We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harbour House

Kalk Bay Harbour, Kalk Bay 7975, South Africa
+27 21 788 4136
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good25%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“langoustines” (39 reviews)
“seafood” (239 reviews)
“gnocchi” (19 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Mediterranean, Soups, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RRRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Kalk Bay Harbour, Kalk Bay 7975, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1 900)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1 543 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

superb situation seafront,stylish interior,friendly staff and delicious fresh seafood.fantastic experience.

Thank Ursi1960
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you Ursi, what more could we possibly ask for... This is just wonderful to hear.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great location. Very dramatic during windy weather. Great sushi and fresh seafood. Nicely cooked vegtables. Nice roof bar. A bit sterile. Could do with adding some cosyness... But fir sure recommended

Thank SpikeyTheVikey
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your recommendation Spikey, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

One of the best meals I have had in a very long time! Well and artistically presented. Keep up the good work. Thank you.

Thank SiegfriedP
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Siegfried, thank you for sharing your lovely feedback. It is so great to hear that you enjoyed our delicious seafood, we hope to have you back again soon. Benjamin and the Harbour House Team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was treated to lunch at Harbour House by friends, an 18 year reunion! To their credit, the food was delicious and beautifully presented but I feel the prices are exorbitant even if it is nouvelle cuisine/fine dining..... R195 for hake? Really? We waited ages...More

Thank crystalsH8039AN
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear crystalsH8039AN, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and the Tripadvisor community. We hope you had a wonderful reunion with your friends, we are glad that they chose us to host such a meaningful event. It is lovely to...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic views of the ocean and whales. Delicious food and very good service. Cosy restaurant, well located tables not too close. Gentle music - guitar player - that evening. Not too busy on a Wednesday evening but pleasant. Good parking.

Thank 99johannam
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Johann, thank you for your lovely feedback. We look forward to your return to Harbour House, whether business or pleasure... Benjamin and the Harbour House Team

Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

Stopped here on a tour day. The views in this restaurant are stunning! We had the most lovely waiters as well which added to the experience. If you sit at the front the waves when crashing on the rocks, comes up the windows. Wonderful. The...More

Thank Andrea K
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear Andrea, thank you for your great review and your compliments on our delicious seafood. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Your concerns regarding prices have been noted and will be addressed with our Management Team. Benjamin and the Harbour...More

Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

I visited the harbour house on 09 August as part of a day trip with my family. The view from the restaurant is breathtaking, the food is nice but extremely overpriced to the extent where I think there should be a law against charging people...More

1  Thank tatumtrantraal
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Tatum, thank you for taking the time to describe your understandably very disappointing experience. We wish to sincerely apologize for this, there is no excuse for poor service as you described in your review, whether it is for a single table or the entire...More

Reviewed 10 August 2018

Fantastic location , good service , great wine list but very average sea food. The restaurant is situated at the small fishing harbour in Kalk Bay and claim that they get there line fish fresh from the boats which is strange as there line fish...More

1  Thank LUIGIL1693
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Luigi, thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the magnificient location of our restaurant and that you were well attended to our by our service staff. Your feedback will be passed on to our Chef, we thank you...More

Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Restaurant with a fantastic view. The menu card was good and so was the food. But the time we had to wait for waitress and food was too long!

Thank henrik a
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear Henrik, thank you for your great rating and bringing your long wait to our attention. We would like to apologize for this and will look right into the matter to avoid this from happening again. Benjamin and the Harbour House Team

Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Harbour House Kalk Bay is a destination restaurant. Situated next to the waves overlooking False Bay and to our delight the wales gave us a grand show. Not to be overshadowed, Harbour House added the culinary delight. We opted for the parmesan crusted kingklip with...More

Thank KobieMarie
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Dear KobieMarie, thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are delighted to read that you had such a fabulous time with us and hope to welcome the two of you back in the near future. Benjamin and the Harbour House Team

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Calders Hotel & Conference Centre
53 reviews
2.08 km away
Check Inn
40 reviews
2.95 km away
Colona Castle
100 reviews
3.96 km away
Steenberg Hotel
538 reviews
6.90 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Lekker Kalk Bay
270 reviews
.39 km away
Kalky's
497 reviews
.07 km away
Olympia Cafe and Deli
825 reviews
.25 km away
Nearby Attractions
Dalebrook Tidal Pool
11 reviews
.69 km away
Kalk Bay Harbour
54 reviews
.04 km away
Paul B. Dixon Wildlife Studio
8 reviews
.50 km away
Wooley's Tidal Pool
7 reviews
.24 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Brenda W
13 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Demeter | Reviewed this property |
Wherever you sit the view is great. I prefer one of the table right next to the window, there is a cute little table on a balcony which is very private...but may be rather windy on some days!
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, View, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Kalk Bay Harbour, Kalk Bay 7975, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Kalk Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 21 788 4136
  • E-mail
Description
Harbour House Restaurant is located in the heart of an old working fishing harbour.Come and experience fine dining as the waves splash up against the windows while you enjoy the freshest seafood and line fish caught from our own boat.Window tables are a must so reservations are essential!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing