Harbour House Restaurant

Harbour House Restaurant

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+27 21 788 4133+ Add website
Hours
Sun
12:00 - 22:00
Mon
12:00 - 22:00
Tue
12:00 - 22:00
Wed
12:00 - 22:00
Thu
12:00 - 22:00
Fri
12:00 - 22:00
Sat
12:00 - 22:00
Improve this listing
Ratings and reviews
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles

RATINGS
Food
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
CUISINES
Seafood, International, Mediterranean, Soups
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
features
About
For locals and tourists alike, seeking a world- class dining experience in an spectacular Cape Town, seaside setting, Harbour House offers an experience like no other. Situated on the water's edge in the picturesque harbour of Kalk Bay, this iconic store was established in 1996 and continues to boast exquisite views of the working harbour, False Bay and the Hottentots Mountain Range.
CUISINES
Seafood, International, Mediterranean, Soups
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Waterfront
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles2,455 reviews
Excellent
1,385
Very good
581
Average
212
Poor
153
Terrible
124
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

yns_10
Sydney1437 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 none
We had dined at the V&A Harbour House the previous evening, so decided that this would the perfect restaurant on the way back from the Cape. We had an outstanding lunch. The friendly waiter recommended an excellent sparkling rose, which made the meal more festive. Our favourite of the dishes we shared were the scallop (yes, there was only one, but we still salivate over that dish!) and the tomato, avocado, prawn and caviar stack, however, every dish was delicious. The views of False Bay are magnificent. Highly recommend this special restaurant.
Written 2 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lifeandbrand
Dear yns, We will pass on your great feedback to our chef right away, thank you for sharing this with us and the Tripadvisor community. It would be a great pleasure to serve you again when you return to the Cape. Benjamin and the Harbour House Team
Written 4 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mafonzie
Rotterdam149 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 couples
Harbour House in Kalk Bay served me one of my best meals ever 3 years ago. Then I was still an omnivore and they cooked for the discerning omnivore. Now I entered their doors prepared to make compromises for my partner's sake. Not necessary at all. The owners of Harbour house know their food and have empathy with their customers so I sighed with pleasure over a Gnocchi starter, chomped ecstatic ally through the roast King Oyster mushroom main, sipping an alcohol-free white wine while my omni-partner relished Tuna Tartare and a magnificent piece of grilled King Klip. When I discovered the fabulous Vegan dessert I was just so happy to discover a restaurant with a creative, empathetic genius at the helm. Our waitress Priscilla and her colleagues made the whole experience just that little bit more magical!
Written 14 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lifeandbrand
What an amazing review Mafonzie, thank you for sharing this with us... Your praise will be shared with our entire team, we are delighted you took the time to share this with the Tripadvisor community too and hope to serve you and your partner again real soon. Benjamin and the Harbour House Team
Written 15 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Natanya R
7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2022 solo
Had the small fish platter which was LAAAARGE, langoustines, prawns and not those skinny floury prawns, these were big, chunky and full of flesh, in a butter sauce, apparently imported frm India and Namibia, I was told. Large grilled calamari, large fried in crumbs calamari, battered hake, a choice of another fish so I chose dark fish, yellowtail, and mussels in a buttery sauce plus sauces... Was absolutely sublime. Fresh fresh. Waitress, Prestige was outstanding. Atmosphere very relaxed, I sat at window table where the ocean was right next to me so felt like I was on a yacht! The bar area has an inside and outside area where I sat and had a drink as I arrived early, need to call and book.. The staff at the bar are super friendly too and all Covid precautions were well implemented and adhered to, which added to the pleasantness, allowing for one to just sit, relax and enjoy. Was pricy but I was there fr a special occasion so was definitely worth it. You won't be disappointed
Written 17 February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Life&Brand
Dear 409Natanyar, Thank you for the complimentary review of your recent visit to Harbour House Kalk Bay. We are so happy to hear that our commitment to quality food, service and ambience is truly appreciated by our customers. We do hope to serve you again, soon. Kind regards, The Harbour House Team
Written 18 February 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Helen D
Cape Town Central16 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 none
We booked at Harbour House to celebrate our family coming together over the festive season. It was a disaster and we certainly won’t be returning. We arrived on time to find our table not ready. We were moved a further three times before they finally settled us. We finally ordered our food and as it arrived a large group began to behave very poorly. The manager on duty failed miserably at handling this very loud and obnoxious group of guests whom had turned on their very loud boom box, making it impossible to hear each other speak. In fact, she insisted we were the only table complaining and left it at that.It was clear she had not canvassed any other table as we had been watching her movements to ascertain how this was going to be handled. She then hid in her office and the group then proceeded to move from the top level to the bar with their music and at that point we left. It was chaotic and just so disappointing. This is an expensive restaurant and we expect to be able to enjoy the fine food and wine at leisure and in an atmosphere conducive to chatting and connecting. We won’t be returning.
Written 4 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lifeandbrand
Dear Helen, We apologize for the disappointing way in which this was handled and will address your feedback with our management team right away. Thanks to your direct message we are already in contact with you to resolve the matter and come to an amicable solution soonest. Benjamin and the Harbour House Team
Written 5 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Grey_Ink
Stansted Mountfitchet46 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 family
In my past visits to Cape Town, I held the Waterfront V&A Harbour House restaurant in very high regard. Unfortunately the Kalk Bay sister restaurant did not have the same high standards on my visit. The views are great but once the sun sets, the food has to win and it didn’t. Quality was very average. It was like the head chef had taken the night off and the assistant chef thought they knew what to do with each dish but had not been fully trained. A lot of the waiters also seemed to be reluctant to work and had to be constantly pushed along and directed by a more senior waitress. Very disappointed
Written 8 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lifeandbrand
Dear Grey Ink, We are gravely concerned by your feedback and apologize for not meeting your expectations when you joined us last. Rest assured that your review does not go unnoticed and instead will be shared with senior management immediately. If you were able to provide a little more information on the exact meals you had and found to be disappointing as well as the date and time of your visit you would be a tremendous help. It goes without saying that we would like to redeem ourselves to you once we heard from you on https://harbourhousecrm.goreview.co.za Benjamin and the Harbour House Team
Written 9 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Marlowboy70
Marlow6 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 none
Visted Harbour House in Kalk Bay yesterday evening. Table for 6 Very poor service! Several issues. Had to ask for napkins, small bundle of paper napkins placed at end of table, “help yourself!” My mussels starter had about 10 small mussels. No dish for emptyy shells &no finger bowls..Dish was barely warm! After we had finished out starters, table not cleared! Staff appeared to have disappeared? After c20 minutes i got up from table, found a waiter and asked for table to be cleared, this was done somewhat reluctantly! We then waited at least 45 minutes for main courses. 6 dishes, not served at same time, All somewhat randomly. Food was barely tepid. Prepared plates must have been left waiting for service? Food quality was ok(ish) Departure time was becoming an issue for our group, i had to go to reception desk to request bill. I then complained to reception person about food temperature, quantity of starter, lack/absence/attitude of waiting staff! Very little response to my comments! Final comment.... very poorly trained staff, very poor customer service attitude, very poor management/supervision. Only average food quality and quantity. Having dined at HH Kalk Bay several times over recent years, and been very pleased & satisfied, I am very disappointed to say that HH appears to be in a state of “terminal decline!”Even the toilets were disgusting. My advise,,,,,, find somewhere else!
Written 29 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lifeandbrand
Dear Marlowboy, We thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us, your recent experience sounds more than disappointing and we certainly missed our own standards by a long way for which we humbly apologize. While we are addressing each and every one of your concerns with all relevant parties it would be a great shame if this was the lasting impression you take away from visiting our restaurant for so many years. May we kindly suggest that we make this up to you and invite you back when it is convenient for you? If you could simply follow this link https://harbourhousecrm.goreview.co.za, we will then be in touch with you to redeem ourselves and certainly provide you with the Harbour House experience you came for initially... Benjamin and the Harbour House Team
Written 30 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

198veerr
9 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2020 friends
Very expensive , yet (1) waiters more interested to chat in the kitchen - was easier to walk over each time to get their attention (2) no music (3) horrible desserts (3) and waiters lack training . Too expensive for what it is . The coffee shops on the main roads are much better .!
Written 11 November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Life_Brand_P
Dear 198Veerr, Thank you for taking the time to send Harbour House Kalk Bay your feedback. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Please take a moment to send us a copy of your review to https://hh2.goreview.co.za/goreview-crm?revid=pKSk7L so that we may investigate this further and provide you with feedback. We hope to hear from you soon. Warm regards, Harbour House
Written 16 November 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

SanC65
Stellenbosch858 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 family
I chose to take my daughters here as a treat as I have been a couple of times before and had great meals. This occasion unfortunately we left disappointed. The service was not great the waiters seemed very stretched. The ribeye was average. The mussel sauce was really good but did have three beards still attached. The prices are above average so this then does not leave room for error.
Written 4 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lifeandbrand
Dear San, We thank you for joining us with your daughters and apologize for not meeting your expectations this time. Thanks to your concrete feedback we know exactly what to look at and on what areas we need to improve, we assure you that you will find our offering much improved when you return. Benjamin and the Harbour House Team
Written 5 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jan Z
Alsheim58 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2020 none
used to be one of our favorite places when they still had the sofa in the middle and generous seating space. Now we found way more tables, more waiters who were very inattentive. In the beginning two waiters were busy serving bread, then nobody seemed to be responsible for us, I did have to refill our glasses myself. Food was still very good, service poor.
Written 13 December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Life&Brand
Dear 535Janz, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback about your visit to Harbour House Kalk Bay. We're pleased that you enjoyed your meal. We do, however, apologise for the level of service you received on your most recent visit. Please could you kindly take a moment to send us a copy of your review and contact details via this link https://hh2.goreview.co.za/goreview-crm?revid=owgdtL, so that we may get in touch with you directly to address your concerns. We hope to hear from you soon. Kind regards, Harbour House Management
Written 14 December 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

mike w
Norley32 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 friends
Having been before to the harbour house restaurant we were hoping for a similar great experience , we were not disappointed, we arrived early( very ) but were shown immediately to a nice area outside by the bar , we could have been seated immediately but we were given the choice to wait a while for the table we had requested by the window overlooking the crashing sea into the rocks , which took no time at all . When shown to our table our waiter was great very attentive knowledgeable and likeable. The food was superb , although predominantly a ‘fish’ restaurant 2 of our party had rib eye steak and pork which were delicious, The line caught king Klip was superb as was the rest of the food , brought quickly presented superbly and excellent wine to go with it , deserts to die for , all in all an excellent meal with fab views of the wild ( very ) sea . Another nice touch not only did our waiter come to say goodbye as we left but other staff also and the manager who was friendly and courteous . Having eaten in many restaurants all over the world and lots in SA I would highly recommend this one and hopefully return again
Written 27 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lifeandbrand
What a delightful review Mike, thank you for taking the time to share this with us and the international travel community on Tripadvisor. We will pass on your compliments to our entire team and look forward to your third visit at our restaurant already... Benjamin and the Harbour House Team
Written 28 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Leenette
Fish Hoek36 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020 none
Harbour House is excellent in every way, shape and form. Perfectly positioned on the rocks at Kalk Bay with waves crushing-in is a perfect setting for any meal. The unparalleled tastes of every dish and the fantastic service offered by the waiters who are very knowledgeable of every single item on the menu, makes it a restaurant that one can not get enough of.
Written 1 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Life_Brand_P
Dear Leenette2020, Thank you for your stellar review of Harbour House Kalk Bay. Great ambiance, food and service are what we strive for - glad you experienced just that. We very much look forward to having you back for another excellent experience. Kind regards, The Harbour House Team
Written 12 November 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

RobSue32
Goring-on Thames14 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 none
We finish our stays in South Africa with a visit to Harbour House, for the great views and the good food. However this year we were really disappointed. Starters of scallops were just one scallop each. My main course (rack of lamb) was cold. I sent it back. No response from staff. Replacement arrived, missing the broccoli , for which a very small bowl of salad was provided. No senior member of the staff apologised, in fact the whole event was ignored. Very poor.
Written 29 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lifeandbrand
Dear Rob, Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry that we did not manage to exceed your expectations and will address your concerns with our chef and management team right away. Kindly accept our apologies while we are getting to the bottom of this and please do allow us to make this up to you, simply follow this link https://harbourhousecrm.goreview.co.za and we will be in touch with you to arrange for your return. Benjamin and the Harbour House Team
Written 1 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

DCFoodLoverFromDE
Washington DC32 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 couples
The food was generally ok, with some mishaps on the sauces. The service was pretty poor though. Our starters were both very good: the gnocchi and the seared calamari. For mains though, my partner ordered swordfish w/ the squid ink risotto. The fish was wonderful and properly prepared, but the risotto was not good and the sauce with it was so sweet it was inedible-almost a desert. My main: mussels, were also good, but the sauce was too rich and overpowered the delicate seafood. As for the service, it was extremely slow. It was not the server’s fault as they were seated four tables at the same time and could not possibly handle that. Poor management by the front of the house. Waited 15 min to order desert but the server never came back so just asked for the check and left when we were finally able to flag them down.
Written 16 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lifeandbrand
Dear DCFoodLover, Thank you for providing us with such constructive feedback. We apologize for not quite meeting all your expectations and will address your concerns about the food with our chef right away. Over and above the issues regarding your order you did not seem to have had the best service experience either which is not acceptable and will be discussed further internally. If you were willing to allow us another chance it would be a great pleasure to see you return for a treat on the house, kindly follow this link https://harbourhousecrm.goreview.co.za and we will be in touch with you directly. Benjamin and the Harbour House Team
Written 17 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ronan T
Reading15 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 none
Visit this area every year, but have not been to the Harbour House for a couple of years after a poor meal. Felt we should give them another chance. Booked online from the UK for a Friday, as the get busy and did not want to take the chance. all very efficient and you get a reminder a couple of days before. waiting staff were very friendly and able to change option around so we had exactly the meals we wanted. Highly recommend the chocolate brownie desert, to die for!
Written 23 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lifeandbrand
Thank you for your amazing review and the excellent rating you left us Ronan, we appreciate your feedback and wish you a great time in our beautiful country further. Benjamin and the Harbour House Team
Written 23 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

247LiveLife
South Africa1059 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2022 none
The restaurant was very quiet, and what was off putting were the staff gathered in a corner all chatting to each other. We ordered a starter and main to share, and constantly had to ask for side plates, etc the waitress was not attentive to our needs. The mussels starter was great, but we asked for 2 extra pieces of toast, and waited ages for it to arrive. Prices were very high for what we got. The prawns main was served without rice or chips.
Written 11 October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Life&Brand
Dear 247Livelife, Thank you for taking the time to review us. Your feedback is very much appreciated. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your mussels and prawns. However, we are extremely disappointed to hear about the level of service you experienced and that you felt our pricing was high. Please could you kindly take a moment to forward us a copy of your review and contact details to https://hh2.goreview.co.za/goreview-crm?revid=XjU7Yk, so that we may get in touch with you directly. We hope to see you again soon. Warm regards, Harbour House
Written 12 October 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-15 of 2,019
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

Harbour House Restaurant, Kalk Bay - Main Rd - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Things to DoFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire