We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harbour House

Kalk Bay Harbour, Kalk Bay 7975, South Africa
+27 21 788 4136
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good25%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“langoustines” (38 reviews)
“seafood” (241 reviews)
“gnocchi” (20 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Soups, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RRRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Kalk Bay Harbour, Kalk Bay 7975, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1 885)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1 531 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

This was a go to place. They recently, the waitress told me two months ago simply doubled the price of the sea food platter. Yes doubled. We are from Cape Town and visit all year round. But not anymore. To visitors to our fair Cape...More

Thank Stephen B
Reviewed 1 week ago

Whenever we're in the cape, we make sure to go to Harbour House Kalk Bay as a treat. Sure, you're paying a premium overall but the meals we've eaten there have been consistently excellent. Fresh seafood cooked to absolute perfection - with menu options that...More

Thank Geoffrey L
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Geoffrey, we could not have hoped for better feedback, thank you very much for taking the time to share this with us and the Tripadvisor community. For our most loyal patrons like you we are in the process of establishing a Loyalty Program, offering...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

i have been going to the harbour house for years and while i think the food is always good, i object to paying the pumped up premium prices for a dressed up hake. come on, no need to rip off the locals...or the visitors for...More

Thank susikaplan
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Susi, thank you for taking the time to share your valued feedback with us. We are happy to hear that you have been such a loyal patron and we would like to keep it that way. As you also noticed the food quality at...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Someone I was trying to impress asked me where we could have a splendid lunch....Harbour House in Kalk Bay l incited!....The splendid views and wine where breathtakingly expensive, the Langostines we were conned into buying were rubbery and dry....Was mortified at the 2k bill......Smiling Thieves!!More

Thank LordFrylinck
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear LordFrylinck, we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us and are delighted to hear that Harbour House entered your mind as a destination to impress. The fact that we failed to deliver on that premise is just as big of...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed a great lunch here with dear friends. The food was superb and everything we anticipated. The outlook is excellent - as they say “location is everything”.

Thank Michael M
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Michael, thank you for your great rating and the wonderful words of appreciation. We look forward to having you back again soon. Benjamin and the Harbour House Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the second time we have eaten at Harbour house, the food on this occasion was excellent, the view from the restaurant is great but the only thing is the service can be quite slow, the service is however good and the guys are...More

Thank Andrewschoeman
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Andrew, thank you for your feedback and the great rating. We look forward to your third visit and in the meantime we will look right into how we can improve the speediness of our service even more, thank you for bringing that up. Benjamin...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Quite the poorest visit this trip Waiter forgot my starter I was presented with my main with the comment Everything good? No condiments on the table I had to ask another table for theirs Salmon uninteresting Colconnan cold still waiting for the Mediterranean veg I...More

Thank 123456beanl
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 123456beanl, thank you for sharing your concerning thoughts with us. We urgently need to get to the bottom of this and would appreciate your help. Could you provide us with the time and day of your visit and ideally the name of your waiter?...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We used TripAdvisor to decide on the lunch spot during our visit to Kalk Bay and oh boy we weren't disappointed. Got there 45min before official opening and they let us sit by the window on a couch with a glass of wine. Service superb...More

Thank Neil F
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Neil, we are very grateful for your amazing review and the excellent rating. It sounds like you really had a wonderful time at our restaurant and we hope to have you back again in the near future. Benjamin and the Harbour House Team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing food. Great service. Acoustic element added to the lunch. I had the set menu. Egg Benedict was yummy, great sirlion and delicious creme brulee 👌👌👌 Let's not forget about the Amazing view Will definitely be back Xx

Thank Danita A
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Danita, we loved reading your amazing words of appreciation, thank you for sharing them with the Tripadvisor community. We look forward to having you back on one of the upcoming Sundays. Benjamin and the Harbour House Team

Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

This was probably our 5th visit to this restaurant over five years as overseas visitors. Great views, great seafood and great service.

Thank Batman4175
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Dear Batman4175, it is wonderful to hear such outstanding feedback. We look forward to serving you again soon. Benjamin and the Harbour House Team

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Kalk Bay Hotels
Calders Hotel & Conference Centre
52 reviews
2.08 km away
Check Inn
40 reviews
2.95 km away
Colona Castle
100 reviews
3.96 km away
Steenberg Hotel
536 reviews
6.90 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Lekker Kalk Bay
265 reviews
.39 km away
Kalky's
488 reviews
.07 km away
Olympia Cafe and Deli
806 reviews
.25 km away
Nearby Attractions
Dalebrook Tidal Pool
11 reviews
.69 km away
Kalk Bay Harbour
48 reviews
.04 km away
Paul B. Dixon Wildlife Studio
8 reviews
.50 km away
St James Beach
57 reviews
.62 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Brenda W
13 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Demeter | Reviewed this property |
Wherever you sit the view is great. I prefer one of the table right next to the window, there is a cute little table on a balcony which is very private...but may be rather windy on some days!
1
Vote
Melissa B
6 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from 44scillybilly |
Yes, all menu prices are in Rands, it is still very good value Tim c
1
Vote
nairol
1 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Rob H | Reviewed this property |
Please ask the restaurant directly
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Kalk Bay Harbour, Kalk Bay 7975, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Kalk Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 21 788 4136
  • E-mail
Description
Harbour House Restaurant is located in the heart of an old working fishing harbour.Come and experience fine dining as the waves splash up against the windows while you enjoy the freshest seafood and line fish caught from our own boat.Window tables are a must so reservations are essential!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing