDinerZA
Hi Wessel, Thank you for the awesome review Hopefully we do not have to wait for your next anniversary meal to see you again :)
Written 21 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

James050973
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2019 family
Food was cold and one order was missed. Restaurant manager was a complete ar*e and very rude. Will not be going back again.
Written 30 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheDinerZA
Good day Venjamben, Sorry for the late reply - Can I please ask that you send us a mail to thedinerza@gmail.com - as I would like to sort out the issues that you had. Thank you Kirsten
Written 21 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Malkoppie
South Africa1608 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2019 couples
At long last we tried the Diner, and at long last we found a decent restaurant in Krugersdorp. We had lost all hope and so didn't rush off to try it when it originally opened. Well, we have some lost time to make up for. We will be back. My husband couldn't resist the recommendations of all his friends who beat us to it, so for him it was the famous spare ribs. He said they were excellent! I like to test a kitchen on the initial visit with something not always easy to do well .... My sole was great! Thank you to Themba for the friendliness and excellent service, and also to the other staff and management for attention to customers.
Written 30 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheDinerZA
Good Day, Thank you so mush for the Great Review - Very glad you had a great time and hope to see you again soon!
Written 21 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-15 of 170
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
The Verandah Bistro
RR - RRR · European
Mythos Cradlestone
RR - RRR · Mediterranean, Greek
Saddlewoods Steak Ranch
RR - RRR · Steakhouse, Barbecue
Norbert's German Butchery & Deli
RR - RRR · German, Deli
Oceanbasket
RR - RRR · Seafood
Missouri Spur Steak Ranch
RR - RRR · Steakhouse, Barbecue, Grill
Die Groen Kat
RR - RRR · Contemporary
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

The Diner Krugersdorp - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Things to DoFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire