We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
R 100 - R 500
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Grill
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
57
40
15
19
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
57
40
15
19
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak onion rings rondebosch dollop supper
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 January 2024

I ordered a King lip with a side of chips, however, when my fish arrived it didn't really look appetizing, I ate a small piece and put the rest in a doggy bag. This is a R255 meal, that was disregarded into a doggy bag....I always order a king klip when I go to a restaurant so I know how it should be prepared and how it should taste. This fish was so horrible that I ate less than a quarter of my fish. I didn't mention anything to the waiter as we already had a issue with my fish where I didn't mention that I'm gluten intolerant so it had to go back. I just left ahead and my husband and I vowed to never return to Hussar Grill Grand West. If you are looking for a great Hussar grill, please go to Hussar Grill Durbanville Village Square...More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hussar Grill, Owner at The Hussar Grill GrandWest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2024

Good day Sightseer37512180362, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are sorry to hear that your meal experience did not meet your expectations. We would like an opportunity to contact you. Kindly take a moment to follow this link...More

Reviewed 19 July 2023

Good food, we had the steaks which were cooked perfectly. The server was always attentive. It is really done up very well inside.

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hussar Grill, Owner at The Hussar Grill GrandWest, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2023

Dear Mandm_Dunbar, Thank you for your great review of The Hussar Grill GrandWest grill room. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the tasty steaks, attentive service and our cosy atmosphere. We do hope to serve you again, soon. Best regards, The Hussar Grill

Reviewed 8 May 2023

I have been there before, the experience was amazing and decided to celebrate my birthday there with my partner. Walking in was delightful, staff was friendly and we were placed at a table in no time. We ordered drinks and was served promptly. We ordered...starters when the drinks arrived and that is when all went downhill. We waited approximately an hour for starters to arrive (I wish I was exaggerating). When a waitress walked past, we did a follow up. She then brought the starters, but it was incorrect. I asked her for the correct one and she returned the dish and brought the one we ordered.. but still incorrect. I was already upset at this point and just accepted, as I was not willing to wait another hour. We ordered mains, and again the order was incorrect. We informed the waiter, but by this time we were already ready to get up and leave. We then waited again just for the waiter to come with the bill. Myself and my fiancé was upset about the experience, knowing that we had to cancel something because of this tardiness. He eventually got up and went to call a waiter. This was my 30th birthday and we had other celebration plans thereafter. We ended up having to cancel 1 festivity as we were already running late. For the level of ratings and feedback, I thought this would be a perfect way to celebrate. But, the service was so incredibly pour, I wished I went to some other place.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hussar Grill, Owner at The Hussar Grill GrandWest, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2023

Dear Jet61853944944, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are sorry to hear that the service was not up to standard during your visit. Please may we have the opportunity to discuss this further, kindly follow this link https://hus10.goreview.co.za/goreview-crm?revid=LIlFT6sf and...More

Reviewed 12 March 2023

The experience was on "Poor" they can not do big tables properly. had to wait 10mins for the drinks to be ordered and another 15mins for our drinks. the waitress was very nice but she wanted to get the things done fast, which was the..."starters" and "mains" I ordered a burger with feta, With crispy onion ring and chips. Everyone else got steaks and steaks or veg. When present with the food, all the steaks came first and myself still waiting for the burger, 10mins later my "burger" only came but was very very cold but the chips and onion rings were normal to hot. I made a complaint to the manager about my burger meat being cold, the manager took the burger back and had to wait another 15-20mins for a burger and chips. while looking at other people busy eating, while im eating the crispy onion rings. When the second burger came, it was 50/50 warm but i was very hungry and most of my were already finished eating. "There was 2 desserts which the also complaint about, so this birthday day was supper for just a burger, service and then received the bill the waitress, continually asking on how we going to the pay, and we had to tell her just too wait abit. when the were leaving the manager or chef didn't apologized for the for or-do of the burger. If you gonna do a 10 table sitting or higher, make sure that you get the right people to do so, because this can really damage your business.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HussarGrill, Agency / Consultant at The Hussar Grill GrandWest, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2023

Dear Carlruiters, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We're sorry to hear about your negative experience regarding long waiting times and cold food. Kindly follow this link https://hus10.goreview.co.za/goreview-crm?revid=QPWuxy and a team member will be in contact with you regarding your...More

Reviewed 1 March 2023 via mobile

Perhaps we should have looked in greater detail at the reviews before buying our Hyperli voucher. Service was really slow. Pork belly had crackling so badly burned that it was inedible. The sirloin steak was tough and when we spoke to the waitress about this...she said lots of people had the same complaint! The restaurant manager, Valerie, was apologetic but as people have had the same complaints for many years obviously no-one cares. This particular Hussar Grill is letting down the whole chain. It took over 2 hrs to serve 2 courses.More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HussarGrill, Agency / Consultant at The Hussar Grill GrandWest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2023

Dear Keithamara, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We strive to deliver outstanding meals and service as quickly as possible, and we are dismayed to hear that this was not the case for you. We would appreciate the opportunity to...More

Reviewed 1 February 2023

their food was delicious and was served by friendly waiters who kept on check on me if all was in orderMore

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HussarGrill, Agency / Consultant at The Hussar Grill GrandWest, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2023

Good day Moshotwanem, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our The Hussar Grill GrandWest grill room. We are extremely pleased to know that the food and service was great during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you...More

Reviewed 26 September 2022

For a superb dining experience look no further than the Hussar Grill Grandwest. I do not say this lightly, it was a perfect experience in every way. The Manager Valentino is the most phenomenal guy and took such good care of us for the entire...evening. Extremely hands on and passionate about excellent service and so friendly and warm. Our waiter Maurice was by far THE BEST waiter I have ever been served by in any restaurant. He was extremely knowledgeable about everything on the menu, patient when answering all the questions about cuts of meat and the choice between medium, rare etc... we are a picky bunch so it was a process. He was so attentive but not in an overbearing way. He was exceptional in every way. Now for the star of the show THE FOOD 😍. Every morsel was perfect 👌 This is an unheard of experience in restaurants these days but literally I can’t fault a single thing. We ordered a variety of steaks, other meats and sides as we were a party of 9 celebrating a milestone birthday so we tasted enough to say that the food is perfection. Every chip, every onion ring, every roasted vegetable, every dollop of sauce, every bite of steak... cooked with ❤️ More gold ⭐️ things; Lovely atmosphere Wait for food was not too long No corkage fee and they don’t treat the bottles of champagne you bring in like a contagious illness 😆 Seating so comfortable Clean crockery, silverware and glasses Price wise - very reasonable considering everything Thank you 😊 @thehussargrill_grandwest @thehussargrill Visit this establishment Support this restaurant as they are going over and above to offer a superior experience to their customers The restaurant business is a tough one but these guys are hitting the sweet spot and I am giving them 5 golden ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill GrandWest, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2022

Dear Shelleylovesfood, Thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent review of The Hussar Grill GrandWest steakhouse. It gives us great encouragement to know that you enjoyed your experience and that our finest quality steaks and the service from Valentino and Maurice,...More

Reviewed 21 September 2022

We went to the restaurant for a friend's birthday. The service was great and we got free desert as a birthday gift. I forgot the waiter's name (African bald man on 18/09/2022 at 20h00).More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill GrandWest, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2022

Good day, Nothando Valent... N, Thank you for taking the time to visit and review The Hussar Grill GrandWest steakhouse. We are so happy to hear that our commitment to quality service is truly appreciated by our customers. We look forward to welcoming you back...More

Reviewed 17 September 2022

I regret having thought that having dinner at Hussar Grill Grandwest with my Daughter after spending a wonderful day with her would be amazing .I waited 15 minutes to have my drinks order taken another 12 minutes to have my mains order taken and then...a whole 18minutes 45 sec for my medium rare steaks to be served. Mind you we were starving !! When we walked into the restaurant. Then a nice 17 minutes for our deserts to be served .We spent more time waiting for food than eating 🤣🤣🤣 What a joke ,, l am never going back .Our waiter was busy chit chatting whilst our food was getting cold Stay away from HUSSAR GRILL GRANDWESTMore

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill GrandWest, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2022

Good day, Japshuttles123, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We strive to deliver outstanding meals and service as quickly as possible, and we are dismayed to hear that this was not the case for you. We would appreciate the opportunity...More

Reviewed 12 May 2022

We have enjoyed many meals at Hassar in Rondebosch, Steenberg and recently in George. We visited Hassar at Grand West and were extremely disappointed. My partner asked for a well done steak and had to send it back as it was ar best medium/rare. Service...was very down and I had to go to the desk to ask for the bill so we could leave. I mentioned slow service and was told they were short staffed. A really disappointing experience and we won't be back.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill GrandWest, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2022

Dear David N, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. Our sincerest apologies for your unpleasant experience and that the steak was not cooked correctly. We would like an opportunity to contact you and address your concerns with management. Please, could...More

Reviewed 25 March 2022

Under staffed Steak not cooked And service was very slow. To be honest I'm so disappointed because I have been here before but tables with more people get prioritied over small tables. I am so disappointed in the restaurant for the bad food and service!More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill GrandWest, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2022

Dear Jojo93Jerry, Thank you for your review of The Hussar Grill GrandWest steakhouse. We always aim to deliver high-quality food and service, and we're really sorry to hear that this disappointed you. Kindly provide us with your contact details and feedback by following this link...More

Reviewed 13 January 2022 via mobile

We had starters and the waitress had no clue of ingredians. Was not a great experience. we went back for mains and Samora was our waiter and what a lovely waiter . Loads of knowledge attentive and amazing host. The food i will give 3/5...but our waiter made up for the pior sevice during. our starter and food that was not so greatMore

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 December 2021 via mobile

Party of 8. We had a varied menu of steak cuts, salmon, and a meal of lamb chops. Sides of fried, garlic potatoes, roasted veg. Great value. Great value. Very tender. The roasted veg could benefit from seasoningMore

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill GrandWest, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2021

Good day, Michael M, Thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent review and for your suggestion. We're really pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your meals. We look forward to serving you at The Hussar Grill GrandWest again, soon!...More

Reviewed 28 December 2021 via mobile

Ordered a ceasar salad, lettuce was not fresh and there was no parmasan on the salad. The restaurant was short staffed, so food took long but our waitress Maybee never bothered to let us know. The whole dinning was not what we expected as we...had great food and service from the Willowbridge branch.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill GrandWest, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2021

Dear Pamyach, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. Our sincerest apologies for your recent experience. This is not the standard we're known for. Kindly provide us with your contact details and feedback by following this link - https://hus10.goreview.co.za/goreview-crm?revid=fJwcX4, so that...More

Reviewed 11 December 2021 via mobile

on the 27 November me and my partner decided to go visit this establishment and what a nightmare. the manager on duty was shouting and pulling staff around and actually had no respect or gave a damn that the place was full of clients of...which sum got up and left while he pulling one waiter around. and becos he was shouting at staff you could see that they were actually spiralling out of control. our food took a while hour and then was over done for a steak house its damn embarrassing..i dont know what kinda business you guys run with the Army Drill Sergeant Noah at the helm but for one thing i would leave my job if i was staff member.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill GrandWest, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2021

Dear X8482Ureugenes, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. Our sincerest apologies that you had a disappointing experience with the manager at The Hussar Grill GrandWest. We would like to address this in more detail. Kindly provide us with your contact...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
City Lodge Hotel Grandwest
213 reviews
.15 km away
Grand Hotel
31 reviews
.24 km away
Road Lodge N1 City
66 reviews
3.31 km away
StayEasy Century City
663 reviews
4.55 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Ashley's Family Restaurant
68 reviews
.81 km away
Casa Bella Grand West
103 reviews
.06 km away
Tomahawk Spur Steak Ranch
29 reviews
.68 km away
Silver Dollar Spur Steak Ranch
41 reviews
.27 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Picturesque Tours
9 reviews
1.05 km away
GrandWest Casino and Entertainment World
285 reviews
.14 km away
kwetu African Travel
17 reviews
.72 km away
AIM CAPE TOURS(Pty)Ltd
90 reviews
1.38 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
EddyU20
9 May 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from EddyU20 | Property representative |
i would like to know of there current reviews
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

The Hussar Grill GrandWest, Goodwood - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Hussar Grill GrandWest

The Hussar Grill GrandWest is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3.5