We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brass Bell

Is this your business?
RR - RRR, ,
41 Main Road | Kalk Bay Station, Kalk Bay 7975, South Africa
+27 21 788 5455
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good40%
  • Average13%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“calamari” (105 reviews)
“pizza” (56 reviews)
“seafood” (61 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Pub, Grill, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
41 Main Road | Kalk Bay Station, Kalk Bay 7975, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1 112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1 054 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

We took our mother out for lunch, sat in the cabin, food was delicious, we were truely impressed by the service of our waitress Jaclyn, she made our lunch very special... Thank you for the experience, we shall surely be coming again!!!

Thank alexisrvob24
Jo S, Public Relations Manager at Brass Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi there Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We will pass on your kind comments to Jaclyn. So glad you enjoyed your Brass Bell experience!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very varied menu and lots of locals. We had the calamari with tartare sauce and it was delicious! Chips were nice also. Oysters on half shell were a bit ‘fishy’ to me, but my husband loved them. Our first time trying the Hale and it...More

Thank Carolyn G
Jo S, Public Relations Manager at Brass Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're glad that you had an overall positive experience with us here at The Brass Bell

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First return visit in a while. For sea foodies and tourists this is the place to be. The service was excellent and the food good and fresh. The setting literally on the rocks makes for the ambiance

Thank MGA40
Jo S, Public Relations Manager at Brass Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to write your very positive review. Don't leave it so long before your next visit!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were definitely here in the off season. Interesting entrance, down through a tunnel to get to the door. And of course the tide pool was not in use. There weren't very many people on a cool, windy evening. It was windy enough that a...More

Thank GnMe
Jo S, Public Relations Manager at Brass Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there , thanks for your review. I will talk to our kitchen regarding your skimpy portion of chips as that is not how we like our fish and chips to be served! We do have heaters and a fireplace for winter so please do...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great service from Gerry and amazing food! We had oysters and pizza, red wine and chicken strips/ chips fir our daughter. The food was great!! The view and atmosphere was fantastic. We are going back soon!More

Thank Linette v
Jo S, Public Relations Manager at Brass Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there Thank you for your review. Glad that you enjoyed your time here with us at The Brass Bell. We have heaters and a fireplace for the winter - nothing better than fresh, hot seafood soup or a chicken pasta, followed by steaming hot...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A great lunch, good recommendations, lovely ambiance. Lingered for ages. Was there with a disabled person, the staff were so helpful and considerate.

Thank DaphneCapetown
Jo S, Public Relations Manager at Brass Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review. Glad that you enjoyed the whole experience - see you again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My favorite place in Kalk Bay. Popped in with friends for a light lunch. Had the grilled calamari - perfect!

Thank Paul B
Jo S, Public Relations Manager at Brass Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your wonderful review of The Brass Bell - we are so glad you had a perfect experience with us!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a big festive birthday group for lunch and were given such amazing service: our waitress, Jacqui M even supplied the balloons! Favorite place for lunch!

Thank JamesKPS
Jo S, Public Relations Manager at Brass Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review. So glad your birthday experience at The Brass Bell was a positive one. Thank you also for acknowledging the amazing staff!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent food and excellent service . Our waitress jacky made us feel very welcome .perfect lunch once again

Thank Willowgt
Jo S, Public Relations Manager at Brass Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there, thanks for your lovely review and for acknowledging our fabulous staff!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Superb food with beautiful people in a very special setting right on the ocean! I would like to thank the Brass Bell and specifically Jackie our waitress, who went the extra mile in every way possible to help make my wife's surprise birthday was perfect....More

Thank Mike S
Jo S, Public Relations Manager at Brass Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for submitting your wonderful review! So glad you had a positively memorable experience for your big birthday! We will pass on congratulations to our amazing staff - thanks for acknowledging !

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Kalk Bay Hotels
Calders Hotel & Conference Centre
52 reviews
2.39 km away
Check Inn
40 reviews
2.59 km away
Colona Castle
97 reviews
3.56 km away
Steenberg Hotel
529 reviews
6.54 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Lekker Kalk Bay
262 reviews
.04 km away
Octopus Garden
133 reviews
.21 km away
Kalky's
476 reviews
.35 km away
Olympia Cafe and Deli
798 reviews
.23 km away
Nearby Attractions
Dalebrook Tidal Pool
10 reviews
.30 km away
Kalk Bay Harbour
45 reviews
.37 km away
Paul B. Dixon Wildlife Studio
8 reviews
.09 km away
Wooley's Tidal Pool
7 reviews
.25 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Stewed88
23 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Lisa_Brass_Bell | Property representative |
Good day, our most sincere apologies for the bad service you have received. If possible, please comment with your e-mail address so that I can just confirm who was on duty and so that we can attend to this as soon as... More
0
Votes
Simone M
25 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Derek M | Reviewed this property |
if it's not holidays not to busy if holidays busy but not as busy as weekend sorry reviews a bit late
0
Votes
Jo E
5 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Gary G | Property representative |
Hi Jo E, We clean the pools every morning at +- 10h00. A lot of trash blows in from the harbour beach and surrounds. The City of Cape Town are responsible for the public pools, but we try and maintain them for the swimmers... More
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$20
Cuisine
Pub, Grill, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch
Restaurant features
Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, View, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
08:30 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 41 Main Road | Kalk Bay Station, Kalk Bay 7975, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Kalk Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 21 788 5455
  • E-mail
Description
Food, Fun, sea and sun are the essence of this spectacular venue which has views over the Kalk Bay harbour, Simonstown and all the way across False Bay. Enjoy a meal and drinks with friends in a relaxed and laid back atmosphere literally right on the ocean. During a high tide it is not a rare occasion for the waves to splash up against your table. The Brass Bell is an iconic institution and is continuously upgrading to ensure complete customer satisfaction. We aim to please! The Brass Bell is located in the heart of the historic fishing village of Kalk Bay, Cape Town. This seaside location not only offers one of the most amazing views in Cape Town but with 8 different dining areas, there is something to suit everyone. Surrounded by rolling waves, the restaurant complex of terraced dining areas, pubs and entertainment theatre offers visitors an unforgettable and truly unique di
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;